We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only there one night - wish we could have stayed longer”

Highview Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spennymoor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highview Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Spennymoor B&B and Inns
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only there one night - wish we could have stayed longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is a nice base for Durham being only 15 minutes or so away. We were only there for a single night as a break in our journey, but did go into Durham which you should do if you're this close. The rooms were really tidy and included a fridge with milk!! The breakfast was amongst the best we had while away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCT46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed here for a few days in June 2010. The staff were very friendly and the rooms clean. The breakfast served is ok but the location isn't great.

The rooms at Highview are excellent. They are spacious and very clean, with a good sized bathroom. The shower was great and provided hot water at all times. The room contained all the basics you would expect such as a flat-screen TV, hairdryer etc. plus it even had a fridge!

The staff were great too. They were very friendly and always happy to help, answer any questions or just generally have a chat.

Breakfast is provided everyday. You fill in form and leave it at reception in the evening and the staff ensure it is ready for you when you wake up in the morning. They have a wide selection, ranging from cereal, porridge and fruit, to a full English breakfast. The quality food is average.

The location of the hotel isn't great. There are pubs nearby but they are not the nicest of pubs. The local roads and villages aren't exactly picturesque and are quite drab and grey. If you're only staying here to drive to Durham (only 15 mins away) or another nearby town then it is great but if you want to stay in a nice country village then I would looking for another B&B.

Another note is that although the B&B claimed to offer wi-fi, we were not able to pick up the signal throughout our stay.

All in all, this is a nice guesthouse. We stayed here as we booked last minute and this was one of the only places available. If I was staying in the area again though, I would try to find somewhere in a nicer setting.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne&wear
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

The best guest house we have stayed in for a very long time friendly, informal , and very very clean . Then when morning comes a breakfast to die for . Local pubs with excellent food 2mins walk away . What more can i say other than we shall be back very very soon

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewickerman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Great location, lovely countryside and within a few minutes walk to 4 pubs! Our party took up 7 rooms and all were very nice. How many b&b's or hotels do you get a fridge in the room? The breakfast was probably the best i've had and will keep you going for the rest of the day. Excellent service, very nice people. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itwgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Right from the start, when i phoned to book, everyone was helpful and friendly. On arrival at Highview, my boyfriend and I were not disappointed: Jayne welcomed us warmly, and explained everything carefully; she was so willing to make sure that our stay there was as pleasant as possible, even to the extent of providing us with copies of menus from the local restaurants/pubs and phoning to find out which ones were still serving food at that time. Our room was spotlessly clean and of a good size, and we heard very little sound from other guests - and certainly no noise of traffic. The location is so peaceful and although near the countryside, is still close enough for the town of Durham to be about 10 mins drive away. We were requested to order our breakfasts the previous evening, so that in the morning the hot food could be brought to us freshly cooked. Overall, this was a most pleasant stay with delightful and friendly staff - a very high quality guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryhill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Thomas Wright House
Thomas Wright House
#1 of 1 in Byers Green
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Highview Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Country House

Property: Highview Country House
Address: Kirk Merrington, DL16, Spennymoor DL16 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Highview Country House Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing