We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belfry at Yarcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belfry at Yarcombe
Ranked #1 of 2 Yarcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Different and with character. The owners have made a real effort to make this a comfortable stay with lots of attention to detail. The breakfast is very special indeed. Motor racing enthusiasts can enjoy a fine selection of books to read in the sitting room. This is a converted school so some interestingly shaped rooms.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebelfry01, Owner at The Belfry at Yarcombe, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thank you TimB! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and especially enjoyed Neils selection of motor racing books too. The interesting shaped rooms do sometimes create their own challenges but we love them all being totally different! Thank you for your comment about breakfast...we couldn't do it without the locally sourced produce so are really grateful to our local providers. With best wishes, Sarah-Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    39
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
133
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed for work recently instead of booking into the usual corporate chains and so pleased I did. Would have liked to have stayed longer and sampled more from the menu which was superb and was cooked with skill. Great hosts, comfy bed and superb breakfast too. Shall definitely return when in the area which was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebelfry01, Chef at The Belfry at Yarcombe, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thank you very much JerryT for your lovely review of The Belfry and your breakfast. If ever in the area it would be lovely to see you again. With best wishes, Sarah-Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Just love this place, visited a couple of times and always try to stay in a different room as they are all unique-this time was Wordsworth had a great nights sleep. The pub across the road served good food and we were welcomed with delicious gluten free lemon cake and tea. Dinner on our last night was excellent.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebelfry01, Owner at The Belfry at Yarcombe, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thank you ever so much NaomiR for your lovely review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and tea and cake on arrival! With best wishes, Sarah-Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Some friends recently booked us into The Belfry for a birthday treat and it was fantastic. Our room was clean and spacious and we loved the coffee which made a great difference from freeze dried sachets that are usually provided. Our breakfast was delicious and the hosts were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our night here and hope to return one day to a room with a feature window. We ate at the pub over the road which was great and we can highly recommend this too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mthcmb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebelfry01, Owner at The Belfry at Yarcombe, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thank you Mthcmb88 for your super review of The Belfry. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to maybe seeing you again when in the area. With best wishes, Sarah-Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I chose to stay at the Belfry on the way back home from Dartmoor to break up the journey. I had a quick look online prior to booking but nothing more. I arrived late afternoon to a warm reception. I unloaded my stuff in my room and was then met with coffee and home made cake in the lounge. It really was relaxing and a beautifully decorated hotel.

The village is quiet which was perfect. A few pubs around but a lot are closed on a Monday. I had a great night sleep and caught up on some work with the free wifi network.

The breakfast was top drawer. Just the menu itself was worthy of photographing. Extensive locally sourced meat, fish and veg that tasted every bit as good as the menu described. The best I have tasted.

I would highly recommend a stay at The Belfry. I cannot fault it in any way.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Byron Room. It had everything and more for a stop over. The attention to detail was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed recently for one night before competing at Wiscome Park hill climb. Sarah-Jane and Neil are delightful owners and gave a very genuine warm welcome when I arrived. I had pre-booked dinner (which was excellent and value for money) and also arranged for an early self service breakfast as my departure time the following morning was before the official start time. The room was comfortable and the flavoured popcorn was too tempting to resist. Delicious and well worth the small extra charge. I have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at The Belfry overnight on our way to Exeter.
This hotel is a very old school house and has been converted into a small family run hotel. My husband and son had stayed here before when visiting Exeter University
We arrived late and were given a very warm welcome by the owner.
At the bottom of the staircase is a fridge with juice milk etc. Our room was very comfortable with coffee and tea making facilities, a small flat screen tv and in the wardrobe their were bathrobes. Although the room was compact size it was all we needed for an overnight stay. The en suit was looking rather tired I thought, and I had a bit of a fight with the shower!!!!!! however when I spoke with the owner the next morning she explained that there is an on going refurbishment programme in progress. The view from our room was breathtaking.
The dining room was laid out well with a bar (I believe the hotel serves an evening meal) The Belfry breakfast was all my husband said it was from his previous visit, absolutely delicious and to die for.
We will defiantly stay at The Belfry again and hopefully have one of the refurbished rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarcombe
9.1 mi away
The Pig - at Combe
The Pig - at Combe
#2 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
8.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyhound Country Inn
Greyhound Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenny Bridges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfry at Yarcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfry at Yarcombe

Property: The Belfry at Yarcombe
Address: Main Street, Yarcombe, Honiton EX14 9BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Yarcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yarcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfry at Yarcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our beautiful boutique 4* Restaurant and Rooms hotel set within an historic grade II listed old school built in 1870. With stone mullioned & leaded stained glass windows, fabulous individually designed decor and L’Occitane bathroom products, The Belfry provides the quality & level of service you would normally expect from a much larger hotel. Just off the A303 & close to the dramatic Jurassic Coast and Antiques Galore in Honiton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Belfry at Yarcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfry At Yarcombe Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing