We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for an overnight stay before a flight”
Review of DeSalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DeSalis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ok for an overnight stay before a flight”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends. We had an early flight from Stansted so we needed somewhere to crash the night before. The hotel is adequate enough - although the decor is odd. There are many murals all around and a lot of them don`t match, they make the walls look very `busy`.
The room was better than expected and the beds were comfy enough.It had all we needed, kettle, towels, etc. Price of the shuttle was different than on the website so we opted to book our own taxi instead. We also asked for a wake up call, just in case our alarm didn`t go off - we never received this, which is very poor for an airport hotel. It was too early to complain and we had a taxi to catch but I definitely think that a wake up call should not be forgotten about by a hotel where most guests are people catching flights that don`t tend to wait for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    96
    128
    104
    175
See reviews for
78
174
101
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We looked for a hotel which also provided car parking close to Stansted Airport, found the DeSalis
the offer was £65 for one night double room and 8 nights parking.
Check in was quick friendly, the room was big enough, large bathroom with shower over the bath...
Room was clean and did not need updating.
The restaurant was small but adequate, menu is small but I had a really tasty grilled chicken.
Decorations at the hotel will not be to everyone's choice, walls are fully painted in murals (not in the bedroom).
We left the hotel at 4 am, the hotel bus dropped us at the airport, by 4.30 we were having Breakfast in the departure lounge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie2foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Going to Northern Cyprus for a week - picked up this deal with De Salis at Stansted - One night in the hotel and includes a weeks parking for less than 50 quid. A really nice place to stay with a small Italian themed restaurant - lovely meal. Excellent transfer to airport. Will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was great - but from the size of the premises I would think all would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob44east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked this hotel as was excellent value for a stay and park before our holiday. Nice and close to Stansted Airport, with a quick transfer provided (NB the cost of the transfers has to be paid upfront). Rooms are good with all necessary facilities, Decor in entrance and bar/restaurant area will not be too everyone's taste,but overall thought was good value when taking into account the safe parking provided

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

At less than half the cost of anywhere else l could find for one night plus 10 days parking, l was a little anxious. However, everyone was perfectly pleasant, transfers went smoothly and the room was large, clean, nicely decorated and had all facilities. The bed was comfy and linen pretty good quality. Having run a B&B myself for 15 years, l would normally be hyper-critical but l genuinely enjoyed my stay - looking at some of these other reviews, maybe l'm just lucky.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Awful, terrible beds, lumpy mattress, terrible pillows, nasty decor throughout. There was an overwhelming smell of air freshener everywhere which makes you wonder what's being covered up! I have concluded the stars on their sign are self appointed.

All that said, the staff were efficient and the shuttle service was prompt and thankfully the car was left where we parked it.

We didn't eat at the hotel, however snacks and canned drinks are extremely overpriced!

I cannot recommend this place, they need to invest in some new beds and bedding and get some decorators in to do a proper job and maybe a deep clean then there would be no need for the air fresheners.

Room Tip: Don't, go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elsenham hotels

London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for one night. I agree with some of the previous reviews that it's nothing like the pictures. Firstly the 'car park' has cars parked everywhere at all angles, obviously not a proper long stay car park for travellers, I would not leave my car there for longer than I had to. The room was very tired looking with no matching furniture. The sink basin was cracked and basically it was all very dated and needed to be refurbished. The beige carpet was covered in stains. There was no internet connection and we could not get a signal on our mobiles. We asked the reception to order us a cab to take us two miles away for a function. To our surprise, the two mile trip, one way, was £16.50!!!! I hate being ripped off in my own country. Finally we were just going to bed when someone opened our room door, their key card had obviously been programmed for our room too!!! I was happy when I left first thing the next morning, avoiding having a breakfast and just wanting to get away from there. Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy09london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSalis Hotel

Property: DeSalis Hotel
Address: Hall Road | Gaunts End, Elsenham CM22 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — DeSalis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your DeSalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desalis Hotel Elsenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing