We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very close to the airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeSalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DeSalis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very close to the airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The room was clean, friendly and nicely decorated. The staff could be friendlier but I had worse. The hotel is only a few minutes from the London Standsted airport and overs parking possibilities and airport transport. Through to be close to the airport, getting a good nights sleep was not a problem. The Indian restaurant in the hotel overs good food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffI_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    94
    127
    100
    174
See reviews for
77
171
99
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

If you're idea of air freshener is a load of wet towels piled on a sofa in a corridor then you will love this hotel.

Chipped tea cup in the bedroom, dirty sink in the bathroom......however the not so friendly staff were really helpful........we asked where we could go to watch a big game of football being shown. We were told no where as we were at the airport. There was more than 4 local pubs 4 minutes down the road.

It's a shame as it was a good deal.......now we know why and never again will we book without checking reviews

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesalisTeam, Manager at DeSalis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review and we're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation, as you can see from the vast majority of recent reviews a lot of customers would recommend us.

With regards to the laundry I am aware a basket of wet linen was left on one of the sofas in the corridor for a period of a few moments while our house keeper on duty at the time was assisting one of our customers, We are perplexed as to why you'd imply this was "the air freshener" as that statement doesn't really make much sense to use here.

In relation to the chipped mug, we do apologise and the issue has been resolved in the room.

With regards to the big game, we are unable to find four pubs within minutes of the hotel, there are two pubs within a 2 mile radius of De Salis (or a few minutes) and neither of those show sports, however we do show sports in the Bar on site at De Salis for all of our customers. The only other option within close proximity would be going back to Stansted Airport or travelling to the next towns.

Once again we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay however the fast majority of our customers believe we offer a good service at a fantastic value.

Regards

De Salis Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elsenham hotels

Horncastle, Lincs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at the de salis hotel with 8 days parking free from 24 November.

My room was clean and spacious with tea/coffee making facilities. The staff were very efficient. Transfer to the airport in the hotel taxi with only 15 minutes waiting on both out and in journeys.

I cannot fault the stay and it cost no more than just booking parking. I shall definitely stay here again when flying from Stansted.

Room Tip: Can't comment really as I was shown to my room which I think was down the side of the hotel, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazHorncastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here unless its a cheap late last minute deal for a quick overnight stay. Rooms below par. Service slow. Five minute drive to airport. Much better in the area. Shop around. Quite loud at times as near the northern approach runway

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choppington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late but found staff very helpful and pleasant.the hotel is about 5 mins drive from the airport.The room was big and comfortable the facilities were good and was not disturbed by aircraft noise.only draw back was maybe the transfer to the airport @ £4.50 a head for each trip was maybe a bit steep BUT you do get 8 days free parking in with your price.Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clacton on sea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed at the De Sallis Hotel two weeks ago. Room OK with giant bathroom. Breakfast was £8.50 but only Servery with Sausages,Scrambled Eggs Baked Beans and Bacon. Trip to and from Airport very good.
Then the thing that you hope will not happened. when you come home from holiday. The staff could not find my car. as it had been removed. to another site 12 miles away and they had forgotten to bring the car back. So we were driven to a sister hotel where it was located. So all ended OK but if you are going to worry you car being there when you come back then go somewhere else.





























































































but at an overflow car park 12 miles away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickthemuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends. We had an early flight from Stansted so we needed somewhere to crash the night before. The hotel is adequate enough - although the decor is odd. There are many murals all around and a lot of them don`t match, they make the walls look very `busy`.
The room was better than expected and the beds were comfy enough.It had all we needed, kettle, towels, etc. Price of the shuttle was different than on the website so we opted to book our own taxi instead. We also asked for a wake up call, just in case our alarm didn`t go off - we never received this, which is very poor for an airport hotel. It was too early to complain and we had a taxi to catch but I definitely think that a wake up call should not be forgotten about by a hotel where most guests are people catching flights that don`t tend to wait for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSalis Hotel

Property: DeSalis Hotel
Address: Hall Road | Gaunts End, Elsenham CM22 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — DeSalis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your DeSalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desalis Hotel Elsenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing