We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
1 review
“A bad experience”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our bedroom was past tired with the bed headboard hanging off the wall as was the TV. The bed linen was clean but badly stained the basin and bath were clean but the toilet was disgusting. The breakfast was poor with no butter available. The staff were friendly but the manager charged us £75 for our night's stay although the tariff on the wall stated from £55. His explanation was that as it was a flexible price he could charge what he liked although I note with interest that their web site shows the flexible price as £70
I have known The Swan for seven years and have watched the slow dilapidation of this historic building with great sadness. Green King state on their web site their commitment to keeping our ancient inns alive. I suggest that The Swan would be a good place to begin

Room Tip: Avoid number 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments room maintenance has started on that specific room for these reasons, the from £55 is a guide line of our rooms and these are generally the Sunday rates as the rooms fluctuate is price depended on the time of year. We apologise for any confusion this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    139
    59
    46
    44
See reviews for
57
193
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having had their value meals a few times we decided to visit for Sunday lunch. The pub has a good ambience with exposed beams and multiple levels and spaces. There were a small trio of folk musicians, 2 accordions and a fiddle which was a nice touch even if a little loud at times! The lunch was a disappointment. The 2 slices of beef were just ok but suspiciously cool, I suspect cut off a joint some time before and warmed with the gravy. Toughish and not great quality meat either. Frozen roast potatoes were not at all nice and portion of mash had a strange consistency (?Frozen/reconstituted). The best offering was a side of broccoli in cheese sauce which was hot and tasty and clearly freshly cooked to order. It's a shame the food isn't up to the surroundings, it's not awful but it could and should be so much better, just not enough care or passion. Try harder Greene King!

Room Tip: Only visited for meal and drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinyl0bster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments which I will be passing on to the Kitchen team as we look to deliver quality consistent food at all times. I apologise for the inconvenience and we would love to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a sat and sun night, yes the room was a little tierd but it is a lovely old hotel. This was more than made up for by the service of the staff in particular jimmy johnson who looked after us on both evenings very well. The manager was also very welcoming. We ate there on both evenings and although the first evenings meal was ok the next evening the meal was excellent. would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesp1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for comments, I will be glad to pass them on to the team. We will look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went for a birthday lunch.
First of all they couldn't find our booking. (This is the second time this has happened to us)
Then when ordering our meals we mentioned it seemed busy and was there a wait?
We were told a little one.
After 35 minutes we asked how long and were told another 20.. We were also told that we had already been told it was a half hour wait.. Which we hadn't been .. But it was already over that.
When it got to an hour we asked again and the young girl told us that we had been told it was a wait and we could have a refund if we cancelled!!!! No apology.. It almost felt like being told if you don't like it go somewhere else.
We finally got our good after 90 minutes of waiting.
I can't give an honest opinion of what it was like as we were so hungry we would have probably eaten cardboard.
We won't be eating there again and I really think that the staff, including who I assume was the manager, should take a customer service course because besides one older waitress who at least chased for us, leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LizzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, we will be sure to look into these issues as this is a rare occasion of this kind of event happening. Apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and we hope you could visit us again sometime in the near future to show we aim to deliver a high standard of service to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thaxted hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Would not recommend eating here, had to wait over an hour and a half for food and not even an apology from any of the staff , just kept getting told it was coming, and after all that the food wasn't great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 13bono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We will be sure to look into resolving these issues as this is not usually our high standards we look to set. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Swan is set in an attractive old English village, opposite Thaxted church and although it's difficult to modernise these medieval buildings, the room we had was very clean and the bathroom spacious with newish suite, fluffy towels etc. We had a room at the front which was a bit noisy first thing in the morning as it is very near the road and of course Stansted airport is not far away so the flights do start quite early. The pub and bar areas are typically beamed, cosy and welcoming. Prices are excellent for food and drinks being part of the Old English Inns chain owned by Greene King. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back may be quieter as right on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeebeeNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, which I will be sure to pass on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights weekend getaway. The rooms are definitely tired and shabby in places - yes there is mould above the windows but I find myself asking perhaps there should be considering the age of the hotel??? It did add to the character but was it healthy? However the room was clean and comfortable, toilet was a bit of a nightmare!. On the whole the staff were helpful, breakfast was a bit of a disappointment on both mornings. The tables were poorly prepared or in a mess from the previous occupants. One staff member decided to sweep the wooden floor with a yard broom whilst we were eating. I understand that there was a staff shortage and did empathise until I was served with a cup of tea which could only have been described as still in the pot from the previous evening. Evening meals were on the whole very good.

Room Tip: Take a hair dryer if you need one. Be prepared to contend with a mouldy room and poor toilet system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chippalarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are now looking into the conditions of the rooms and will be sure to address these soon as possible. Staffing levels have now been reviewed for the peak times and have been resolved. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
242 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
168 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
130 reviews
10.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
351 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: The Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing