We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasnat hotel set in superb grounds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pleasnat hotel set in superb grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Yes some parts of the hotel is getting a little worn and dated- some of the carpeting is frayed- but the bedroom was clean and comfortable. Staff were efficient and friendly. The fodo in the brasserie was well cooked, varied menu and waiting staff attentive and hard working. Hotel set in the most amazing deer park. Once the hotels upgrading programme has been completed it will be fabulous. Would definately stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank kim_samuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    192
    62
    17
    13
See reviews for
124
344
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here the night after attending a wedding where the reception was held - we were very impressed with our stay! As a venue for a wedding reception it was beautiful and staff were so helpful and polite - grounds are stunning with the deer park and they are so tame they're happy to come over and let u stroke them (suitable for children - we had a 1 year old with us that loved stroking 'bambi') food was delicious - a 3 course meal of soup, roast beef dinner and strawberry cheesecake all that was served quickly and well prepared and organised. Our double room was perfect and we had a beautiful view overlooking the deer park, it was extremely clean and comfortable. The room cost £100 and included a breakfast that's usually £12.95 (prices may vary however - unsure if this was a discounted price as we were with the wedding) I think £100 was extremely reasonable given the service and experience we had here - I've paid more money at hotels that aren't no where near as decent as this. I would highly recommend staying here or even coming along to experience the deer park and see the beautiful grounds or try out the restaurant (I skimmed the menu - it seemed a bit pricey but looked like top notch grub so guessing you get what you pay for) I also recommend it to anyone considering it as a wedding venue as everything went so smoothly (just what u want on your wedding day) and again the entire place and grounds are gorgeous. Very pleased with our stay and would happily stop there again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel_h105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed as part of a travel deal, excellent value. The staff are welcoming and a special mention to Lal for his very attentive and helpful service. Stayed in a lovely room over looking the deer park. Yes there are little flaws but only what you would expect in an old building - low water pressure with a temperamental shower, just have a bath, difficulty controlling the room temperature, open the window. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. The food was lovely and although they do not have a special menu for dietary requirements the chef will adapt whatever you fancy from the standard menus. I can highly recommend the smoked haddock for breakfast. A big thank you to all the staff for a lovely weekend break. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at The Whitworth hotel on a travel deal. It is situated in quiet country park, with deer roaming the surrounding area. Unfortunately we did not get to sample the obvious wonderful walks nearby due to the rain.
This did not spoil our stay due to the fact that the hotel is one of the best Best Western hotels we have stayed in, with wonderful rooms, great food at a reasonable price, very friendly helpful staff, and in a great location to visit Durham, Beamish, and other nearby attractions and surrounding area.
We had breakfasts and evening meals in the wonderful romantic Library restaurant. All meals were very well cooked, tasty, and well presented. Please beware that the free bread, olives, and oils may fill you up before your starters and main. A nice touch, and pleasant surprise.
The one member of staff I would like to praise above all others is Lal, 'the little Indian waiter' as he describes himself. What a very helpful, attentive, and friendly gentlemen. His service to customers is second to none, and a credit to himself, and the hotel.
Despite the great review, there is a downside to this hotel I'm afraid. We were in room 20 after requesting to stay in a quiter part of the hotel. The major problem for us was the thickness of the walls between rooms. We could hear, without much effort, every conversation, ablution, snoring, and TV noise in rooms 19 and 21. Hence the low marks for poor sleep quality. The bedrooms, and beds are very comfy and spacious, but a good night sleep was ruined by the noise from next door. And we are not light sleepers, and intolerant of bedroom noise. It was the only downside to a great few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uzinsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Really lovely place to stay. Very peaceful surroundings, enchanting deer park! Very clean, lovely breakfast and really friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble! Stayed twice and will definitely be staying again. A great base for exploring Durham!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the deer park. A lovely view to enjoy your early morning cuppa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Not your usual Best Western, but a lovely old house, set in a beautiful deer park. Spacious , clean and comfortable room, with real character and fabulous view. Quiet but handy for Durham. Good breakfast, good choice. Hard to beat in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break and from the minute we walked into Whitworth hall hotel we knew we were somewhere special. We were welcomed by Jackie on reception and given the key to our beautiful room which had fabulous views over the grounds which have deer wandering freely. The grounds with the lake are really fabulous. We bought a bag of deer food from reception for £1.00 and had a great time feeding the deer who are really friendly. Talking of food, the food at Whitwort hall is really exceptional. We had Sunday lunch there and two breakfasts and two evening meals all of which were outstanding. The service was friendly and efficient all overseen by Steve who recognises the simple fact that if you give the customer what they want they will return time after time. The hotel is managed overall by a lady called Lizzie who's friendly"can do"attitude is reflected throughout the hotel. Would we go again? Yes definately, our stay of two nights was not long enough. Whitworth hall is a gem set in a beautiful frame.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there would be a room to avoid at Whitworth hall but if there was a problem I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
7.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Address: Whitworth Hall Country Park | Stanners Lane, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitworth Hall is a 29 bedroom hotel offering relaxation and tranquility with views over the deer park and local countryside. The Library restaurant serves evening meals from 6pm whilst our Brasserie is open from 12 noon daily. The hotel serves a very popular afternoon tea every day either in the Garden Room or the Lounge Bar, if you are fortunate with the weather you can even sit on the patio or lawns for afternoon tea or a nice Pimms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel Spennymoor
Best Western Hotel Durham
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing