We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FAMILY RUN HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stansted Lodge Aspen
Ranked #1 of 1 Elsenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed on the 21st May prior to flight from Stanstead. Great location only 10 minutes from Airport.
The breakfast was good and a lift to and from the airport was provided.
We were able to leave our car whilst we were away for a small charge.
The owners were very helpful and I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

I stayed in Stansted Lodge earlier this year, the shuttle service at the b & b was good. I was collected on time the next morning and taking to the airport and also provided with a lunch for my travel. My only problem was the room, it was not clean, the lady who took me to the room even commented "hum the room is not really clean, she looked to inspect the floor and said maybe i have another room" and then replied it's ok and let me sleep in the room. The carpet was dirty and the room was extremely small with everything close together. Literally the enclosed shower was at the end of the bed. Not a pleasant stay for me at all. It is a pity because the rest of the service was very good. But cleanliness should be of paramount importance to the owners of this b&b. I travel to and from London quite a lot throughout the year and was hoping this place would have been ideal for my overnight stops. Unfortunately not! Disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I would reccomend a stay at Stansted Lodge. We stayed there for a few days and we enjoyed our stay as the staff was very helpul. We had a nice room with a very comfortable bed.Free transfers from and to the airport are very good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We stayed here after missing our flight and this bnb was recommended by the airport hotel booking service. The only positive about this place is that they pick you up and drop you back to the airport. The rooms were below average, with flimsy curtains that let the street light in, the bathroom was mouldy, and the breakfast was a make your own toast and get your own cup of tea affair. We were woken during the night with drunken men walking up and down the street and a drunken guest trying to get into our room. I have stayed in hostels that are better equipped and more comfortable than this bnb. Their prices do not reflect the service as they take advantage of the captive market. I would find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wiztin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted_Lodge, Owner/Manager at Stansted Lodge Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2009

Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry your stay with us was not as you would have expected.

We believe we offer extremely good value for money for people requiring somewhere to stay near Stansted Airport (the night you stayed we would have been one of the cheapest). Our rooms are cleaned everyday thoroughly and we will look into the allegation of mouldy bathrooms.

Most guests prefer making their own breakfast, and this works well with our transfer system. Guests leaving before 7am get a take away breakfast, something many other bnbs do not offer.

We cannot always control guests behaviour, most of our guests are well behaved and are in bed early. Unfortunately you must have stayed with us on the extremely rare occasion when guests did not behave as they should have.

Regards,
Stansted Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at Stansted Lodge in May 2007. I was drawn in by the fairly affordable price (considering the exchange rate to US$ was horrible) and especially by the fact that they provided free shuttle service (other hotels I found online seemed to charge a fee). We took the bus from London to Stansted airport and followed the instructions to the location where they said they would pick you up. The only dilemma was that there is no payphone in sight. My husband had to walk across half the airport to find a payphone to inform them we were ready to be picked up. It was cold and rainy, which made the 20 or so minute wait feel like an eternity. During the ride we asked for a good place to grab dinner so the driver told us to go to The Crown (which I think may have been the only place in town) and since she was going to have to pick up some other people from the airport soon she offered to give us a ride there since it was rainy. The meal at The Crown was very yummy with way more food than we could eat…too bad the exchange rate was killer (that simple £20 pub meal converted to $40).

Unfortunately our night’s sleep wasn’t very good. We were staying at Aspens in room 1, which is located on the bottom floor. We decided to stay close to the airport since we had an 8am flight and didn’t want to risk running into transportation problems had we stayed another night in London. Unfortunately other people had even earlier flights than us and it was pretty much impossible to go back to sleep after 4am when the first guests were walking up and down the creaking stairs and talking with the driver. I don’t know how noisy the other rooms are, but since we were right there on the first floor it was really loud. So after the 4-5 hour sleep we got (rather than the 7 hours we had hoped for) we were given breakfast to go since it was too early for the normal breakfast to be served. The to-go bag had a Capri Sun drink, a granola bar and an apple. Although it was an appreciated gesture we only ended up drinking the Capri Sun and bought a muffin at the airport to eat instead.

Although the free shuttle service was a plus the overall experience left too much of a negative memory for us to go back to Stansted Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atl_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted_Lodge, Owner/Manager at Stansted Lodge Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2009

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry your stay with us was not up to our expectations.

Unfortunately the night you stayed with us we had several guests who had exceptional requirements that we had to help with which led to the extra early morning traffic which woke you, and we apologize for this.

Many bnbs in our price range do not offer any breakfast prior to 7 am, however, we have reviewed and changed our takeaway breakfast pack since you stayed with us (we are now making individual sandwiches).

Regards,
Stansted Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Was GOOD for what we wanted --- a decent nights sleep , near stanstead, with transferes included, parking, and little brekki bag to take away. penguin, cllippo sun and apple!. ---You get good value for what you pay for!
Bonus :- - - if you use local pub for food, DO MENTION you are staying at either of Stanstead lodge hotels ltd. and they will gladly give you your first drink free!!!!!
You will get a nice meal and drink there! On way back, we called also, and just had sandwiches, they seemed quite expensive, but they were excellent. A meal in themselves. Good value for money.And lovely service.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank bwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted_Lodge, Owner/Manager at Stansted Lodge Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2009

Thank you for your positive review, we agree that we do provide good value for money.

Many guests who stay with us take advantage of the fact the local pub provides a free drink with main course meals if you tell them you are staying with us.

We have also tried to improve our takeaway breakfast pack since you stayed with us, so hopefully you will appreciate it if you stay with us again.

Regards,
Stansted Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Horrible rooms in an ex council house - on a council estate. No staff to meet you on arrival, or resident at the property. This proved a problem when other loud, drunk guests arrive after midnight.

It is not made clear which of the two properties you are staying in, until AFTER the booking is completed. Shock! we got the shabby one.

Take away breakfast is awful, choc biscuit, kiddies orange drink etc. Throw it away.

Collection at airport on return was a disorganisd shambles, and took almost an hour, after being given three different Pick-up points to go to.

Plus points, cheap car parking (£3.00 per day) and lift to and from airport.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted_Lodge, Owner/Manager at Stansted Lodge Aspen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2009

Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

Although one of our properties is an ex-council house it has had extensive renovations made to it, and our neighbours are extremely friendly and have gone out of their way to help guests who have stayed with us at Avalon. We do not feel our location is a hindrence to the service we provide, or that the property is shabby.

We have an employee who stays on the property every night(the allegation of no resident is incorrect), and although every effort is made to meet all guests sometimes logistics of several guests arriving at the same time make this impossible.

Again, sometimes the logistics of picking up people from the airport can be problematic, this is compounded by several unscroupulous businesses trying to pick up guests who are not registered to stay with them but us.

Again we apologise for your upset, our alternative property Aspens is nowhere near a council estate, but I would suggest a hotel for you in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stansted Lodge Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stansted Lodge Aspen

Address: Stansted Lodge Aspen Aspens Park Road, Elsenham CM22 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Elsenham
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elsenham
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stansted Lodge Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing