We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The lodge was nice enough. Was clean, easy to access from train station, free wifi, but is an old house so no soundproofing. I wanted an early night because I had to be up at 4:45am for my flight, but the family upstairs were so loud - I could hear every word and every footstep, and when they did finally go to sleep I could hear snoring. Got an awful nights sleep and have spent the first day of my holiday feeling exhausted. If you're a light sleeper, either take earplugs or stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaz3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

The plaque out front is confusing, as is the fact that the building is only an extended end-of-terrace house. We were given the "quietest" room in the house, but had to go downstairs at around 11pm to the room below and ask the occupant to keep the noise down as we were getting up at 4am for an early flight,, and we could here every word of his mobile conversation!
The only "attractive" part of the package was it was CHEAP!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Nice, cheap little lodge about 10miny by taxi from Stansted Airport. Staff is very helpful and friendly, room is comfortable including bath/toilet, breakfast is included by self service (at any time possible, as well as having coffe/tea), free WiFi at room.
If you need a stay near Stansted Airport it is recommendable, going to London will take about 1 hour and might be very expensive if Stansted Express is used (approx 50 GBP bidirectonal).

Room Tip: If you stay with a friend, you can book a 2 bed-room - there will be 2 beds for each of you, this wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed here last Sunday, but my booking was for Stansted Lodge not Avalon Stansted Lodge. It also has name plaques saying Aspens on the front and inside, so it appears to have a bit of an identity crisis. The following might explain why.

The room was very poor with cobwebs round the room and loose flooring by the bathroom. There were lots of old rawl plugs and screw's sticking out of the walls. The freeview box was perched on a box covered buy a bit of material because the wires were too short. The bath had no shower curtain, and had self adhesive tiles stuck on the end with plastic strips between them sticking out over the edge. There was no cooked breakfast offered (not good for a b&b), only cereal or diy toast. The rooms outer door handle was hanging off with missing screw's, and the door want robust enough to keep out any sound from outside, so you could hear everything. The television was the smallest I had ever seen and was strapped to a wall bracket with webbing. To top it all off, the road leading to it has more potholes than road. I arrived at about 21:30 so it was dark; it was also raining, so I had to drive very slowly to avoid damage to my car. The main sign says Aspens, not Stanstead Lodge, I only spotted the small sign with Christmas tree lights round it as I went past. It's not big enough and sits on the ground inside the entrance. All in all I could not recommend this place at all.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank BritRC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Avalon b&b is a nice place for those looking for a place to stay if you need to be near the airport. It was cheap, and for 2 double rooms for 1 night we paid £75, which I guess is ok. Taxi fare from the airport to avalon was £9 with stansted airport taxis (others wanted £15.50). Rooms were nice and clean. Bathroom en suite was also nice and clean. All in all, a good place to stay next to the airport. Manager running this place is also nice and friendly. Will definitely stay here again, if needed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ButterPig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Elsenham is a lovely village located near Stansted Airport. The Avalon met our needs ideally due to the location aswell as the comfortable accomodation and help yourself breakfast. The place is immaculate and the Manager Mariella? a great host. She obviously works very hard in keeping everywhere tip top. The Lodge is close by to a convenience store, Indian take away and a fab pub called The Crown serving delicious meals. Would stay again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yorkieally34_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed a night at Avalon recently between flights. Taxi from the airport cost £9 which added to the cost considerably. (I arrived after 8pm so bus wasn't an option.) However, in the morning there was group taxi which worked out just £2.50 each so that was great.

The single room was small but adequate. It had a good new shower; the toilet was in the hall. Self-service breakfast was very basic but really all I needed at that very early hour. Batteries seemed to be gone from both the TV remote and the alarm clock (which surely nobody needs anymore since everyone uses the alarm on their mobile phone -- still, why even leave it in the room?). The person running the place was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pau_WestCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
3.2 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
443 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,987 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,108 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Stansted Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Stansted Lodge

Address: 1 Mill Close, Elsenham CM22 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range: £48 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avalon Stansted Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Stansted Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Stansted Hotel Elsenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing