We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Smithaleigh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed last Friday and I enjoyed everything. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful. Very good food.
There was an electricity issue but due to weather conditions. The staff tried to do everything to make the situation as comfortable as possible.
I will be back...Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    55
    47
    19
    20
See reviews for
53
76
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bodmin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely family get together last night at the smithaleigh hotel tucked away in the Devon countryside nice hotel with comfy beds excellent heating in the bedrooms and plenty of hot water with a nice powerful shower. Ideal for a short break not far from Central plymouth. Check in was easy reception is right ahead of you as you enter the building. We were in their function Room and our buffet was lovely cannot comment on the restaurant as we ate at the buffet. Could do with breakfast times etc and a little local area info in the rooms all in all a nice place .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank traceybodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed many a meal at the smithaleigh, but this was our first time staying there. The welcome was friendly and warm, we were originally offered rm 16 but told it is above the function room which had a band playing last night, so rm 27 was suggested!! We in turn viewed both rooms and took rm 27, which is in the main house.well impressed with the standard, room large, spotlessly clean and very warm. Our meal was excellent, followed by drinks in the warm lounge with friendly staff. Overall the hotel is great value for money, we will certainly return, a big thank you to all the staff who made this birthday special. Lorraine and Bruce Hatherley

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I didn't stay here. But I had booked rooms for my parents and ourselves. Upon my parents arrival and checking in. They went to their room to find it stank of damp, was cold and was really dirty. Needless to stay they checked out right away. If you like a motel style room then fine but we didn't even attempt to check in because of the state of my parents room.

They did offer to move my parents into another room but they felt if they were shown into that room they did not want to see any further. Needless to say we didn't even attempt check in the following night.

Avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rack182013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plympton hotels

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights whilst on a business trip. This proved to be an ideal location for Plympton and Ivybridge - Plymouth centre only 10mins drive. Food excellent, room decent, staff friendly.....all in all, extremely good value for money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DJW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights mid December. Good points - comfortable beds, shower was hot and powerful. Bad points outnumbered the good though. When booking I had asked for a quiet room away from public areas. When we arrived Friday night there was a Xmas party going on but we hadn't been advised even though it was written on booking form. There was one on the Saturday as well. Room given was less than 50m from said parties so kept awake until midnight. We were in the stable block I think (#7 ground floor). Room adequate although no heating on at arrival and no source of heating at all in bathroom. Worse was the complete lack of soundproofing from squeaky floorboards upstairs, every movement clearly heard as were conversations and snoring.
Cooked breakfast was fine if overpriced at £7.95, Continental was £5.50 but these rates not published anywhere. Were not asked if we wanted tea or coffee when seated. Sunday morning there was a lack of kitchen staff which meant waiting nearly 30 mns for bacon & eggs and was still charged the full price.
On checking out was just given the bill, not asked if stay was satisfactory at all.
It was a budget price at £40 prpn so I guess you get what you pay for. Staff were courteous.

Room Tip: I'd go for an upstairs room to avoid squeaky floorboards or possibly a room in the farmhouse bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AH_MK_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had a living social deal for three nights stay including breakfast, it was a good deal - but not what we expected. Feel almost cheated!

When we arrived, it wasn't what we expected! The photo of the hotel room used on their website, and living social site looked lovely, and also the surrounding area. What we got was totally different! The part we stayed in was very old style hotel, iron boards and vacuums in the corridors and door numbers ready to fall off. The room was a nice size, but the wallpaper was ready to peel off, the furniture could have done with some updating, and would have been nice just to have some information in the room about the hotel. I

We had breakfast on the first morning, was OK. But we just wanted to leave. So we left the second day, and lost out on the money for the third night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonsey153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plympton
6.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
7.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smithaleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithaleigh Hotel

Property: The Smithaleigh Hotel
Address: Smithaleigh, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5AX, England (Formerly New Country Inn & Smithaleigh Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smithaleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smithaleigh Hotel is located in the picturesque South Hams area of Devon, just a few miles away from Plymouth. Its secluded location is only a few hundred metres from the main Exeter to Plymouth A38, but is just far enough away from the main road to offer a relaxing and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Smithaleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smithaleigh Hotel Plympton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing