We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recent trip to spennymoor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highview Country House

Highview Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spennymoor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highview Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Spennymoor B&B and Inns
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“recent trip to spennymoor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Exceptionally clean, lovely friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast would definitely like to stay again and would strongly recommend this very peaceful house for a stay. A good point was the residents lounge

|Barbara P.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here for a few nights when my daughter graduated from Durham university.

Great B&B, in a quiet location, an easy drive into Durham.

The breakfast was very good, and it even included fresh fruit salad.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonni2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

A small 4 star guest house situated on quiet lane. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the owners helpful and friendly. The freshly cooked breakfast was tasty. Restaurants can be found in the village, which isn't too far away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed for just 1 night. The bedroom was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bedding,towels and curtains all looked new. The fridge in the room was a nice, with fresh milk for the tea/coffee provided. My only slight problem was that I couldn't adjust the height of the shower head due to how the shower had been fitted, but this was no big deal. Full English breakfast was excellent. The owner and staff were very friendly. A good location for visiting Durham. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed for one night as we needed to be in Durham for our sons graduation early the next day. We were welcomed at the door and given a tour of our room with everyting explained. The room was spacious and comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfast was fantastic and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

we stayed 3 nights and the service was very good,the room was great clean and well set out and the breakfast was very good, top people great place,thank you for a very nice stay if we get back to the uk and are up north again thats the place to stay john cannon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

living social deal-2 night stay. Smashing place, friendly staff/owners, clean and comfortable rooms. Great food-had full english on morning one and muffin with scrambled egg and bacon day two-both faultless.

Old building, sobedroom floors are very creaky (well ours was in room 6) and was wary of moving around in case we disturbed other residents but did not hear other residents moving around so maybe i was being over cautious!

Place is for sale and if I had the money I would buy, lots of character and nice village location that is handy for Durham etc. Four pubs within walking distance, one of which does good food (The Village Inn).

Room Tip: Think they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plushdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Thomas Wright House
Thomas Wright House
#1 of 2 in Spennymoor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Highview Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Country House

Property: Highview Country House
Address: Kirk Merrington, DL16, Spennymoor DL16 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Highview Country House Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing