We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem with a munchkin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steepleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Thaxted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

SUPERB customer conscious hosts. Wonderful b&b, a homely atmosphere with a gorgeous terrier. Paul was incredible. He welcomed me in and woke up early on a Sunday to prepare a superb vegetarian brekkie. Spacious bathroom. Plenty of quality beverages. Value for money altogether.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank her_maj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Steepleview Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at this B&B while visiting friends in April and the Hosts was very helpful, especially. as I turned up early. The room was very pretty and clean, with the large shower an indulgence. Paul's breakfast was superb with plenty to keep me going all day. A delightful town and the location of the B&B is good to explore the town. Parking is free and a good local restaurants meant I did not have to travel out of town for dinner.

Room Tip: I stayed in the double room with the private shower room which although at the front of the house wa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rkemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here one night in April. Was welcomed by two friendly and service-minded hosts who offered tea and a lot of information about the town and area. Beautiful room and a gorgeous bathroom. They served full English breakfast, but also cereals, yoghurt and berries, and a lot of coffee. Located in the middle of Thaxted, just a couple of minutes to the pub. Possible to park in garage.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heggvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Comfortable bed, excellent service, lovely English breakfast and beautiful town. Luxury on suite room very modern and 5min walk to Swans Hotel Bar and only 1.5hr from London and 1hr to Cambridge. Strong Wi-Fi signal.

Room Tip: if you planning to visit Thaxted look no further.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a great experience staying with some great people. This B&B is by far the best I've stayed in for quite some time. The place was very well furnished and was extremely clean.

Very inviting people, I'll stay there again should the need arise.

Paul Sparey
Python IT
South Wales.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in this really good little B&B recently. We needed an early check-in to be able to change for an event, and Paul and Maxine could not have been more helpful in making it happen. Room is superb - very comfortable bed, facilities, including Wf-Fi dressing gowns etc. Although not en-suite the bathroom has recently been refurbished to an exceptional standard. There are very nice sitting areas and a lovely little garden at the back with outside seating. They also offer off-street undercover parking.

Although on the road to Saffron Walden the triple glazing means that the room is very peaceful and quiet. I understand from Paul that they have plans to turn 2 bedrooms into a large double with en-suite which will be very good.

The rather good Swan pub is about 3 minutes walk away for an evening meal with a good wine bar, Indian and other offerings.

Breakfast is masterful with organic bacon and sausages locally sourced and is of top quality.

Overall, Paul and Maxine have this just right - this would be in my top 10 B&Bs - most highly recommended - but book early they do get filled up and I'm not surprised.

Room Tip: All fine, but when the en-suite arrives it will be the best room at Steepleview.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Paul & Max (not forgetting snoops!) are a fantastic couple, offering a warm, clean b&b,. Nothing too much trouble. very impressed with my recent visit, will be back soon as I am in the area to attend a party. As a B&B they have no restaurant, and although the local pub the swan is close by, there are other eateries in town including the maypole, and the highly recommended India Villa Curry House. although close to Stansted, noise was minimal. Thanks again. Will be sure to visit soon.

Room Tip: Room was of a high quality.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
406 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
266 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Thaxted
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Warner's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Warner's Farm Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 12 in Saffron Walden
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steepleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steepleview Bed & Breakfast

Address: 61 Newbiggen Street, Thaxted CM6 2QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thaxted
Price Range: £55 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steepleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star family run bed and breakfast, situated in the beautiful medieval town of Thaxted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Steepleview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steepleview Bed & Breakfast Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing