We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't think it would be so good!!!”
Review of THE TREBY ARMS

THE TREBY ARMS
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Plympton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“We didn't think it would be so good!!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our son managed to get a table for the Friday of the Bank Holiday weekend. We found the ambiance excellent. Very professional but welcoming.
The ladies liked the set menu while the men went al la carte.
The starters were excellently presented and delicious.
We expected small portions of fish in white wine batter but they were huge!
The men were also pleased with their main courses - all beautifully presented.
The desserts were another world!
We would thoroughly recommend this restaurant. There are not many places we would return to but this is one we would definitely make another visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    193
    107
    47
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best meal ever”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We visited the treby arms on the 8th of August as a special treat during our holiday, the welcome was warm with about 5 different gins for my husbands per lunch drink, the decor was great and the staff without exception wonderfully knowledgable about the food on offer.
We went for the set.unch, with a minor change to fit in with my vegetarian diet, each course came beautifully presented and the portion sizes were just perfect for lunch.
I don't think I appreciated what properly seasoned food tasted like till I ate this wonderful meal.
10 put of 10 Anton and the team you should all be immensely proud of what you have achieved. Only problem is we live several hundred miles away even so can't wait to return

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yellowbelly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Treats..”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

After being let down by the Miner's Arms, Hemerdon we decided to take our chances and call into the Treby Arms to get a Friday evening meal. We were welcomed with open arms (including our dog!) into the bar area, as the restaurant was fully booked. What an outstanding meal! We both had a starter, a main and a side dish each which was more than enough! Superbly presented food which had so much taste and not overly priced. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A phenomenal set menu”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The food and service were excellent. It is so refreshing to be able to visit a great pub which also serves fantastic food. All the staff were very friendly and had a good knowledge of the food. I eagerly await my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rensihealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
136 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Minor quibbles should not detract from what is an imaginative and fascinating adventure.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have rated it very good and it would be excellent if all the dishes stood up to the promise shown with Anton's signature dessert, the gone carrots dish which is an absolute marvel, served just warm and tasting like a light crumbled cake mix with popping candy.
We have eaten downstairs, but with a table of six this time we were shown to the upstairs restaurant, slightly more formal but a well crafted space with exposed beams and neutral decor enhancing the natural beauty of the loft space.
Dining off the a la carte, everything was good, very very good, but not yet brilliant. Sometimes, in an effort to show off a number of techniques all on one plate things get lost on the way and sometimes it seems to me that it can be better to deal with exquisite ingredients a little more simply. Some dishes were outstanding but others just missed out on each and every detail being right. The skin on the duck breast main was not crispy, the accompanying spinach puree had been applied with a paintbrush, (very modern) but the jail ale carrots were nothing out of the ordinary, the confit garlic had lost its taste and was overpowered by shallots but the hogs pudding had been breadcrumbed and was utterly divine. And that is just one dish. The bream fillet was beautifully presented on a slate but the accompanying crispy squid was not crispy although the beurre blanc was fabulous.
You can not call it hit and miss because the talent shown here far outstrips anything I could cook at home (which is my premise for visiting a restaurant,) and you simply have to admire, appreciate and lap it all up; which we managed to do accompanied by some fine and reasonably priced wines. It was an honour to dine there and we will return, just not with anyone who simply wants a steak.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lobstermadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed THE TREBY ARMS also viewed

 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to THE TREBY ARMS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing