We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite its problems it's good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
249 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Despite its problems it's good”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

It was a pity I read about the financial problems here but the new team are making a difference.

Only a brief summary as I have stayed here quite a few times before and to me it's still good. Rooms are good, up stairs in the older part of the hotel the rooms are larger and a little bit more like suites. The rooms downstairs are still good but the views are more limiting as the face the car park or back of the building. If you want to wake up and look out over the deer park ask for a front upstairs room.
Food is very good and enjoy the cooked breakfast, it's really good and cooked fresh.

Room Tip: Front and upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwitterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    207
    67
    21
    13
See reviews for
129
375
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Got a really really cheap deal on groupon which made the stay extra sweet. The rooms were great spacious, clean, comfy bed and all the facilities you need. Our room was on the ground floor and looked out onto a little woodland dene which you could walk through by a pretty little church. The only reason I haven't rated it excellent was that the walls of the room were very thin and we could hear the couple in the next room's conversation, as it happens it didn't spoil our stay as they didn't stay up later or get up earlier than us but I would have thought on a quiet weekend in January the staff would have thought not to put people in rooms next to each other. The breakfast was good, lots of choice but by far the best thing for me was the setting, lovely parkland with a huge ornamental lake filled with deer, I just kept buying deer food from reception loved hand feeding them so friendly - even named a few. If you see a deal on groupon definitely go for it or if you have have reason to stay in the area pick here- Im not sure what normal prices are like

Room Tip: we had room 20, rooms 19 to at least 22 have a woodland dene view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Grounds - deer park plus sheep and various ducks on lake and roaming in the grounds.
Accomodation- various grades of rooms - we enjoyed a heavy draped room overlooking the deer park. Smart,warm and clean. Serviced daily.
Beautiful public rooms - dining in the Library, Garden Room and Brasserie. Relaxing in Lounge.
Food - small quality menu with sizable portions, well cooked and presented. Discrete but attentive service. Large breakfast selection well cooked. Dissapointed with Afternoon Tea - catering butter pats supplied (unlike shaped pats we had at other times) and a cake selection of a marble sponge cake, coconut and lemon cake and chocolate brownie cake. Variation required such as pastries or eclair

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the whitworth hall hotel twice in 2 weeks, due to previously purchasing 2 vouchers from KGB that were about to expire, and thought we'd better get used :) The hotel was easier to find than I thought it might be, though we arrived in the dark, and the sign pointing to the hotel is quite easy to miss. First impressions definitely do not disappoint- the drive and approach to the hotel is beautiful. We saw deer and rabbits around as we parked the car. The Hotel looked stunning lit up at night.
Beautiful reception area, with decor a mix of original features of this beautiful building and contemporary style. Lovely friendly and helpful lady on reception. Our room was newly renovated, and identical to the one shown on the hotels website. We ate in the restaurant the first night, service excellent, food excellent. The staff are all wonderful, helpful and friendly. We were only 5 miles from Durham, with it's Cathedral and great choice of shops. My daughter loved feeding the deer at the Hotel. (Deer food is available at reception) Had a wonderful walk around the Hotel grounds and Gardens. Will definitely return here, and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We found this hotel to be an absolute delight from the setting in the deer park must return in summer to see the hotel and surrounds in all there glory. The staff were very attentive and helpful the rooms clean and beds comfortable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed in a modern room with king size bed. All expectations of quality,comfort,cleanliness and service were either met or exceeded. Enjoyed our
Dinner and breakfast experience. Friendly smart staff. Very small negative observation was that the public areas were not very warm. Enjoyed stay very much and hope to visit again later in the year and have a walk in the deer park.


  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckylou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here on a KGB deal. The room was delightful, clean and well serviced. The staff in reception, at breakfast and for dinner were helpful, enthusiastic and could not do enough. The restaurant staff were exceptionally helpful! We ate in the Library restaurant but from the Brasserie menu! which is cheaper. They do a special which was first class. The hotel is a former country house and set in pleasant grounds with a lot of deer close by. Although the grounds were soggy and in winter mode it is a very nice walk to go around the hotel and see the grounds and local church [sadly locked these days]. The steak for one evening meal was perfectly cooked and presented. The choices at breakfast were excellent and enjoyable. Hope to come again soon as it is so convenient for Durham and the National Railway museum at Shildon.

Well done, staff and Best Western!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
7.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,107 reviews
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Address: Whitworth Hall Country Park | Spennymoor, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitworth Hall is a 29 bedroom hotel offering relaxation and tranquility with views over the deer park and local countryside. The Library restaurant serves evening meals from 6pm whilst our Brasserie is open from 12 noon daily. The hotel serves a very popular afternoon tea every day either in the Garden Room or the Lounge Bar, if you are fortunate with the weather you can even sit on the patio or lawns for afternoon tea or a nice Pimms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel Spennymoor
Best Western Hotel Durham
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing