We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Smithaleigh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here on Friday 14th March, 2014, for only one night to meet some friends in Plymouth.
The room was comfortable, not huge, but had tv, kettle, shower etc. and was really all you could ask for and certainly for the price. Heating was more than adequate, beds very comfortable, the room very clean and a good shower with constant hot water.tea/coffee making facilities and even freebies in the bathroom, rare nowadays in an economy type hotel. We did not use the bar or restaurant, but would mention they all looked very nice. Check in was swift and friendly. no complains at all and would definitely stay again. Sufficient car parking also.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I will make sure the team knows how lovely it was for you. I do hope you will come to stay with us again when visiting your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a restaurant review only.
Good restaurant within this hotel. Whilst the hotel itself looks old fashioned and a bit tired, the restaurant is good, well presented food and plentiful.
The staff are also very good, with fast service.
Prices seemed reasonable, although we were on a groupon so price was good.
Seemed a very popular place as the restaurant was full for lunch.
Would visit again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Fantastic! Thanks you so much for the nice review and I hope to see you back in our restaurant real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We visited a few weeks ago on our way to ferry port, as we do two or three times a year and have always enjoyed our visit to the hotel. On this occasion the food was poor quality, not up to its usual standard and the service was very chaotic as no one seemed to know what they were doing. We did not receive the friendly welcome that we normally do and the atmosphere was different, there seems to be a complete change of ownership.

We waited a very long time to be served; it was such a shame as we always look forward to stopping here to eat and waited even longer for the food to arrive.

When we were ready to leave it was a bit of a pain settling the bill as the person didn’t seem to know how to use the card machine properly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

It is such a shame that you did not receive the welcome you are used to and that you indeed should! your observation about management change is spot on and with this there was also high staff turnover in last few months, hence some of the areas like payment processing were not up to the standard. This however has been addressed and now payment processing is smooth and hassle free.
I do hope you will give us another chance to see how much we learned from review such as yours and the improvements we made!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed one night at £39.00 for a double room! Pay for what you get! If you want Hilton pay Hilton prices!! Room was adequate for me to get my head down. Clean bedding, clean towels, hot water and heating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPD71_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro C, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

It is very nice to have positive feedback about our hotel, I will share your comment about cleanliness with our housekeeping team. I'm sure they will be delighted to know they efforts don't go unnoticed by guests.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and not what i expected room ok bathroom shabby was in stable block and the noise from other rooms was terrible staff friendly but checking out was a bit of a pain as no one seem to know how to work the visa machine after all it was cheap so you gets what you pay for but i for one will be looking elsewhere when i return to the area

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro C, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your honest review.
I am sorry that you found the room very noisy, it is a shame you didn't feel comfortable bringing this to our attention during your stay, I'm sure if you had raised this issue we could have found you a quieter room. We are also in process of bedrooms refurbishment to keep our rooms up to the standard.
It has been brought to my attention that some of our new team members are not familiar with our credit card terminal, this has since been addressed and further staff training took place.

I do hope you will re-consider visiting our hotel again and see the improvements we've made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here late February in a lodge type accommodation, room was ok and the bathroom looked as if it had recently been renovated. Reception was friendly and helpful and the dining room was not massive but tasteful, sadly the restaurant prices were higher than my budget would allow so I ate in the Beefeater just 5 minutes away travelling towards Plymouth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just returned from a great romantic stay at this hotel on Valentines Day, everything from the welcome, our rooms and the great food was just perfect. A great place for an afforable break with 5 star service. I would highly recomment this hotel to anyone.

Good work the team at The Smithaleigh hotel.

Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plympton
5.2 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
598 reviews
6.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,082 reviews
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smithaleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithaleigh Hotel

Address: Smithaleigh, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5AX, England (Formerly New Country Inn & Smithaleigh Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smithaleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smithaleigh Hotel is located in the picturesque South Hams area of Devon, just a few miles away from Plymouth. Its secluded location is only a few hundred metres from the main Exeter to Plymouth A38, but is just far enough away from the main road to offer a relaxing and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Smithaleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smithaleigh Hotel Plympton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing