We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Return trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Whitworth Hall once again met all my expectations!!...
The hotel itself is in of a bit of up dating but overall it was a great trip.
The staff are great, they are so helpful and caring. Jackie and Carol are that best front desk ppl there are. The food was wonderful and the serving staff were great. The hotel is kept very clean and the cleaning staff are great as well.
I"m so happy to have found this place.
The deer are so peaceful to watch and make it an overall wonderful experience.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    192
    62
    17
    13
See reviews for
124
344
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for just one night whilst visiting friends in the area, but wished we could have stayed longer. It's just the nicest Best Western Hotel we have ever stayed in set in a lovely Country Park. The room was spotless as was everywhere in the hotel. We would definately recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Wow - I have never seen so many deer! And never so many from a bedroom window. The hotel really is in a spectacular spot. I planned to walk over to the pub/restuarant but it was raining heavily. My room was large and comfortable with free high speed internet (via a network cable not wireless). The shower wasn't very powerful but the water was warm enough. My only real disappointment was with the restaurant. My fish and chips were extremely disappointing the flesh of the fish being less than a centimeter in depth and it all tasting like the oil was just a bit old. I was in the North East - I had high expectaitions! I was so tired I didn't make a fuss - I expect they would have been very apologetic but it shouldn't have been like that - my cheeseboard was very good.

I only had coffee and toast at breakfast - they were fine.I agree with a previous comment that some of the staff could do with some training. I also thought the main bar area needed a bit more fresh air running through it. - it was a bit stuffy [OK - smelly]

So in summary my room was good with a spectacular view and, although the hotel is not perfect, with deals starting at £55 B&B I have to say that this is really a very good value hotel to stay at - certainly considering its surroundings. I think I'll return and hopefully see an improvement in the food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visiting_This_Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions whilst working in Durham and it is a hotel I very much look forward to visiting. Sometimes I get fantastic four poster rooms with wonderful views over the deerpark and gardens. There are places to sit outside for a drink and to eat if its a warm evening and there are several options for eating in the evening. I just wish they did a cheaper continental style breakfast as I dont usually want a big cooked breakfast every work morning but £13 for orange juice, coffee and toast is a bit steep . The staff are very friendly and helpful, volunteering information and tips which is always welcome - you do actually believe they care that you have a good stay with them. I would intend to go back with my family in the near future as the children would love feeding the deer and exploring the grounds - there is a lake and lakeside pub and restaurant and (I think) a children play area just inside the entrance. The internet is free, unresricted and connecting is completely hassle free - a big relief after the hoops you have to jump through at some hotels to get online.

Room Tip: Smile and ask nicely?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mytholmroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I booked this hotel for a 1 nights stay for my wife's birthday present or part of.
We found the hotel very easy after a short visit to near by Durham on Sat 30-7-2011.
As we arrived on the grounds we were suprised to see Heards of Deer running around (behind a fence), Wow this was nice.
Then we checked in & went to the room No 1.
Well it was everything that it said on the Tin as they say.
My wife was well pleased with the room and the flowers that I had arranged for her upon arrival at the the room.
Evening dinner was GREAT, drinks a bit pricey food Excellent.
Breakfast was ample.............

Don't delay book a stay......

Room Tip: Look nat the web site's rooms, ask for what you require, we got what I'd asked for.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonytaylor_477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed here on business. Normally travel by car from Nottingham and stay in Newcastle centre overnight. However decided to choose a hotel further out to cut down on my journey, then drive into Newcastle the next day for work. Whitworth Hall is a lovely hotel, set in a beautiful setting, and is just off the A1. Staff were friendly, and efficient. Room was large, clean and well appointed. Bar food was really well prepared and tasty, and not too pricey. Free WiFi with a strong connection.
Definitely do this again, and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrownrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Wonderful buildings and grounds are a feature of the stay.
Dinner was very good value for money and is worthwhile including in your package. We were spoilt for choice on our two night stay. Staff are wonderful.
This was our second visit and on both occasions the bar has run out of its real ale.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WGRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
7.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Address: Whitworth Hall Country Park | Stanners Lane, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitworth Hall is a 29 bedroom hotel offering relaxation and tranquility with views over the deer park and local countryside. The Library restaurant serves evening meals from 6pm whilst our Brasserie is open from 12 noon daily. The hotel serves a very popular afternoon tea every day either in the Garden Room or the Lounge Bar, if you are fortunate with the weather you can even sit on the patio or lawns for afternoon tea or a nice Pimms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel Spennymoor
Best Western Hotel Durham
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing