We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms , but make you own way there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Very clean and nice rooms. Id recommend making your own way there if you dont have too much luggage as their transfer services/fees are confusing and just too much. The is a pub in the village with good food , though id personally recommend staying in Stansted Mountfitchett village as there are lots more pub/restaurant options.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed in Avalon room 2 (ground floor, window overlooking front yard) in April 2012. I have to admit that having read some of the less-positive comments on tripadvisor I was a bit apprehensive of how good the room and airport transfer service was going to be - yet I wanted a place to sleep in close proximity to the airport. I have to say that once arrived, what I saw EXCEEDED my expectations. A very cosy and very clean room, cosy bed - what else is needed when you've got a flight the following day???

Room 2 was classed as semi-ensuite, which meant a shower cubicle in the corner of a room, but a shared toilet, which was just outside of the room anyway. Towels were provided. The room also had a TV, an electric kettle, a cup and tea/coffee/hot chocolate assortment). No problem with the noise at night, which some other tripadvisor users reported.

Airport transfer was excellent - only 3 pounds (where else would it be so cheap and convenient if the owners did not trouble themselves with organising the morning transfers for their guests!?). From Avalon transfers were every hour from 4am onwards, Mariola was the driver and the people carrier that she uses is officially registered as a taxi.

Overall: I would definitely stay again at Avalon when flying from London Stansted again! I DO RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

stayed for one night, happy with service, especially as it was nighttime and i struggled to find the place, got rescued by owner. Good nights sleep , very clean.
Although there was nobody visibly there in the morning we had been shown where to help ourselves with breakfast. All in all really good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsLookaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The hotel is a basic hotel that easily meets the needs of being close to Stansted Airport (London). I stayed in a double that had a bathroom ensuite. Downstairs there was a kitchen with food that you could help yourself to.

Overall, it's nothing extravagant but meets the needs for early morning flights out of Stansted. I would recommend on that purpose alone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Airporttransfer and self-service breakfast included in the price

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragge_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Close to the airport (5 min drive) and the early morning transfers are a huge bonus. The part we stayed in was just a converted house, but the private room with ensuite was clean and basic. Thin walls but just what you need for a short overnight stay. The included breakfast was cereal and toast, and some fruit.

Wouldnt recomend staying for more than a night as the area is fairly remote but there did seem to be a grocery store and a few restaurants near by. If you need a place to stay near Stansted Airport this will definately do.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landerson_135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I have been here for almost 2 months and Mariola, Janice and Lucy are the most friendly proffesional and overall they make you feel welcome... thanks for all your hard work and thank you for everything that you have done for me. Antonio Sandoval

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSIO1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
3.2 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
442 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,976 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,107 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Stansted Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Stansted Lodge

Address: 1 Mill Close, Elsenham CM22 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range: £48 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avalon Stansted Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Avalon Stansted Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Stansted Hotel Elsenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing