We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base... good bar food”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Swan is placed at the top of Thaxted High Street, beside a spectacular parish church which came out of the wealth of the middle ages in these parts. The meiaeval Guidhall is correctly limewashed and the Friday street market sells good food. Excellent bar food and helpful staff mae the bar a good place to spend lunchtime or an evening. Bedrooms can be very competitively priced but mine was smallish and ordinary but perfectly sleepable in...... it;s all well-placed for exploring a cluster of fine English villages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capability186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Swan Hotel, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I took my 90 year old mother to the Swan for lunch on 25 April 2014. We ordered the roast (the choice was beef or beef) from the new menu. When the meal arrived I was horrified to see that all the 'roasted' potatoes were black and charred making them impossible to cut and the beef was tough and barely warm, as was the batter pudding. On complaining we were offered just a small bowl of boiled potatoes instead. It was obvious that we were served up with yesterday's leftovers. How embarrassed was I taking my mother on a trip out from the nursing home?
My own rating out of 10 is zero as Trip Advisor does not go below 1!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, we have now undergone training in our kitchen and will be sure to deliver excellent quality and have all meats available throughout our Sunday services. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused, we hope to see you in the future where we can show our outstanding service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Interesting that the writer of a previous review also stayed in room 17: our experience was completely different. The room was clean but the decor is very tired. There was an ironing board, iron and hairdryer, tea and coffee sachets, but no toiletries. We slept very badly as sounds seemed to carry throughout the entire building, not to mention the steady stream of planes coming directly overhead en route for Stansted. Our bathroom fan was noisy, but we also heard that of the room downstairs, which went on for at least a couple of hours. We made the mistake of eating dinner, which was greasy and lacked decent portions of vegetables; the lamb shank was tough, the breaded shrimp tasteless. Breakfast was also disappointing, with a poor choice of cereals, a few apples and pears, we had to ask for the croissants, and waited a long time for anyone to come into the dining room and ask about tea or coffee. When coffee finally appeared, it was poured out from a communal pot, and again there was a long wait for that second cup. Thaxted itself is lovely, but The Swan is not.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nousvoici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Swan and were more than pleased. Our room (No 17 in the Coach House) was quiet despite being right on top of the car park but there was no noise at all. The room was spotlessly clean with a lovely bathroom with shower. Water was piping hot and plentiful. There was lovely tea and coffee tray with biscuits refilled daily plus you could ask for more at reception, and a hair dryer and toiletries. An ironing board and iron were also supplied. The food was great. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order with a choice of eggs. Cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts and fresh juices were also available daily. Service was great: no waiting apart from how long it takes to cook the food!
We also had dinner here the 3 nights we stayed and it was also great. We booked a table for each night as soon as we had finished breakfast as they could get busy. Dinner again was perfect. Good portions and all nice and hot. Desserts were also lovely with a good selection. Again no long waits,, even when they were busy.
The staff were extremely pleasant and always made time for a friendly chat. In particular Jo and Chloe were constantly running around as they were short staffed but they still remained friendly and professional.
James has recently taken over as Manager and he wasn't just sat behind reception. He also served the meals and at the bar. He told us they had just refurbished the function room downstairs which had been soundproofed so any functions held here would not disturb other guests.
All in all a great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone staying in this lovely little town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of main hotel probably quieter as on a busy road. Room 17 has very squeaky floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Swan. I will be sure to pass these comments over to the rest of the team. We shall look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our bedroom was past tired with the bed headboard hanging off the wall as was the TV. The bed linen was clean but badly stained the basin and bath were clean but the toilet was disgusting. The breakfast was poor with no butter available. The staff were friendly but the manager charged us £75 for our night's stay although the tariff on the wall stated from £55. His explanation was that as it was a flexible price he could charge what he liked although I note with interest that their web site shows the flexible price as £70
I have known The Swan for seven years and have watched the slow dilapidation of this historic building with great sadness. Green King state on their web site their commitment to keeping our ancient inns alive. I suggest that The Swan would be a good place to begin

Room Tip: Avoid number 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your comments room maintenance has started on that specific room for these reasons, the from £55 is a guide line of our rooms and these are generally the Sunday rates as the rooms fluctuate is price depended on the time of year. We apologise for any confusion this may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having had their value meals a few times we decided to visit for Sunday lunch. The pub has a good ambience with exposed beams and multiple levels and spaces. There were a small trio of folk musicians, 2 accordions and a fiddle which was a nice touch even if a little loud at times! The lunch was a disappointment. The 2 slices of beef were just ok but suspiciously cool, I suspect cut off a joint some time before and warmed with the gravy. Toughish and not great quality meat either. Frozen roast potatoes were not at all nice and portion of mash had a strange consistency (?Frozen/reconstituted). The best offering was a side of broccoli in cheese sauce which was hot and tasty and clearly freshly cooked to order. It's a shame the food isn't up to the surroundings, it's not awful but it could and should be so much better, just not enough care or passion. Try harder Greene King!

Room Tip: Only visited for meal and drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinyl0bster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your comments which I will be passing on to the Kitchen team as we look to deliver quality consistent food at all times. I apologise for the inconvenience and we would love to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a sat and sun night, yes the room was a little tierd but it is a lovely old hotel. This was more than made up for by the service of the staff in particular jimmy johnson who looked after us on both evenings very well. The manager was also very welcoming. We ate there on both evenings and although the first evenings meal was ok the next evening the meal was excellent. would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesp1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for comments, I will be glad to pass them on to the team. We will look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
5.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
362 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
272 reviews
10.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,148 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
186 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing