We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The best of the best western hotels we have been too, smaller in size with the best staff you could wish to be served by from the older to the younger they were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble a hard working team. Breakfast was served the old fashioned way, they took the order and then served a lovely hot plate of food, far superior to the tepid buffet so often served. Evening meal was equally as good an interesting menu and service and presentation was first class, can't say enough about this fab place. The staff wore a traditional black and white uniform which added a more professional feel, even the drinks were reasonably priced. ABSOLUTELY FIRST CLASS. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 26at the end of the corridor, at the back of the hotel, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    194
    62
    17
    13
See reviews for
124
346
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for a two night break at the hotel. We upgraded to a room overlooking the deer park (Well worth £10.00 per night supplement). The room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. There was a choice of restaurants for our evening meal with menus to suite all tastes. Breakfast was served in the Library Restaurant.Again, there was a wide choice of menu. Throughout our stay, every member of staff we met was helpful and made us feel welcome. Before leaving, we went for a walk in the deer park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Whitworth Hall and have no hesitation in recommending it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Upgrade to room overlooking the deer park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueyonderalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Took the little boy to the family fun day event, had a brill time. Lots for him to do. Really well organised event with archery for big and small, my son was a bit shy but the guy Steve knelt down and spoke in kid language to get him to respond - couldn't believe response he got as usually he won't say a word. Well done Steve. Also the falconry was fantastic and really gets the kids involved. Great surroundings within the deer park and a fab day to raise money for charity - well done whitworth hall!!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

All the advantages of a large chain but privately owned hotel in a beautiful surrounding. Deer park in the grounds and country manor accommodation. Formal and informal dining options and a comfortable bar area. Historical location and fantastic views of the countryside.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Derekball57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton In Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I liked what we saw online and were not at all disappointed when we arrived at Whitworth Hall. The whole setting was spectacular. It was also very peaceful. We would most certainly stay here again (hopefully for longer). There is so much to see and do in this part of the country. We enjoyed walking through the country park and feeding the deer. It was a fantastic experience. The deer all seemed to like us! The house was incredible and our room was luxurious with so many items included. We could want for nothing. Our (3 course) dinner plus wine in the Library Restaurant was of a very high standard. I can certainly recommend the Whitworth Hall experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Outlaws_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Whitworth Hall from 6th -8th August as a belated 50 th birthday trip for my partner. He wanted to visit Beamish living museum so we travelled up from Nottingham on 6th spent the day at Beamish then travelled back to the hotel . After check in we were directed to our room which was very nice and spacious although because we were on the ground floor we only had a view of some bushes but I would imagine the upstairs rooms have spectacular views. We ate in the Brasserie and the food and service were both excellent. Breakfast was very good too on both days. The grounds are very beautiful and it is lovely to see all the deer wandering around so close to you. We went into Durham after checking out on the last day and the reception staff were very helpful in directing us to the local park and ride. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit Durham and the north east

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wnd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spennymoor
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
7.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,001 reviews
9.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Address: Whitworth Hall Country Park | Stanners Lane, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Spennymoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitworth Hall is a 29 bedroom hotel offering relaxation and tranquility with views over the deer park and local countryside. The Library restaurant serves evening meals from 6pm whilst our Brasserie is open from 12 noon daily. The hotel serves a very popular afternoon tea every day either in the Garden Room or the Lounge Bar, if you are fortunate with the weather you can even sit on the patio or lawns for afternoon tea or a nice Pimms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel Spennymoor
Best Western Hotel Durham
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel Spennymoor, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing