We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jays Lodge

Jays Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grays Thurrock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jays Lodge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Night”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The individual rooms at this chalet style building are spacious, clean and very comfortable. We have stayed here on a couple of occasions each one has been excellent. There is the option to have a breakfast, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Uphollandlatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Jays Lodge for one night whilst I was on a university placement and I was extremely impressed! The room met all my needs and was a breath of fresh air to come back to after a long day. The room was lovely and warm and spotlessly clean, I couldn't fault it! The owner gave me a very warm welcome, there was ample parking and the plot is beautiful. I thoroughly recommend Jays Lodge and will be passing on the details to all of my peers for future placements. Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here for work for one night and found it ideal for my needs.
I had a very small single room, however it had everything needed and a lovely ensuite. The room had a fridge as well as a kettle and there was access to a microwave in the communal hall.
There is plenty of parking and the building itself is lovely.
Whilst here for business I couldn't help but notice how great the location is for Lakeside should you wish to do some shopping.
The only issue I had was that the light in the bedroom had a constant green LED lit as part of the fire alarm system and it gave the whole room a glow, remember I was in a very small room, maybe in a bigger room it would be less light, anyway this seemed to disturb me as I woke several times in the night.
I would definitely revisit though and plan on doing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachwBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We decided to come down to Essex for a Christmas shopping trip and found Jays Lodge, for £50 a night we thought was pretty good price for one evening. The room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed in it, some of the cups in the cupboard were dirty which wasn't great so we had to re wash them, but the bed is big and comfy. The only main downside is the walls are pretty thin, we were woken up by next door going to the loo 6 times in 30 minutes at 6am which left me struggling to get back to sleep, but that's not Margaret's fault. We gave the breakfast a miss so can't comment on that. But can't complain overall a good place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treorchy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We reciently stayed at Jays Lodge as we had a ball at Orsett hall. We did the same last year and this time did not dissapoint us either. The room is spotlessly clean and well looked after. The room has a bathroom and shower along with a mini kitchen which comprises of a microwave, fridge/freezer keyyle and sunk. Margaret keeps this well stocked with sponge, squeezy and tea towel. Tea/coffee and milk are also provided as well as soaps and shampoo in the bathroom. My daughter and I had a very comfortable stay. Margaret also provides a very good breakfast service for an additional charge which is very good. We found Margaret to be very helpfull and aproachable. We are also hoping to stay there next year too. Would highly recomend this accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gobo7110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a great B & B. Margaret was great, checked us in very quickly and promised the room next door would be my daughters' when she arrived the next day, the room was very clean and comfortable, the facilities were great, fridge, microwave and kettle. The breakfast was great, extra tea, coffee or toast if you required, and all for £50 for the room and £7.50 for breakfast, great value. Thankyou once again Margaret.

Room Tip: We had several friends staying and they all the same high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnejChardSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After a recent visit home to my fiances home town for a wedding we came accross Jays Lodge online - Margaret was fantastic and checked us in quickly and efficiently to our lovely little room!
Even had a microwave.
As we were here for a wedding we didnt spend too much time in the room, but what we did experience was fantastic. Will stay again on visits back to essex.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grays Thurrock
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
340 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#3 of 5 in Grays Thurrock
591 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
723 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jays Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jays Lodge

Property: Jays Lodge
Address: Chapel Farm Baker Street | Orsett, Grays Thurrock RM16 3LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Grays Thurrock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grays Thurrock
Hotel Class:4 star — Jays Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Jays Lodge Grays Thurrock, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing