We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience”
Review of Tiger Bills Kitchen Consett - CLOSED

Tiger Bills Kitchen Consett
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tiger Bills Kitchen is a casual dining restaurant suitable for Families, couples, parties, private dining, entertaining, corporate clients.We serve Thai Street Food along side American Grill. We are proud to be a local restaurant, and pride ourselves on using the best of local companies. This helps us create the perfect community restaurant. Our dinner menu has all the favourites you'd expect. We also have a children's menu. Our drinks menu has a wide choice of Beers, wines, spirits and cocktails. You can book tables either on our website, or over the phone.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went here as a group of six people, had booked a table, 5 of us went for the fajitas, one a burger with chips, all were good, nice miniature frying pan with the chips in was a nice touch, total cost including tip per couple was £45.00 per couple and that included us having a few drinks each so overall we were very pleased. The room was round so that was a bit unusual, pleasant staff and felt quite nice just chatting away without feeling we had to be on best behaviour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelSouthwood, TigerBillsHQ at Tiger Bills Kitchen Consett, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Tiger Bills and we hope to see you again very soon! Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    100
    37
    31
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could do better, remove the bland.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We tried this for the first time last night. We both ordered Thai food for starter and main. The waitress took our drinks order which was served quite promptly. The food took quite a while to come for a quiet Wednesday night. We were sitting near the kitchen and the food seemed to come fairly quickly on to the pass as did the drinks orders from the bar.
The problem with this establishment is the front of house. The waitresses seemed to be busy enough; there was only a third of the tables with customers. However, the service could be a lot more slick. This could be case of lack of training or management or a combination of both. If it had been busy then the food would have gone cold on the pass. The kitchen seemed to be keeping pace with orders, service could be more attentive. The waitress only knew the menu from the numbers and should know what the dishes taste like. That is down to staff training.
The food was disappointingly westernised bland for Thai. It tasted okay but nothing special. Two starters and mains with fizzy water cost £31.10. This was okay for a quick scran but definitely not an occasion to be remembered. Get the staff some training and manage the front of house. Please remove the bland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sherlock6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelSouthwood, TigerBillsHQ at Tiger Bills Kitchen Consett, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you so much for your honest review and feedback, which you can be sure we will take on board and act on. We only hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we are working hard to get things right so that you can enjoy the food and the service on future visits. Our apologies again for the shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited for the first time today for evening meal, the restaurant was not busy nor very quiet as it is a Tuesday so we didn't book, we were greeted straight away and seated. Our drinks order was taken straight away and brought to us immediately and our food order was taken. Whilst waiting for our food we felt quite disturbed by two little boys approximately 4 & 3 years of age running around the restaurant constantly bumping into the waiter & waitresses and each other whilst the parent sat at the table chatting with others in their party totally oblivious that the children were causing mayhem and bumping into staff that were carrying plates of food including sizzling platters, but what surprised us more was that the staff never asked the parents to keep the children from running around and later were even more surprised when the parent then started chasing the children around the restaurant laughing at them and turning it into a game which the children found highly amusing, still the staff did not ask for the children to be kept at the table.
The food was ok and probably average, the steak was cook perfectly, but the chicken a little over done and the fries warm not hot, my partners had fajita's and said they were 'nice' we were not asked at any stage if everything was ok with the meal.
The bill reflected the food and was not expensive. Having finished the main course we decided to leave and not have a dessert as it was 8pm and the two little boys were still running round without being told.
All in all not a good first experience there, probably would go back at some stage but certainly not in the near future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1963Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelSouthwood, TigerBillsHQ at Tiger Bills Kitchen Consett, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are so sorry that the children you mention were not dealt with in a satisfactory way and that it tarnished your experience of Tiger Bills. We will keep an eye on this, so thank you so much for your feedback. We sincerely hope that you do give us a chance to show you that this is not the norm, nor accpetable, at Tiger Bills. Once again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riding Mill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Return to Tiger Bills”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm seeing reviews on here suggesting service is somewhat "variable" at Tiger Bills. I can't help but agree.

So far on 4 visits the food has been consistent, but what has not been consistent is the time taken between being seated and having your order taken. Drinks arrive quickly, but it was another 25 minutes of the waitresses clearing tables and folding paper napkins before I could catch someones eye to order food. Yes it was 14:30 on a Saturday, but the place wasn't heaving.

The food arrived a reasonable time afterwards and was tasty. Quite a gap in time between starter and main though.

*AGES* to catch someone's eye to pay the bill. Needless to say, no gratuity on this level of service...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davesleermec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelSouthwood, TigerBillsHQ at Tiger Bills Kitchen Consett, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We're so sorry to read about the discrepancies your experienced in service and we will attempt to address these. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will return to visit us to show that we are making every effort to ensure that this does not happen again.

Once again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Soooo slow!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Food not too bad but service terrible! This is a new restaurant , menu has plenty of variety but as I said service was unacceptably slow

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelSouthwood, TigerBillsHQ at Tiger Bills Kitchen Consett, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Ann

We are so sorry that you found the service slow on the night that you visited. We aren't sure exactly when that was (just that it was in April) so we can't work out why. It would be extremely rare not to explain to you the reason for the delay in service on the evening, so we will double check that that happens on evenings when we are busier than we expected to be. Once again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiger Bills Kitchen Consett also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing