We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old inn”
Review of The Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way down to Brighton and were pleased with both the hotel and its location a lovely town. Our room was very nice with a large bathroom and the steaks we had for dinner done to t. Staff were very helpful and polite. We felt it was good value for money especially when we had the hotel from hell in Lewes see previous review for Crown Inn.
O

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass them on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for The Swan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff were friendly despite obviously being overworked. Bar area and reception was friendly and a great ambiance to the place. Rooms were also pleasant.

But evening dinner is where it went horribly wrong on both the nights we stayed there. Bearing in mind the 11-12 rooms were booked almost 12mths in advance the hotel had plenty of notice of a large group. First night, despite having a reasonable menu, several items were not available including new potatoes. Who runs out of potatoes??!! We then had to wait a while to be served and also had to order our own bottles of wine from the bar (remember this is the restaurant part of the hotel). Staff tried hard but were not able to deliver. Second night was worse. Despite having a limited number of previously unavailable items back on, 1hr after ordering we were told some items were not ran out! Finally we got served 2 1/2 hrs later. Food on both occasions was good but the waiting times were completely unacceptable.

The manager of this hotel was away on both days and had not given his stand in any notice of the big group coming to stay. Staff tried and were friendly but were sadly let down by the very poor management of this place.

We would like to have booked this place again in the future but based on this experience, it will likely not happen.

Room Tip: Choose a room not against the main road or the church bells will give you a early morning wake up ca...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulR142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, we will be sure to resolve the issues at hand and apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and hop to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We called here for lunch recently, it was average nothing special, the vegetables were hard, especially the beans, my 'carrot' was almost raw, at least I did get one, my wife was not even that lucky to get one. All things considered, it seems overpriced for what we had, it was a Saturday, it may be different in the week.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank mikey123E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you have brought this to our attention. We will now be reviewing the standards of the food that leaves the kitchen, sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed just the one night en-route to Devon. Comfortable room with all the usual requirements. Friendly staff. Evening meal reasonable price of great quality. Good selection of hot and cold food at breakfast.

Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capricorn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look to deliver this standard of service day in day out. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I used to stop at this hotel very often when i used to go to stansted to work as i did not like the Hilton at time i found it very grubby . the staff food and location was very pleasant rooms very good the village is lovely the hotel is lovely only problem was if you get room at front church clock chimes through night it may have changed now . breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: get a room at rear of hotel away from church
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Swan Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Swan is really well placed for a visit to Thaxted and the surrounding area. We were there for the weekend, including a concert at the wonderful mediaeval church opposite on the Saturday evening, and it was very convenient to be able to go back during the interval. It is very good value indeed, and we were therefore pleasantly surprised by how nice our room was (in the coach house annex). We and our neighbours in the next room found it cold on arrival so my main tip would be if necessary to turn the radiator and towel rail on - unlike many places these are directly controllable and both our rooms heated up very quickly indeed. As Thaxted suffers from airport noise we had packed earplugs but didn't feel the need to use them, but highly sensitive people might.
We ate in the hotel both evenings - on weekdays the evening meal is especially good value and the menu had a good range. Service was very efficient (something we had been a bit concerned about on the Saturday (concert) night with the hotel fully booked but over 60 people were served very efficiently). We really enjoyed the breakfasts with hot dishes, including fish and eggs benedict cooked to order.
Apart from the location, the best thing about The Swan is the staff. Manager James leads a friendly and efficient team who go out of their way to be welcoming and helpful and really seem to enjoy their job of welcoming guests. We hope to return.

Room Tip: We can only comment on the coach house, but thought this very good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, it pleases me that you had a lovely stay. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Swan is placed at the top of Thaxted High Street, beside a spectacular parish church which came out of the wealth of the middle ages in these parts. The meiaeval Guidhall is correctly limewashed and the Friday street market sells good food. Excellent bar food and helpful staff mae the bar a good place to spend lunchtime or an evening. Bedrooms can be very competitively priced but mine was smallish and ordinary but perfectly sleepable in...... it;s all well-placed for exploring a cluster of fine English villages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capability186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Swan Hotel, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
266 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
304 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
199 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
154 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thaxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaxted
Price Range: £64 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Thaxted, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing