We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed 1 night and booked 2 rooms. The staff were so very lovely at the hotel it made our arrival very welcoming. We had a double room and twin room. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were as well. We would recommend this lovely pub to anyone. We wished we had been able to stay longer. The restaurant has a good menu for dinner and the breakfast had an excellent selection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for putting your feedback online. We at The Swan are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Loved Thaxted, a beautiful village with some very interesting buildingings, church and windmill. Just stopped over for the night and found the hotel to be very friendly and welcoming. I booked with Late Rooms which was only £35 for 2 for bed and breakfast which was very good value. Stayed in room 7 with a lovely view of the village church but the bed was very creaky and lumpy and definately needs updating saying that the rest of the stay was very enjoyable. The hotel had a lot of character and we found the room to be clean and comfortable, better than expected! We didn't eat dinner here as we left early evening to go and see Katherine Jenkins at Audley End which was amazing and only a few miles from the hotel. The breakfast was very good as are all the Old English Inns, with fresh fruit and yogurts, croissants and a wide choice of cooked breakfasts. Saffron Waldren is only a few miles away and worth a visit before you leave the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamC149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback, which we always appreciate from our guests, so thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are delighted that our team were both friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our second visit to this fabulous. friendly hotel in very pretty Thaxted. The very best thing about the hotel is the attitude of the staff - they are constantly cheerful and keen to help in any way they can. The young lady who heads up the team is an absolute star. Another great thing is the lovely atmosphere in the bar which is frequented by lots of locals as well as residents. The food is delicious, freshly cooked and plentiful and the breakfast is exceptional - lots of choices of cooked breakfasts as well as a great buffet. We have stayed in two of the rooms which were both really spacious and characterful with lovely bathrooms - all the rooms that I saw in passing also looked great. Furthermore, Thaxted is such a lovely location for a short break - there are lovely walks round the village and you can pick up a leaflet about the village either in the beautiful church or the information office. Can't think of any negatives about the Swan Hotel, a lovely place for a stay in a country pub in a gorgeous location. Thanks! Jimmy and Gill, from South West Scotland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely views of the village although rooms at the back may be a little bit q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigoandPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Everything is great...."Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found the team friendly and the food delicious, we look forward to welcoming you again soon back at The Swan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for our first night in England and were very pleased with our choice - relatively easy access from Heathrow via the M25, a very comfortable bed and a good shower would have done the trick, but we got a lot mor,e including very good meals, both dinner and breakfast. There was a great range of meals on offer for dinner, and we both enjoyed ours. The breakfast choice was wide and included fresh juices, although coffee needed to be requested rather than being "on tap" in the dining room. Be aware that when you check in you will be carrying your bag/s through the public bar area, up stairs and along a corridor with a number of smoke stop doors. We fortunately had cabin bags packed with a change of clothes in case the airline lost our suitcases, which made things relatively easy. As others have mentioned, the interior decor is in need of refreshing... we would suggest also improving the ventilation along the main corridor - four smokestop doors in quick succession meant that the corridor was stuffy, but when someone's toilet odours drifted along the hall they were trapped for the rest of us to walk through, both before and after breakfast - ick. With respect to the noise issue, we had no real concerns. We were in a room above the bend in the road and even with the windows open on a Friday night there was no disturbance; perhaps the wind was in our favour too, but there was no significant noise from aircraft. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your review about your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed the evening meals and the Breakfast. Your comments regarding the ventilation along the corridors have been taken on board. Thanks once again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a traditional travelling coach house style of place upgraded for modern visitors. Accomodation is basic but clean, warm everything worked. People were welcoming and friendly, bar food was classic and makes no pretensions to be more than pleasant appetising and overall the Inn represents in my opinion excellent value. If you are expecting the 5 star exfussy experience. go elsewhere but I cannot fault this Inn or its staff. It is a great stopping off place whilst touring rural Essex and i shall definitely use it again when in the area

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alancaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Swan, I am pleased you found the team to be friendly and the food good, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We don’t know about any rude manager…the one that greeted us was very polite and efficient. Our room was (Superior room) had a lovely big clean comfortable bed with a little changing room .Sadly ,the décor and carpet could do with renewing …the carpet was a bit sticky and the walls had some holes in the plaster.The bathroom ,although clean, needs a bit of TLC..paint lifting on the window cill and sad paintwork and tiles.
Hospitality wise ,the Swan can’t be faulted. Friendly staff coped well on the Friday night with a full house.
Breakfast was very good with a varied menu .Fresh fruit ,juices and cereal with pastries to choose from ,too.
Staff in the bar were very efficient during very busy evening sessions.
Will be back…

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugsy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback, which we always appreciate from our guests, so thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are delighted that our team were both friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

if you are sensitive to noise ask not to be put at the front of the building.The lovely views spoilt by the traffic noise and the church clock chiming every hour.I bought earplugs for the next night,they did the trick.My husband slept through it all though.Was a bit disappointed with all the limescale around the toilet bowl and in the sink,please give your domestics some descaler,having said that,overall it was clean,and value for what we paid.Staff were all very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear if you don't like noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Friendly staff, Warm welcome. " Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Swan Hotel, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
269 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
330 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
409 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing