We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will have a hard job finding a better hotel! AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Elizabeth's House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My wife and I got married here in November 2011 and I can only say positive things about this hotel. It's location is ideal in a quiet area of Plympton in Plymouth. It is a family run business and the staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. The food is exceptional and we have visited several times for family birthday meals. As we got married at St Elizabeths we rented all of the hotel bedrooms and all of the ones I looked in were of a very high standard. The honeymoon suite is out of this world! The surrounding gardens and outside seating area are very well looked after as well. Overall it is an excellent hotel and restaurant which I would thoroughly recommend. If you are thinking of getting married in the Plymouth area you will struggle to find a better venue. The lady that organizes weddings at the hotel was excellent and very helpful. The hotel is proving to be one of Plymouth's most popular wedding venues, but it is also a great place to stay if you are visiting Plymouth on a short break as it is only a 10 minute drive into the city centre, and about the same time journey to Dartmoor in the opposite direction. As mentioned earlier it is also an exceptional restaurant to go to if you live in the Plymouth area.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the-hote1-inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for St Elizabeth's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed here for one night on business.
The receptionist was very helpful and efficient. My room was excellent, spotlessly clean and well furnished. Bed was huge and comfortable. Bathroom was large with a 'Slipper' bath and large walk in rain forest shower.
Free wi-fi or wired internet, mini bar, trouser press, hospitality tray, large flat screen tv.
I ate in the restaurant and the food was of a good standard, service was excellent and the prices reasonable. Breakfast was nice, limited choice for continental but good choice of cooked food and was good quality. I really can't fault the hotel. It's a beautiful old building, sympathetically decorated with that 'Boutique' feel, but still cosy and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkinnyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome the staff were so helpful they couldnt do enough for us. Beautifully presented hotel inside and out. our room was spotless looked like a show room! the bath room was amazing! we had a walk in shower with a high top bath over looking the grounds. our evening meal was do die for top quality from presentation to the actual taste... melt in your mouth!!
total upper class hotel would recommend to anyone who doesnt want to travel far but still wants to feel like there not in the city then this is deffinatley the place.
whatever kind of trip your staying for this hotel seems to be able to cater for any need they know exactly how to comply with everyones different needs and type of stay they desire.
would deffinatley stay here over and over again! by far one of plymouths best hotels to stay at.

Room Tip: go for a room with a walk in shower.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

A great stay, the house was brilliant and the staff were great with our toddler.

The showers look great but to be fair the water pressure was not great but the room was huge and the wedding we attended (my brother in laws) was brilliantly delivered by the friendly, helpful and superb staff

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveNelson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I have eaten here before and it was excellent. 6 weeks on we gave it a second try. Things often turn out to be a one off and fail to live up to expectations on a 2nd visit. Pleased to say that this was not the case. First course was better than expected and the main was superb. It was nicely cooked, nicely presented and tasted really good. Oh yes, and there were nice linen napkins, not the paper ones so beloved of many places. The staff are friendly without being intrusive and very pleasant in their manner. That really sums it all up. We will go back again next time we are in the area which will be spring 2012. Let's hope they are still around at that time, as good eating places are hard to find.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hombre74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

What a shame, were kindly invited to dinner by friends who on making the booking informed the hotel that I suffered from coeliac disease. On arrival we reminded the waiter of my illness and he was most attentive and appeared knowledgable as to what I could have from the menu.
The meal ordered, bread was delivered to the table, when I asked for gluten free bread I was told that as all bread was freshly baked at the hotel no gluten free bread was available. I find this unacceptable in this supposed standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paevitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We booked two rooms here as we were attending a wedding at a nearby hotel and were given a very reasonable deal. On booking we were advised that there were parties being held at the hotel on both nights that we were staying but that we would be given rooms as far away as possible from the parties.
When we checked in they were true to their word and we were given two rooms next to each other right at the back. Our two daughters had a room which looked onto the garden and my husband and I had a room which faced onto the road. Both rooms were classed as basic rooms but they were absolutely beautiful, with huge beds , in fact the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The bathrooms were stunning too, with roll top baths and seperate showers. Everything was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed in December and were not disturbed by any road noise . We didn't have dinner in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food but breakfast was good. The interior of the hotel was beautiful; very inkeeping with the age of the house with a mixture of classic and contemporary working well together. A nice touch was the lighting in the corridors by the rooms as they were lit with downlighters set low in the walls which gave a nice ambience rather than bright lighting.
Overall we had a lovely stay and definitely would recommend and would love to return, especially in the spring or summer and be able to use the gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jencatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plympton
1.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
106 reviews
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#2 of 21 in Plymouth
641 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
778 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Elizabeth's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Elizabeth's House

Address: Longbrook Street | St Maurice, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range: £107 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Elizabeth's House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Elizabeth's House in South Devon is a celebration of luxury, style and service. This Devon hotel combines contemporary, state-of-the-art features whilst retaining the Georgian manor's traditional charm. Situated in the historic village of Plympton St Maurice and surrounded by 9 acres of sweeping lawns and beautifully landscaped gardens, St Elizabeth's House offers an idyllic retreat from the stresses of busy lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Elizabeth's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Elizabeth`s House Hotel Plympton
St Elizabeth's House Plympton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing