We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pub/ restaurant”
Review of The Punch Bowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Punch Bowl Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Consett B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub/ restaurant”
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say about the punch bowl It's a great place to stay, this is my second vist and it won't be my last the staff and management are so friendly and helpful, you are made so welcome you don't won't to leave. The food is of a high standard and is sourced locally and the portions sizes are good, they have at least 3 real ales on the go to plus the normal beers/lagers. But the warm welcome of the open fire is lovely after a long hike around the north pennines. So check the punch bowl about. JD

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    30
    8
    11
    7
See reviews for
37
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband went for dinner here and when we walked in the staff were friendly and welcoming we sat down and looked at the menu and selected our meals . I liked the fact they had 2 soup options so we picked broccoli and Stilton which was lovely very filing but nice x we then got our main meals which were lovely too no fault at all . My husband had a HOMEMADE panacotta which was tasty but thought it was bought in as it was really thick and we have never had it this texture before so I was ?? That . Overall really nice and we will go back x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Five of us stayed here overnight on a long distance walk on a Thursday (Pub Quiz night - great fun!) . The Inn has a lovely bar and was very busy. On the night of our visit there was a large shooting party booked into the restaurant so we eat in the bar - not a problem. Breakfast, which was of a very good standard, was taken in the restaurant. The landlord is Chris Brown - a fine fellow. We were walking from Settle to Hadrian's Wall and back and Chris offered to collect us from Blanchland five miles away and transport us to his pub for the night for no charge. He returned us to Blanchland the following day. No accommodation is available in Blanchland so this really helped us out.

The rooms were on the small side (my friend's single was better for space) but adequate. As a result I gave the room rating three out of five. The bed incidentally was very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshirewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaydon on Tyne
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We decided to take a trip out here following a recommendation from a friend for a Sunday Lunch. The restaurant was not unusually busy but there didn't seem to be anyone in complete charge which meant that the service was slow and they got our starters wrong, although this was rectified reasonably quickly.

It was obvious that the Yorkshire puddings had been made for some time as they were very dry and the roast potatoes were also very dry. The general amount of vegetables was bordering on the skimpy, as if they were playing it safe in case they ran out!. My wife had a desert but this was just a reheat in the microwave (I say them put it in !).

All in all, not to the level that anyone should expect and not somewhere that we will be returning to.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlaydonBlunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Cosy and traditional pub with a good selection of ales, set in a beautiful green location; went there on an evening from the nearby YHA Edmundbuyers. They also offer accommodation and home cooked meals; a quiet place with nice ambience

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I travel a lot for work and stay in a lot of generic, chain hotels so for a weekend away with my husband, I opted for something a little more individual and I wasn't disappointed. The website doesn't do the place justice at all, the rooms are clean, modern and extremely comfortable (especially the bed!), the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. We and our dog were made extremely welcome by the owners and staff with lots of helpful tips about where to go and what to do and the location was perfect for walking, the scenery was fantastic - well worth going a little out of the way for. The food and beer were excellent and the whole atmosphere of the pub was very relaxed and welcoming. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

As the Punchbowl is one of only a handful of places selling food late on a Sunday and having eaten there many many times we decided to go last Sunday for a late tea. As usual the place was welcoming and busy.
We got a table, asked about Sunday Lunch of which there was only Turkey left which I had, my partner decided to choose from the blackboard menu which was plentiful. The dish he took a while to decide on was, when asked for, not available which was annoying considering it was still on the blackboard !! As a result he had to settle for an old favourite, Steak & Ale Pie with chips. As expected the pie was fabulous, packed full of tender steak and very tasty..... unfortunately it was accompanied by 'frozen' chips which had no place alongside such wonderful home cooked pie.
We cannot recall ever having frozen chips on previous visits and hope this is just a "blip" and are prepared to give it the benefit of the doubt and revisit.
Any establishment proffessing to serve home cooked food as good as The Punchbowl should be able to serve something as basic as homecooked chips.
Im afraid on this occassion they let themselves down.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerrynMinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Consett
3.7 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
11.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#40 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside
The Burnside
#2 of 11 in Consett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Old Mill Knitsley
The Old Mill Knitsley
#3 of 11 in Consett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.9 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 2 in Slaley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punch Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punch Bowl Inn

Property: The Punch Bowl Inn
Address: Edmundbyers, Consett DH8 9NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Consett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Consett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Punch Bowl Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Punch Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Inn Consett, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing