We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in a beautiful location outside Durham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a beautiful location outside Durham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Not your usual Best Western, but a lovely old house, set in a beautiful deer park. Spacious , clean and comfortable room, with real character and fabulous view. Quiet but handy for Durham. Good breakfast, good choice. Hard to beat in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    192
    62
    17
    13
See reviews for
124
344
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break and from the minute we walked into Whitworth hall hotel we knew we were somewhere special. We were welcomed by Jackie on reception and given the key to our beautiful room which had fabulous views over the grounds which have deer wandering freely. The grounds with the lake are really fabulous. We bought a bag of deer food from reception for £1.00 and had a great time feeding the deer who are really friendly. Talking of food, the food at Whitwort hall is really exceptional. We had Sunday lunch there and two breakfasts and two evening meals all of which were outstanding. The service was friendly and efficient all overseen by Steve who recognises the simple fact that if you give the customer what they want they will return time after time. The hotel is managed overall by a lady called Lizzie who's friendly"can do"attitude is reflected throughout the hotel. Would we go again? Yes definately, our stay of two nights was not long enough. Whitworth hall is a gem set in a beautiful frame.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there would be a room to avoid at Whitworth hall but if there was a problem I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautiful hotel with super grounds really friendly staff who would do anything to make your stay a pleasant one thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at Whitworth Hall Hotel and would definitely stay there again.Feeding the deer is a must.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitworth Hall B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you Sarah S for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed celebrating your birthday with us and look forward to you returning in the future.

Regards, Elizabeth Malpas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had a really nice break in May.Although we were a party of 20,the friendly staff were attentive to all our requirements. Particularly praiseworthy was the head waiter who went out of his way to please and help.The grounds and gardens are beautiful and the deer and ducks cute. Would thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: ?dont know?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitworth Hall B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
BRLEA,
Thank you for the lovely review! I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and found the staff to be attentive and friendly. We very much hope to see you again in the future.
Regards, Elizabeth Malpas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

After attending a wedding here a couple of years ago and having a pretty terrible experience I decided to try it out again after hearing that the hotel had been taken over recently. I booked on the morning and the receptionist was polite enough. When I got to the hotel we were directed to the garden room, after taking a wrong turning from being given the wrong directions a lady took our order in the middle of the corridor, I actually thought she was a maid judging by her uniform. On entering the garden room it looked more like a breakfast room. There was a table next to us with dirty crockery on it. We took our seats in the window and couldn't help but notice the cracked paintwork on the frames and the dirt on the Windows. Our table also had marks on from not being wiped properly. The room is clearly in need of an update.

Our tea arrived with no hot water and a chip on the teapot, despite having a tray the table next to us still remained unrelated. We didn't wait too long for our afternoon tea, I appreciate the price of £9.95 was very cheap for an afternoon tea but I honestly would not have paid more. The sandwiches were basic and the bread was cheap and stale around the sides. The scones very lovely but the cream was a bit strange and very bland. Cakes served were coconut, which was clearly frozen and had been defrosted as it was warm and a bakewell slice which was dry and stale. The profiterole was filled with cheap sweet canned cream and there was some kind of fruit coulis topped with cream in a glass. Overall it was a huge disappointment. But at the price I was not surprised.

I don't usually leave bad reviews but I actually manage a 4 star hotel myself so I expect a certain standard of service and cleanliness of which this place struggles with both. I appreciate a lot of work is being made to improve this hotel but I feel it will take a lot more than the appearance to do this. When I made payment I wasn't even asked if I had enjoyed my afternoon, and there were the same dirty glasses still sat on the bar as when we had arrived. It was a treat for my grandmother which I didn't particularly find that much of a treat. There are plenty of better places locally to go instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LL8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitworth Hall B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
LL8688,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel for afternoon tea.
I am both concerned to read your comments and also very sorry that it was not to our usual standard on this occasion.
I would like to be given the opportunity to investigate this further and therefore would appreciate an email detailing time and date of your visit to enable me to do this. My email address is liz@whitworthhall.co.uk
Best Regards, Elizabeth Malpas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Comfortable hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Decor could do with freshening up but there is a plan of planned Improvements on display in the lobby so presumably this is being addressed. Breakfast adequate if not exciting.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LMK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitworth Hall B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
LMK63,
Thank you for your lovely comments. The investment being made is to both the interior and exterior of the hotel and therefore you will see major updates and improvements on a return visit.

Regards, Elizabeth Malpas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Have not stayed here overnight but have had the Sunday lunch a couple of times. The homemade soup was lovely as was the beef with the huge Yorkshire pudding, could of done with a bit more gravy on the plate, but we asked for extra which was fine. Was a bit disappointed with my dessert as it said custard was homemade, but it wasn't as it didn't have any vanilla pods in it. But apart from that it was ok

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lovefoodcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitworth Hall B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Lovefoodcouple,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and in particular the Sunday Lunch. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our head chef.

Regards, Elizabeth Malpas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
7.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Address: Whitworth Hall Country Park | Stanners Lane, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitworth Hall is a 29 bedroom hotel offering relaxation and tranquility with views over the deer park and local countryside. The Library restaurant serves evening meals from 6pm whilst our Brasserie is open from 12 noon daily. The hotel serves a very popular afternoon tea every day either in the Garden Room or the Lounge Bar, if you are fortunate with the weather you can even sit on the patio or lawns for afternoon tea or a nice Pimms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel Spennymoor
Best Western Hotel Durham
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing