We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steepleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Thaxted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Max & Paul who own & run this guest house deserve a medal, what a great little find, we travelled up from Cardiff to attend a friends wedding & didn't arrive until gone 10pm, we were welcomed with soft drinks & coffee & showed to our rooms.

The rooms were beautiful & of a much higher standard than I expected, perfect in fact. Spotlesy clean, free view TV's, free wifi, coffee/ tea to hand & a lovely large on suit.

6 of us stayed for two nights & all thought the same.

Huge breakfast, with juice, cereal & toast & again Max & Paul were both so welcoming.

Highly recommended B&B.

I never written a review before & must have been impressed to have done so on this occasion.

Well Done & I hope you do well.

Room Tip: Room at the back over looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMAC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I arrived with a horrid cough and must have kept my hosts awake half the night but they were all concerned for my welfare with no cpmplaints! Lovely comfy bed, enormous shower, plenty of sitting space downstairs and I couldn't eat half the breakfast. They loaned me a golf umbrella so I could walk to the shop in the rain and didn't even comment when I walked mud in with me, though it was cleaned up within two minutes. I'd stay again if they'd have me:)

Room Tip: Some street noise at night with the front room but it didn't bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

SUPERB customer conscious hosts. Wonderful b&b, a homely atmosphere with a gorgeous terrier. Paul was incredible. He welcomed me in and woke up early on a Sunday to prepare a superb vegetarian brekkie. Spacious bathroom. Plenty of quality beverages. Value for money altogether.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank her_maj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at this B&B while visiting friends in April and the Hosts was very helpful, especially. as I turned up early. The room was very pretty and clean, with the large shower an indulgence. Paul's breakfast was superb with plenty to keep me going all day. A delightful town and the location of the B&B is good to explore the town. Parking is free and a good local restaurants meant I did not have to travel out of town for dinner.

Room Tip: I stayed in the double room with the private shower room which although at the front of the house wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here one night in April. Was welcomed by two friendly and service-minded hosts who offered tea and a lot of information about the town and area. Beautiful room and a gorgeous bathroom. They served full English breakfast, but also cereals, yoghurt and berries, and a lot of coffee. Located in the middle of Thaxted, just a couple of minutes to the pub. Possible to park in garage.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heggvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Comfortable bed, excellent service, lovely English breakfast and beautiful town. Luxury on suite room very modern and 5min walk to Swans Hotel Bar and only 1.5hr from London and 1hr to Cambridge. Strong Wi-Fi signal.

Room Tip: if you planning to visit Thaxted look no further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a great experience staying with some great people. This B&B is by far the best I've stayed in for quite some time. The place was very well furnished and was extremely clean.

Very inviting people, I'll stay there again should the need arise.

Paul Sparey
Python IT
South Wales.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
391 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
280 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
253 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steepleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steepleview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Steepleview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 61 Newbiggen Street, Thaxted CM6 2QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thaxted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Steepleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star family run bed and breakfast, situated in the beautiful medieval town of Thaxted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steepleview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steepleview Bed & Breakfast Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing