We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Highview Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spennymoor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highview Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Spennymoor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here for a few nights when my daughter graduated from Durham university.

Great B&B, in a quiet location, an easy drive into Durham.

The breakfast was very good, and it even included fresh fruit salad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonni2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

A small 4 star guest house situated on quiet lane. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the owners helpful and friendly. The freshly cooked breakfast was tasty. Restaurants can be found in the village, which isn't too far away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed for just 1 night. The bedroom was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bedding,towels and curtains all looked new. The fridge in the room was a nice, with fresh milk for the tea/coffee provided. My only slight problem was that I couldn't adjust the height of the shower head due to how the shower had been fitted, but this was no big deal. Full English breakfast was excellent. The owner and staff were very friendly. A good location for visiting Durham. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed for one night as we needed to be in Durham for our sons graduation early the next day. We were welcomed at the door and given a tour of our room with everyting explained. The room was spacious and comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfast was fantastic and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we stayed 3 nights and the service was very good,the room was great clean and well set out and the breakfast was very good, top people great place,thank you for a very nice stay if we get back to the uk and are up north again thats the place to stay john cannon

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

living social deal-2 night stay. Smashing place, friendly staff/owners, clean and comfortable rooms. Great food-had full english on morning one and muffin with scrambled egg and bacon day two-both faultless.

Old building, sobedroom floors are very creaky (well ours was in room 6) and was wary of moving around in case we disturbed other residents but did not hear other residents moving around so maybe i was being over cautious!

Place is for sale and if I had the money I would buy, lots of character and nice village location that is handy for Durham etc. Four pubs within walking distance, one of which does good food (The Village Inn).

Room Tip: Think they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plushdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is more a boutique, designer hotel rather than a guesthouse. I have stayed in 5* hotels that were less luxurious!!! Everything exuded quality, good taste and class; from the fixtures and fittings in the room to the immaculate up market, top of the range ensuite.The towels were snow white , large and fluffy. The room was extremely well appointed, with flat screen television, fridge,tea and cofee making facilities and a hairdryer.

The breakfast was excellent. You had to choose from an extensive menu, including vegetarian options the night before. There was a range of cereals and yogurts; homemade fresh fruit salad, including strawberries, melon, watermelon and fresh cherries. Coffee was served in an individual cafetiere. The real butter was in an individual, covered, ceramic pot ,not those horrible, individual, unopenable, tinfoil containers, There was a good selection of jams and preserves, including homemade lemoncheese. The cooked breakfast was hot,delicious and beautifully presented.
The property is in a prime location for visiting the local attractions, is quiet, rural and with stunning views. The owners and staff are warm,friendly and welcoming, without being intrusive.

I thoroughly recommend this country house;it is a little jem!!

Room Tip: I had room three, on the ground floor at the back. Large, quiet and with no stairs to climb,ideal fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindajane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Highview Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Country House

Address: Kirk Merrington, DL16, Spennymoor DL16 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Spennymoor
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Highview Country House Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing