We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 November 2013

just returned from a 2 night "honeymoon" at this gem of a hotel. the room we had (room 4) was fantastic. comfortable, warm, welcoming. the staff all friendly & chatty. afternoon tea, spot on. breakfast the same. Only complaint was that the public areas are a tad cold, need to turn radiators on. we are hoping to return in the summer when we can see everything at its bes

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adiekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Was at this hotel for a wedding do, which was great, could not fault the staff, everyone of them were friendly happy people considering this hotels current position, well done to you all. BUT.....I can't say that I was impressed with the room we had. I know its an old building but the rooms have to be fresh feeling at least, not aged, dusty and dated. The hotel in parts is nice but the rooms let it down. I paid £95 for deluxe double room with breakfast and I have had far superior rooms for half the price. Breakfast was nothing to shout about,would have preferred a hot buffet style instead of plated. The whole set up seemed dated to me and really needs a facelift. This could be a great hotel in great location if some money was spent on it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonguewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Thanks Terence and John for the world's best sarnies. And to Gina for the world's best service!

Great hotel, great value. A very relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Plenty of things to see and do. The staff are very friendly and make the difference between a good hotel and a great one. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Hidden away on a long country road this hotel is well worth the drive and is situated perfectly for easy access to Durham city.

From the moment that you drive into the grounds passed the wooded deer park you know from the excellent presentation that your stay is going to be as great as the photos suggest.

Upon arrival we were pleasently greeted by the helpful reception manager Miranda who promptly ensured we were checked in and had our cases taken to the room.

We booked room four for seven nights and we were not dissapointed. The room has a panoramic view of the deer park and really is stunning. We will insist on this room on our return.

After we checked in we came downstairs and relaxed in the quaint bar area which is very cosy and comfortable indeed. Steve, the Bar supervisor was most helpful and provided a seamless service.

The menus give a good variety and are reasonably priced. The wine was served ice cold and was just what we needed after a long day at the office.

Our orders for the evening meal were taken and we were then escorted to the restaurant by the friendly Gina, who couldn't do enough to help. The Libary restaurant having undergone recent refurbishment provided an elegant setting for what turned out to be a throughly enjoyable evening.

The food was delicious and hot and the steak presented exactly how we had asked for. Too many restaurants overcook steak but we asked for it blue which is how it was served. Compliments go to the Chef.

Following our meal we decided to return to the lounge bar which had plumped cushions and a waiter who was ready to serve a further round of wine and we then ordered a cheeseboard before retiring to our room for the evening.

The following morning we were greeted with a smile by Elizabeth the General manager who enquired about our stay.

Breakfast was as scrumptious as dinner the evening before and was hot and plentiful. The coffee was aromatic and strong just how I like it.

Subsequent evenings were just as enjoyable and the reception staff were more than pleased to give us hints about what to do in Durham. Durham cathedral is a must see.

This hotel is under rated at three stars. The deer park which comes complete with Red and Fallow deer aswell as ducks is well worth exploration and that alone makes this hotel worth the visit. Deer and duck food is available from reception and deer are friendly enough to be hand fed.

We will definately be returning.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bohemian_L7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A beautiful building in a beautiful location.. A lake, a deer park and some pleasant walks will put an edge to your appetite,
The food was tasty and presented nicely and the staff were helpful..
The room was clean and a good size with a good quality bathroom (the shower head was a little low for my 6' and the water didn't exactly "gush", but it did the job)
All in all a very pleasant stay and I will be happy to stay here again.
Trust in your sat-nav, but be ready to turn off the main road when you see the signpost for the hotel, rather than wait for your sat-nav to tell you to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have had the great pleasure of staying in this wonderful location, which has a deer farm in the grounds of the hotel. My stay here was on business, for 6 days, whilst working night shifts. very quiet and peaceful for resting, and did not get disturbed at any time whilst sleeping during the day, which in hotels today is a rarity. The rooms are of a good standard, but as previously commented, bathroom was a bit tired.
The main thing that makes this hotel stand out more than any other I have stayed in is the staff. From the time of booking in, to the time of leaving, you are made to feel part of a family. There wasn`t a single thing that was asked for, they could not achieve. Special mentions deservedly go to Peter and John, who run the night duties, Steve our friendly daytime barman, and not forgetting Gary, our early morning chef who produced some stunning breakfasts.All of the staff from house keeping to the managers I met were brilliant, and quite happy to stop and have a chat, as you are the guest and they make you feel welcome.
For food, you will have your tastebuds tickled with some excellent meals to be had here, with flavours from all around the world, with their themed menus.
If this hotel closes it will be a travesty, as hotels with this level of service are special. I would happily return to this hotel if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAJB606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
7.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,364 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
9.9 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,178 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
922 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel

Address: Whitworth Hall Country Park | Spennymoor, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Price Range: £51 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitworth Hall is a 29 bedroom hotel offering relaxation and tranquility with views over the deer park and local countryside. The Library restaurant serves evening meals from 6pm whilst our Brasserie is open from 12 noon daily. The hotel serves a very popular afternoon tea every day either in the Garden Room or the Lounge Bar, if you are fortunate with the weather you can even sit on the patio or lawns for afternoon tea or a nice Pimms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel Spennymoor
Best Western Hotel Durham
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing