We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of DeSalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DeSalis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Reviewed 4 February 2014

If you're idea of air freshener is a load of wet towels piled on a sofa in a corridor then you will love this hotel.

Chipped tea cup in the bedroom, dirty sink in the bathroom......however the not so friendly staff were really helpful........we asked where we could go to watch a big game of football being shown. We were told no where as we were at the airport. There was more than 4 local pubs 4 minutes down the road.

It's a shame as it was a good deal.......now we know why and never again will we book without checking reviews

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesalisTeam, Manager at DeSalis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review and we're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation, as you can see from the vast majority of recent reviews a lot of customers would recommend us.

With regards to the laundry I am aware a basket of wet linen was left on one of the sofas in the corridor for a period of a few moments while our house keeper on duty at the time was assisting one of our customers, We are perplexed as to why you'd imply this was "the air freshener" as that statement doesn't really make much sense to use here.

In relation to the chipped mug, we do apologise and the issue has been resolved in the room.

With regards to the big game, we are unable to find four pubs within minutes of the hotel, there are two pubs within a 2 mile radius of De Salis (or a few minutes) and neither of those show sports, however we do show sports in the Bar on site at De Salis for all of our customers. The only other option within close proximity would be going back to Stansted Airport or travelling to the next towns.

Once again we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay however the fast majority of our customers believe we offer a good service at a fantastic value.

Regards

De Salis Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at the de salis hotel with 8 days parking free from 24 November.

My room was clean and spacious with tea/coffee making facilities. The staff were very efficient. Transfer to the airport in the hotel taxi with only 15 minutes waiting on both out and in journeys.

I cannot fault the stay and it cost no more than just booking parking. I shall definitely stay here again when flying from Stansted.

Room Tip: Can't comment really as I was shown to my room which I think was down the side of the hotel, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazHorncastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here unless its a cheap late last minute deal for a quick overnight stay. Rooms below par. Service slow. Five minute drive to airport. Much better in the area. Shop around. Quite loud at times as near the northern approach runway

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late but found staff very helpful and pleasant.the hotel is about 5 mins drive from the airport.The room was big and comfortable the facilities were good and was not disturbed by aircraft noise.only draw back was maybe the transfer to the airport @ £4.50 a head for each trip was maybe a bit steep BUT you do get 8 days free parking in with your price.Recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed at the De Sallis Hotel two weeks ago. Room OK with giant bathroom. Breakfast was £8.50 but only Servery with Sausages,Scrambled Eggs Baked Beans and Bacon. Trip to and from Airport very good.
Then the thing that you hope will not happened. when you come home from holiday. The staff could not find my car. as it had been removed. to another site 12 miles away and they had forgotten to bring the car back. So we were driven to a sister hotel where it was located. So all ended OK but if you are going to worry you car being there when you come back then go somewhere else.





























































































but at an overflow car park 12 miles away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickthemuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends. We had an early flight from Stansted so we needed somewhere to crash the night before. The hotel is adequate enough - although the decor is odd. There are many murals all around and a lot of them don`t match, they make the walls look very `busy`.
The room was better than expected and the beds were comfy enough.It had all we needed, kettle, towels, etc. Price of the shuttle was different than on the website so we opted to book our own taxi instead. We also asked for a wake up call, just in case our alarm didn`t go off - we never received this, which is very poor for an airport hotel. It was too early to complain and we had a taxi to catch but I definitely think that a wake up call should not be forgotten about by a hotel where most guests are people catching flights that don`t tend to wait for you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We looked for a hotel which also provided car parking close to Stansted Airport, found the DeSalis
the offer was £65 for one night double room and 8 nights parking.
Check in was quick friendly, the room was big enough, large bathroom with shower over the bath...
Room was clean and did not need updating.
The restaurant was small but adequate, menu is small but I had a really tasty grilled chicken.
Decorations at the hotel will not be to everyone's choice, walls are fully painted in murals (not in the bedroom).
We left the hotel at 4 am, the hotel bus dropped us at the airport, by 4.30 we were having Breakfast in the departure lounge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie2foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,976 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,299 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
561 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSalis Hotel

Address: Hall Road | Gaunts End, Elsenham CM22 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range: £49 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DeSalis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your DeSalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desalis Hotel Elsenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing