We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Meal ;-( May 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Punch Bowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Punch Bowl Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Consett B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Meal ;-( May 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Been to the punch bowl many times, as a couple & for large family gatherings & its also always been really really good. However my husband & I went there for a midweek evening meal & I'm afraid to say I could have done better at home very disappointing. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sata251216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Owner at The Punch Bowl Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Very concerned to read of your disappointment. We take pride in trying to provide the best we can at all times but I find it really difficult to correct a problem after the guest has left without passing comment at the time. If comment had been made then I feel certain that we could have gone at least some way to make up for that disappointment.
Having visited 'many times before' and always having enjoyed those occasions I find it sad that we are not allowed any perceived mistake.
Again, if there is a problem, surely it is better to report it at the time so that we are at least given the opportunity to put it right.
I would hope that a one off disappointment should not be an indication of a no return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    30
    8
    11
    7
See reviews for
37
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while cycling the c2c, which is well positioned for that route
Chris and moira can not help you enough
Dinner and breakfast where wonderful and the rooms are quiet and a good standard
Will stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevieWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The pub was warm and welcoming and the food was good...however we were disappointed by the size of the portions. The pub favours a nouvelle cuisine approach to food which put too much emphasis on presentation rather than decent portions. After a day walking, we were very hungry and we came out of the pub thinking we could eat the same again.

We had the chicken korma which was very tasty followed by desert. The apple crumble was tiny and the cheesecake portion very small.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capercaillie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Don't go here whatever you do- it's getting far too popular and I don't want it to get too crowded.
Lovely to find a choice of vegetarian food- and so tasty too.
Mum was raving about her 6h pot roast beef practically melting under her knife as she cut it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Fantantoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

A lovely village with an even better one( Blanchland) nearby and close proximity to the Durham Dales and Hadrians Wall this pub is visited by our group in many different situations. Firstly the ale which is all local is always well kept,In summer there is a pleasant beer garden, the cakes and coffee surpass most cake and coffee shops, and the food is a good standard Couple these points with the proximity of Derwent Reservoir and this place is a winner WE have never stayed here as it is less than an hours drive from home but we have heard good reports

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say about the punch bowl It's a great place to stay, this is my second vist and it won't be my last the staff and management are so friendly and helpful, you are made so welcome you don't won't to leave. The food is of a high standard and is sourced locally and the portions sizes are good, they have at least 3 real ales on the go to plus the normal beers/lagers. But the warm welcome of the open fire is lovely after a long hike around the north pennines. So check the punch bowl about. JD

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband went for dinner here and when we walked in the staff were friendly and welcoming we sat down and looked at the menu and selected our meals . I liked the fact they had 2 soup options so we picked broccoli and Stilton which was lovely very filing but nice x we then got our main meals which were lovely too no fault at all . My husband had a HOMEMADE panacotta which was tasty but thought it was bought in as it was really thick and we have never had it this texture before so I was ?? That . Overall really nice and we will go back x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Consett
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
11.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#41 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside
The Burnside
#2 of 11 in Consett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Old Mill Knitsley
The Old Mill Knitsley
#3 of 11 in Consett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.9 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 2 in Slaley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punch Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punch Bowl Inn

Property: The Punch Bowl Inn
Address: Edmundbyers, Consett DH8 9NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Consett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Consett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Punch Bowl Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Punch Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Inn Consett, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing