We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food at very reasonable prices.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Miners Arms

The Miners Arms
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in Consett
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Midway between the bustle of Newcastle and the history of Durham, in the heart of the Derwent Valley, The Miners Arms in Medomsley is the perfect place to relax, catch up with friends and have a great night out.With a friendly bar, and a relaxing restaurant, there is something for everyone at The Miners Arms. Cosy, warm and welcoming the pub is popular with both locals and visitors to the Derwent Valley.Only 1.25miles from the Derwent Walk (Shotley Station or Ebchester Bank exits) and only 4miles from Chopwell woods, the pub is an ideal stop for hungry cyclists and walkers.Owned and run by Johan Steuckers and Paula Herdman, the Miners Arms offers a range of activities and events throughout the year, including a regular quiz night with complimentary buffet, live music and bar lunches.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at very reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went here after reading the reviews on here and were not disappointed. We arrived slightly early but ordered drinks and the food did not take long to arrive and when it did it was very nice. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    40
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent food at excellent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just visited the Miners arms, Myself, my wife and my eldest daughter. We went on spur ,the moment to treat ourselves to a tea time meal. As it was Monday, they only have the "carvery" available, no other meals. Was I disappointed, not in a million years, the food was beautifully cooked and plentiful. The service was excellent, very welcoming, friendly and efficient, and to finish off the price was very reasonable. Will I go back ?, definitely !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant country pub with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have visited this pub several times and have never been disappointed. Their menu is full of the usual pub grub but they have a specials board with more imaginative dishes and these are invariably excellent. This is a lively pub with a quiz on Tuesday night, which is well attended. There is plenty of parking and internally the pub is very comfortable.
I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Having been to all of the 'usual suspects' around Consett we tried the Miners Arms and enjoyed the best couple of meals we have had in ages, maybe even years.

Lamb casserole was fantastic.

Service and ambience perfect.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

have been coming here for the last 2 years and have seen the prices steadily rise in the same period now the prices are as expensive as a top restaurant after all it is only a pub that sells food albeit good food that's why I've given it only 3 out of 5 if compared with other pubs in the area its way too pricey

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Miners Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Miners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing