We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What exactly did I pay for?!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeSalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DeSalis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What exactly did I pay for?!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The room looked okay, but had some major problems. The shower seemed stuck on boiling hot and I couldn't adjust the temperature. That was after I worked out how to turn it on - all the symbols for the different jets had rubbed off the dial so it was a matter of scalding trial and error. There was also an odd LCD panel thing that seemed to give me the option of listening to the radio or a series of deafeningly loud beeps for no apparent reason.
I gave up on the shower, a decision further validated by the discovery of hair that wasn't mine.
There were no plug sockets by the bed so I had to charge my phone on the other side of the room.
There were no bedside lamps or light switches by the bed, so I had to turn off the lights then fumble my way back to bed in the dark.
There was no phone reception in my room, and no connection to the hotel Wifi due to poor signal strength.
Worst of all, I asked for a 4.30 wakeup call which never came. Fortunately I had an alarm set on my phone as well.
Absolutely not worth the considerable amount of money. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    94
    127
    100
    174
See reviews for
77
171
99
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

There are hedges on the road to this hotel, where I would prefer to sleep. The front rooms are verminous, and two young ladies who were at the desk compplaining that their bed was full of ants were offered a tin of ant powder! They held their ground fortunately, and insisted on a room on the other side of the building; the concierge reluctantly agreed, when he saw that other guests were in total agreement. The hotel runs its own bus service; i obviously attracted a weird driver, who, on the narrow lanes to the airport at one point touched 80 ( mph ). I inadvertently left one of my professional chef's knives in the room. Returning later to collect it, no effort was made to localise it, and the enquiry was dismissed with a disinterested shrug. Someone knows the value of top notch german cutlery!
If you think that you will be met at the airport, be assured that you will need to phone minimum three times. I don't expect much at airport budget hotels, but even at this level of hospitality, there are depths of personal degradation to which I will not descend. This dive is such a place

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elsenham hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've stayed here before but had the misfortune of been booked in again !!! What a joke of a place with parking that can only be discribed ,I hope I see my car again in one piece!
The rooms are nothing like the photos in the website and are disgusting in cleanliness. The hotel is run on a low budget . If I ever stay here again I will send someone else to take my place I don't like. Avoid this place and stay somewhere more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritzproperties123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Booked here before flying by myself and thought it would be less hassle than tackling the m25 at 4am.

Arrived at the hotel and squeezed my car into the very disorganised car park, which is basically an 'abandon your car where you can find space' job.
At reception I was then told that I was being moved to a sister hotel as the hot water was not working and put into a minibus for 30 minutes not knowing where the hell I was going!
Sister hotel was further away above an indian resturante.
Transfer to airport was however on time.

However! On the way home I realised that I was un aware of details of my transfer back to this hotel to collect my car, so I had my friend phone them and ask for details.
He was told that they had no idea where my car was and spoke very broken english so did not understand the problem.

I had to pay a taxi to go and collect my car once I had landed.

Not worth the money! Should have paid for the more expensive place!!! AVOID!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenwaugh441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We received a phone call en route to the hotel informing us that we could no longer stay there as there was a leak from the roof but an alternative was available only 15 minutes away. When we arrived to get the details for the new hotel we were told that it wasn't the roof that was leaking but the toilet and it was fine to stay in! We were then charged £9 a head for return transport to Stansted Airport. This charge is in the small print which we should have read. The car park at the hotel was packed and disorganised; we were simply told to find a space which was difficult.

The room was filthy and in dire need of decoration. The sheets and carpets were stained. I requested a wake up call and was informed that it would probably happen - it didn't. When I informed reception of this the girl couldn't speak because her mouth was full so she simply shrugged her shoulders. The transport was late departing for the airport; when the driver arrived he grunted "let's go".

All in all this was an unpleasant way to start a holiday. The standard is much lower than one would expect from a hotel near a large UK airport.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdm43597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I was refused airport pick up after previously confirmed with hotel, no room available at 1.30 am, alternative hotel was a low standard pub, no manger available. Utter rubbish service, my advice! pay a few pounds more, you get what you pay for.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bat Yam, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great place to stay if you have a flight to catch the next day.
Food in the restaurant is a bit expensive but I guess its hotel prices, the food was nice though and a good portion.
Unfortunately my room was next door to the entrance hall so was a bit noisy, but when I did drop off I had a great nights sleep and felt refreshed in the morning.
They also have a collect and drop off service to the airport so quite convenient.
I would stay here again the next time I am flying from Stansted.

Room Tip: Don't be near to the entrance hall!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSalis Hotel

Property: DeSalis Hotel
Address: Hall Road | Gaunts End, Elsenham CM22 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elsenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — DeSalis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your DeSalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desalis Hotel Elsenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing