We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stansted Lodge Aspen
Ranked #1 of 1 Elsenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Even that it's cheap; not good review.
There's no transportation to/from the airport, so you will expect to pay 15pounds from the airport, if you want to go to London, a 15-20min walk to the train station and from there 1'15" hour. (imagine that raining and cold).
The man in charge was friendly but always with a strong smell of alcohol.
The breakfast, poor, very poor... Do not wait more that milk, bread, jelly and instant coffee. Noise beds and you can hear everything, I mean everything from the room next door.

Room Tip: If you want to visit London, not a good place. the money that you save in this place you will double...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milton Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Stansted Lodge Aspen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Near to airport and train station! Love the homely feel of the lodge as well, nice rooms. We stayed the nights before and after our trip to Italy, both nights arriving late. We need to take taxi from airport to the lodge which cost £15 but a hot shower n bed after travelling, just 15 mins from airport, was awesome! The lodge provides service at £6 pp to n fro airport but only till 9pm. Self service continental breakfast starting from 3.45am as well, and we got dropped at elsenham train station free of charge the next day. The station is about10-15 mins walking distance from the lodge, and we got to london liverpool street by train in 55 mins. But we were charged £1 per day per piece for luggagge storage at the lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinhwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I chose this spot because it was inexpensive accommodation near Stansted Airport, and I had an early flight. The place was musty and there were air fresheners placed so as to mask odors. No help at all. My room was at the front, and the owner operates a taxi service so there was a bit of rude awakening from the sleep I was trying to get. The owner was pleasant enough, the breakfast (I never got to take advantage of that cereal, yum) self-serve. You would never have found this spot based on the map at bookings.com. A good spot for the Spartan and hard of hearing only.

Room Tip: Do not choose the front/street facing room if at all possible.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Triphora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

With a wedding situated locally, my partner and I booked 2 nights in a double ensuite room. Upon arrival we struggled to find the lodge as our booking online didnt tell us that it was also known as Aspens. However we were shown to the bottom of a garden where there was a wooden lodge! We were surprised to see how spacy and homely it was, and decorated so beautifully with the panelled wood. With our own kitchenette and bathroom, the 2 nights really were a home from home. Would stay again.
The only minor issue was the noise, as the airport was not far, but was not disturbed at all during the night (only in the morning by the nearby cockrell!!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WeekendCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I have stayed at Stansted Lodge overnight because of my 6am flight to Stockholm the morning after. The facilities were clean, there was breakfast and coffee available even at 3:45 in the morning, and the very nice and helpful staff picked me up from the train station and also drove me to the airport at 4am which helped smooth the otherwise-uncomfortable trip immensely.

It is not expensive (I booked directly on their web page), clean, warm (an important thing - a lot of B&Bs in England aren't), and the staff are very friendly. It is quiet and allows to catch several hours' worth of good sleep before a flight. Very recommended.

Room Tip: Single rooms are small, which did not bother me in the least. If you feel the need for a large spac...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I haven't been in many b&bs in England but I've seen my share and let me tell you- Aspen stansted lodge is one of the best I've stayed. Besides great location, not far from airport they are truly helpful, polite and make you feel like your @ home. Price is great, rooms are EXCELLENT....what else could you want :-) PS! They feed you like your grandmother. 12 points from Estonia goes to Stansted lodge .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We arrived there after a long travel by bus and the owner was there to pick up us and another Italian girl and take us to the hotel.
She was very kind and helpful both in the evening and the next morning, when at 4am she took us back to the airport.
The room was very nice and clean with tea available and sat-tv.
Also at 4 we were able to have breakfast in a very nice kitchen, always available for guests!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susyna91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsenham
0.2 mi away
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Avalon Stansted Lodge
#1 of 2 in Elsenham
89 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,748 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,044 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elsenham Lodge
Elsenham Lodge
#1 of 1 in Elsenham
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stansted Lodge Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stansted Lodge Aspen

Address: Stansted Lodge Aspen Aspens Park Road, Elsenham CM22 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elsenham
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stansted Lodge Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing