We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total breach of the trade descriptions act”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stifford Clays Farmhouse B&B
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A total breach of the trade descriptions act”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is, without doubt, the worst hotel I have ever been to. The pictures on the website bear no relationship to the actual place. I wrote to the the Thurrock Trading Standards about this hotel, but got no reply.
It's dirty, damp and unwelcoming. The staff are untrained and speak very little English.
My advice........avoid this like the plague.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    7
    7
    41
See reviews for
7
17
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We found the website for this "Farmhouse B&B" and liked the look of it so booked up for two nights. Really wish we'd read some reviews first!

On arrival (4pm) we were greeted by someone who clearly wasn't used to customer service. He spoke poor English and did not know anything about our booking. After his hasty telephone call to his "manager" we were shown to a freezing cold room in a side annexe to the farmhouse.

The room was adequate, but had no bedside lights and the heating was provided by a (poor) electric fan, which we moved to beside the bed to heat the room up.

We didn't trust the look of the place so instead of bringing our bag to the room we kept it in the car while we went out to look for dinner & local entertainment. (The room had two takeaway menus and a taxi number but didn't like the look of those either!)

When we returned to the house later in the evening it was clear that we were the only guests - only our car in the car park and other rooms had open doors. Thankfully the heater had heated the room up, but we kept it on all night.

We also discovered that the bathroom light only functioned when one of the main room lights was switched on.

We got a reasonable night's sleep, though there was an uncomfortable ridge in the double bed where two twins had been pushed together.

In the morning, we go up for 7:30 - breakfast was advertised in reception from 6:30-8:30 and in the room from 7-9, so we figured that 7:30 was a reasonable time to aim for.

The shower was luke warm and the bathroom was freezing cold - not having benefitted from having the fan heater on all night.

When we left the room to get breakfast (having first transferred all our belongings to our car) we could not get in to the main house, either at the back door (as directed) or at the front. We telephoned the number advertised on the main door and was greeted by a sleepy "manager" who told us that at the weekend breakfast was served from 8:30, not the 6:30 advertised in reception. He told us he could make us some breakfast but by that point we had had it completely with the place. We paid a reduced rate (due to the lack of breakfast) for one night and left, also reporting to him as we left about the broken light switches, the heating and the poor shower.

There is absolutely no way we would return to this place, it was awful!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobPannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grays Thurrock hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This is the worst hotel I have ever had the chance to stay in. The staff were really unhelpful didn't speak english. The rooms were damp and very basic. A lot of shifty people coming and going. No breakfast was served and the main farmhouse was very rundown and dirty. the only thing that was half decent was the bathroom but it was let down by the tepid shower which just trickled out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank decry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This hotel is a great place to stay at if you are looking for a room for a night at a reasonable price, staff are very friendly and polite, breakfast was fine. Make sure you have directions already prepared to as the sat nav was unable to tell us where to go once we reached the A13!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euphoria777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

What ever you do, do not stay at this 'Hotel'! Do not be fooled by the lovely photo's. Where is the owner? Where is the 'Customer Service'? Why was the room not serviced? Who are all the strange people that wonder around looking unkempt and shifty? Where was the beautiful Farmhouse as advertised? The main house is dark, tatty and smells heavily of spicy food that was enough to put us off taking breakfast! The 'staff ' were rude and surly and looked very suspicious with lots of ' visitors' that kept coming and going! The room, although looked nice at first glance is nothing more than a timber framed ' annex ' with little if any, sound proofing. There is nowhere to hang clothes or towels, no hotel information, nothing to tell you what to do in case of fire or some other emergency, no telephone contact with the main house and very little privacy due to the 'room' doors having clear glass with only a Venetian blind to cover it and it opens right into the car park! Oh, and the 'staff ' park their vehicles right outside your door, leaving you to find else where to park! The shower rooms looked very nice but the showers are a joke, the water trickles out and runs all over the floor and forms a mini flood, no bath mat either. We have stayed all over the world in budget hotels and I can honestly say that I have never felt so anxious and uncomfortable. This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. What a total waste of hard earned money. Next time we are away on business, I would rather stay at a Travel Lodge!

Helpful?
6 Thank well-travelled-honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grays Thurrock
3.0 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#3 of 6 in Grays Thurrock
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
510 reviews
2.5 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Thurrock M25
Travelodge Thurrock M25
#3 of 3 in West Thurrock
117 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
294 reviews
4.4 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stifford Clays Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stifford Clays Farmhouse B&B

Property: Stifford Clays Farmhouse B&B
Address: Stifford Clays Farm Cottage Stifford Clays Road | North Stifford, Grays Thurrock RM16 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Grays Thurrock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grays Thurrock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stifford Clays Farmhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stifford Clays Farmhouse Hotel is the perfect setting for leisure breaks. Close to the Dartford and Lakeside shopping centres, this beautifully converted Farmhouse is set in four acres of landscaped gardens. It has 18 well appointed room most of them just refurbished/redecorated and suits all types of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stifford Clays Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stifford Clays Farmhouse B&B Grays Thurrock, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing