We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Avalon b&b is a nice place for those looking for a place to stay if you need to be near the airport. It was cheap, and for 2 double rooms for 1 night we paid £75, which I guess is ok. Taxi fare from the airport to avalon was £9 with stansted airport taxis (others wanted £15.50). Rooms were nice and clean. Bathroom en suite was also nice and clean. All in all, a good place to stay next to the airport. Manager running this place is also nice and friendly. Will definitely stay here again, if needed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ButterPig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Elsenham is a lovely village located near Stansted Airport. The Avalon met our needs ideally due to the location aswell as the comfortable accomodation and help yourself breakfast. The place is immaculate and the Manager Mariella? a great host. She obviously works very hard in keeping everywhere tip top. The Lodge is close by to a convenience store, Indian take away and a fab pub called The Crown serving delicious meals. Would stay again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yorkieally34_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed a night at Avalon recently between flights. Taxi from the airport cost £9 which added to the cost considerably. (I arrived after 8pm so bus wasn't an option.) However, in the morning there was group taxi which worked out just £2.50 each so that was great.

The single room was small but adequate. It had a good new shower; the toilet was in the hall. Self-service breakfast was very basic but really all I needed at that very early hour. Batteries seemed to be gone from both the TV remote and the alarm clock (which surely nobody needs anymore since everyone uses the alarm on their mobile phone -- still, why even leave it in the room?). The person running the place was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pau_WestCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Difficult to find is the only drawback and we went to the other one in this group. But, rooms were acceptable for one night and the use of the kitchen was great. It had all we needed for a very early DIY breakfast (0400). Taxi was arranged efficiently and arrived on time too.
What did annoy me was that there was no mention of the taxi fare required £9.50,
We ate at the local pub and the food was good after a 9 hour trip from Cornwall. We slept well as the bed was very comfy and the car was there when we got back!!! What more you could ask for. At £21 for the week's parking it is much cheaper than airport parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuinivereCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

On a recent visit to Stansted we were needing an overnight stay. The Avalon came up on my search, and seemed to suit the purpose. The property was not at all what we were expecting. The room was clean and suitable, but the facilities were not good. No lounge area, no real dining facilities. It is also a £15 taxi ride from Stansted airport. The village is charming, but there is only one eating place, the local inn. this was good, but we found the experience of staying at Avalon quite spoilt the start of our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed for one night and would highly recommend. Clean, tidy place with comfy beds and accessories. Kitchen clean, breakfast self service was great. Only downfall would be the noise. People coming and going all night (presume from the airport) so doors banging, people talking all through the night. Other than that its great, I would return here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I had an 8.30 am flight from Stansted, with Ryanair to Limoges, costing 20 quid, so I didn't want to spend a fortune on accommodation.
Avalon fits the bill, I arrived at Stansted by train about 8pm, and was collected by a a charming young lady who drove me to the lodge, the same girl, collected me at 6.30am.
The drive time is under 10 minutes, the lodge is clean and quiet, you can make tea and coffee or even use the microwave if you want, and all for 34 pounds, transfers are 6 pounds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
3.2 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
442 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,970 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,107 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Stansted Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Stansted Lodge

Address: 1 Mill Close, Elsenham CM22 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range: £48 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avalon Stansted Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Stansted Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Stansted Hotel Elsenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing