We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does what it says on the tin”
Review of DeSalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DeSalis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Left the car there for 10 days , was taken to the airport upon return was picked up within 10 minutes of phoning them, given a nice room which was clean and looked after. had a good nights sleep then drove my car home and all for 85 quid . it costs you &70 to leave your car in the long stay for a week so for &15 more you get a room for the night . well worth doing and when we left the car park was packed so they must be doing something right. breakfast was a winner as well &8.50 for the full English which was very nice.

Room Tip: room 27 was satisfactory in April 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for DeSalis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We wanted somewhere close to the airport as we had an early flight and were contacting hotels as I am disabled. The hotel said that they only had 1 room left and we could provisionally book it by leaving card details.We emphasised that we were still enquiring and would confirm within 2 hours if we wanted to book.We found a closer hotel with free shuttle at £1 dearer saving a considerable shuttle fee. Pretty straightforward but sadly the £59 was debited from our account. Despite numerous e-mails , phone calls and even the threat of Small Claims Court we have been constantly ignored.AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.As we did not stay there obviously all we can comment on is Service and Value
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is surrounded by beautiful fields and opposite an industrial site. It is convenient for the airport and could be a park and fly option but we stayed there for only one night without long term parking. one night was enough!
The furniture in the rooms seems to have been chosen at random. The shower was powerful but the shower curtain was over affectionate and the extractor was out of action so the room ended full of steam. On light bulb in the bathroom needed replacing but although we reported it it wasn't done. The bed was okay.
The restaurant is pathetic although the staff were doing their best.
The menu is very limited - the starters comprise two salads, and three types of bread - that's all!!
The main courses are mainly pizzas and pasta very limited indeed. and with a waiting time of nearly 45 minutes I question whether they are worth waiting for. With only two other tables occupied such a long wait is very mysterious.
While one eats there is a television showing a music channel but the music playing out loud is not from the channel being shown - also mysterious.
The third mystery was the enormous (and I mean enormous) mural on the restaurant wall. Amongst other depictions are a naked woman without nipples reclining on a blue horse and a baboon touching the bare back of a man curled up on the ground. There is also a mermaid and people falling out of boats???
The bar doesn't open until 6pm and there is no hot breakfast.
Would I stay there again - only if all the other hotels in the area were full.
Yes it is cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backtofront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel was nice and quiet and very importantly, 5 minutes from Stansted. Adequate restaurant but not great choices. One note: the airport shuttle bus is not free. We found that out 20 pounds later.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dven8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Booked in all looks nice room (32) was modern and clean and found bed very comfortable. Only thing that let it down for me was Bathroom needs updating rather than keep repairing, even shower head rail was hanging off wall and held together with insulation tape. Made a superb room feel so much less than standard. However its a reasonable priced hotel i paid £49 with 12 days Parking which made this a great choice for me as for that price i'll stay again. If only the little things like the shower are sorted would of made all the difference. I didn't eat here so can't comment on that although Cobra Lager on tap was a nice pint!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Spider666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 1 night, to catch a flight from Stansted. As the hotel is only 5 mins from the airport it was really convenient. The people at the hotel were absolutely lovely too. So friendly, couldn't do more for us. Odd that there are so many poor reviews? Couldn't understand it. Would def stay here again if I was flying from Stansted. Excellent value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

My partner & I booked one night stay with dinner, airport transfers & parking. When we arrived we found the reception & restaurant freezing cold with one halogen heater . We had to eat in our coats.
The menu was a joke. It was about ��35 for two courses (starter & main only) which was cheap but it was plain to see why!! The choices were so poor we opted for burgers! They may as well have come from a street van! The whole reception/restaurant stank of old cooking oil, the bruschetta starter was a collection of sliced french stick topped with the contents of the local European convenience store - blackened courgette on one, tomato on another & some kind of processed meat paste & grated carrot on the third! The main course burger was inedible & coated in processed cheese sauce atop shredded lettuce which had turned brown. The fries were cool & damp! Neither course was edible & I complained. No apology was offered but the staff were clearly not surprised.
The decor in the reception area & restaurant was just freaky!!!!!! Weird beyond belief! So strange it is worth a listing on YouTube!! Depicting naked people in waterfalls, some odd boat accident. Mermaids, gorillas pawing naked women on the ground, Greek gods, collapsing roman columns, galloping horses, blue unicorns.......really, really creepy!!!!
The room was actually lovely with nothing much wrong apart from the sink waste was stuffed with tissue???? It was clean & warm & nicely decorated.
We had a very early flight & transfer was booked with the hotel. Our wake up call did not arrive & when we reached reception there was no-one manning it only a note telling us to leave our car keys! We were not the only people waiting & eventually after 15 minutes someone came to drive us to the airport.
On our return we called to let them know we had arrived - (our flight was on time) only to be told the driver couldn't wait & had left. We waited for half an hour making 4 further calls to the hotel. They said the driver was there but couldn't find us even though we were at the pick up point sign!they claim to have visited 3 times to collect us but saythey had missed us! We got a taxi from the airport ourselves for just ��10.50 - which was cheaper than the ��13 we had paid the hotel! We do not think they could be bothered to take their mini bus out for just 2 people at 11.30pm!
I am making a complaint in writing but would urge anyone considering using them to pay the few pounds more for an acceptable service elsewhere! Avoid them at all costs!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank S11UPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,737 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,045 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,236 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSalis Hotel

Address: Hall Road | Gaunts End, Elsenham CM22 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range: £59 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DeSalis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your DeSalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desalis Hotel Elsenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing