We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mini Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just returned from 2 night stay. Hotel was really nice and staff very friendly. Room spacious, clean and deserving a 4 star status. Set in beautiful country park and a lovely place to relax and admire the surroundings not forgetting the deer. In fact would have been happy to spend our two days in and around the hotel.
Would definately love to return very soon.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room which was at the back would have been nice to upgrade to a room overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    192
    62
    17
    13
See reviews for
124
344
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Let me start by saying the hotel is a five star hotel. My husband booked this for me as a birthday present. We had a suite which was absolutely gorgeous. I had a huge room with a four poster bed and as it was my birthday there was a bottle of prosseco upon arrival. He had got the deal which included the evening meal and breakfast. We were told we each had £25 to spend on the evening meal and anything extra we had to pay towards which we thought was a pretty good deal. The food was lovely and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. Breakfast the next day was also of a really high standard. My favourite part was getting to feed the deers! The next morning we headed out into the park and hand fed the deer, they all trot up quite merrily and eat from your hand, it was great! The experience was amazing and I felt a little bit like a princess! I really would have given Whitworth Hall five stars but a few days after we returned home we got a letter saying that we had only stated that the room would have a single occupancy and we had to pay up for the other persons share of the food. My husband was really astounded by this, he had booked for two but unfortunately we had no proof as he had deleted the conformation. I really have no idea why it took them until after we left to realise, my husband had phoned a few days before to arrange the wine as a surprise, the receptionist took both of our names and at dinner they had told us how much we each had to spend yet no one seemed to realise this apparent error. Perhaps more astonishingly is the fact that they thought some one would book a massive suite for themselves and not question anything upon check in. It's a shame really as it left a bit of a cloud over what otherwise would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodgethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is set in a deer park and the grounds are very picturesque. You can walk among the gardens . The hotel has a good lounge and the resturant experience is exceptional. All the staff were very caring and our room was spacious and comfortable. Although a quiet situation you are not far from Durham and other attractions. we would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank GmB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently on a Living Social deal and couldn't fault anything about the place. We upgraded to a superior room, which was very spacious and beautifully appointed, with views over the deer park. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing. The public rooms are lovely and both the dinner and breakfast were excellent ... we were particularly impressed by the presentation of the food. The bottle of red wine that we bought to accompany our dinner was excellent and very reasonably priced. I would particularly like to mention 'Lal' who served us in the Library Restaurant. It was a pleasure to meet him and he, along with the rest of the staff we encountered, are a credit to the hotel. We very much hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked this hotel on a living social deal, and throughly enjoyed it the hotel and surroundings are beautiful with plenty of history. We had a lovely room, it had everything we needed . The food in the library restaurant was lovely and plentiful at both dinner and breakfast. The staff did a lovely job and all of them were pleasant and attentive.

We will definately stay here again in the future :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The bedrooms are very spacious, comfortable beds, tastefully decorated. The breakfast was served in the library room or in a beautiful orangery on the front of the hotel. The hotel has large well kept gardens and patios perfect for a relaxing drink. The hotel is set in a country park full of deer which you can walk amongst and feed. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will have an amazing view of the deer in the country park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Purchases a living social deal for one night stay for 2 with evening meal and breakfast. Only live about 45 mins away but when I seen the reviews I couldn't resist. Me and my mum were not disappointed. Thankyou to all the staff at Whitworth Hall for making our weekend so enjoyable. Perfect location, very relaxing, great accommodation, staff very welcoming and helpful, food fantastic. I do hope the Walled Gardens get reopened very soon. I will be booking again with my daughter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
7.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Address: Whitworth Hall Country Park | Stanners Lane, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitworth Hall is a 29 bedroom hotel offering relaxation and tranquility with views over the deer park and local countryside. The Library restaurant serves evening meals from 6pm whilst our Brasserie is open from 12 noon daily. The hotel serves a very popular afternoon tea every day either in the Garden Room or the Lounge Bar, if you are fortunate with the weather you can even sit on the patio or lawns for afternoon tea or a nice Pimms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel Spennymoor
Best Western Hotel Durham
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing