We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good at all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smithaleigh Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Smithaleigh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed one night and paid £54 with breakfast included. After reading the reviews on here we assumed we would be getting a good basic hotel room. From our experience I could only assume people have been leaving reviews for the wrong hotel! Soon as we opened the door we were greeted by filthy carpets (see photo) mud and dirty tracks went up the room. The second thing we noticed was the damp smell. The room didn't feel like it had been stayed in for a while, the air and the bedding all felt cold and damp. This could have been attributed by the woefully fitted windows. Fully closed it sounded like they were open. Pull back the curtains and around the windows it was filthy and gaps around the window let in noise from outside.

Looking around the room one of the corners had moisture coming down the wall, it was damp to touch, because of this the wallpaper was coming away from the wall. There were black spots of mould on areas of the wall and on the bathroom blind. The room wasn't cleaned very well at all, other peoples hairs could also be found in the bed.

It was late, we were tired so we settled down for the night. I have never stayed in such a noisy hotel room in my life. The guests above us wasn't being noisy on purpose but every tiny move caused the ceiling to creak. You could hear them talking and by the time they were asleep you could hear them snoring! I'm so lucky I had brought some earplugs otherwise I would never have got any sleep. In the morning about 6am upstairs phone alarm clock went off for half an hour. BUZZ BUZZ BUZZ from the vibrating phone alarm, it went on for what seemed like an age, this I could hear through ear plugs. The bed was very uncomfortable I later found out in the morning a few of the wooden slats were broken beneath the bed.

The only things that saved this hotel from a 1 star review was the staff were all quite friendly and the breakfast was nice. The rooms are desperate and its a shame because this hotel could be a nice budget stopover but we will be avoiding in the future. In contrast we stayed in a different hotel the next night as part of our trip, we paid exactly the same but it was wonderful. Fully renovated throughout and a proper budget hotel!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here request a 1st floor room to avoid the noise from people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rich210uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel. Everything you described above is definitely not the usual standard we aim to provide in our hotel and clearly not acceptable.
I would love to get some more information from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    55
    46
    19
    20
See reviews for
52
76
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here on Friday 14th March, 2014, for only one night to meet some friends in Plymouth.
The room was comfortable, not huge, but had tv, kettle, shower etc. and was really all you could ask for and certainly for the price. Heating was more than adequate, beds very comfortable, the room very clean and a good shower with constant hot water.tea/coffee making facilities and even freebies in the bathroom, rare nowadays in an economy type hotel. We did not use the bar or restaurant, but would mention they all looked very nice. Check in was swift and friendly. no complains at all and would definitely stay again. Sufficient car parking also.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I will make sure the team knows how lovely it was for you. I do hope you will come to stay with us again when visiting your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is a restaurant review only.
Good restaurant within this hotel. Whilst the hotel itself looks old fashioned and a bit tired, the restaurant is good, well presented food and plentiful.
The staff are also very good, with fast service.
Prices seemed reasonable, although we were on a groupon so price was good.
Seemed a very popular place as the restaurant was full for lunch.
Would visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Fantastic! Thanks you so much for the nice review and I hope to see you back in our restaurant real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We visited a few weeks ago on our way to ferry port, as we do two or three times a year and have always enjoyed our visit to the hotel. On this occasion the food was poor quality, not up to its usual standard and the service was very chaotic as no one seemed to know what they were doing. We did not receive the friendly welcome that we normally do and the atmosphere was different, there seems to be a complete change of ownership.

We waited a very long time to be served; it was such a shame as we always look forward to stopping here to eat and waited even longer for the food to arrive.

When we were ready to leave it was a bit of a pain settling the bill as the person didn’t seem to know how to use the card machine properly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka M, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
It is such a shame that you did not receive the welcome you are used to and that you indeed should! your observation about management change is spot on and with this there was also high staff turnover in last few months, hence some of the areas like payment processing were not up to the standard. This however has been addressed and now payment processing is smooth and hassle free.
I do hope you will give us another chance to see how much we learned from review such as yours and the improvements we made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plympton hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed one night at £39.00 for a double room! Pay for what you get! If you want Hilton pay Hilton prices!! Room was adequate for me to get my head down. Clean bedding, clean towels, hot water and heating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPD71_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro C, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
It is very nice to have positive feedback about our hotel, I will share your comment about cleanliness with our housekeeping team. I'm sure they will be delighted to know they efforts don't go unnoticed by guests.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and not what i expected room ok bathroom shabby was in stable block and the noise from other rooms was terrible staff friendly but checking out was a bit of a pain as no one seem to know how to work the visa machine after all it was cheap so you gets what you pay for but i for one will be looking elsewhere when i return to the area

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro C, Manager at The Smithaleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your honest review.
I am sorry that you found the room very noisy, it is a shame you didn't feel comfortable bringing this to our attention during your stay, I'm sure if you had raised this issue we could have found you a quieter room. We are also in process of bedrooms refurbishment to keep our rooms up to the standard.
It has been brought to my attention that some of our new team members are not familiar with our credit card terminal, this has since been addressed and further staff training took place.

I do hope you will re-consider visiting our hotel again and see the improvements we've made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here late February in a lodge type accommodation, room was ok and the bathroom looked as if it had recently been renovated. Reception was friendly and helpful and the dining room was not massive but tasteful, sadly the restaurant prices were higher than my budget would allow so I ate in the Beefeater just 5 minutes away travelling towards Plymouth.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plympton
6.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
3.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
7.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smithaleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithaleigh Hotel

Property: The Smithaleigh Hotel
Address: Smithaleigh, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5AX, England (Formerly New Country Inn & Smithaleigh Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plympton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smithaleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smithaleigh Hotel is located in the picturesque South Hams area of Devon, just a few miles away from Plymouth. Its secluded location is only a few hundred metres from the main Exeter to Plymouth A38, but is just far enough away from the main road to offer a relaxing and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Smithaleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smithaleigh Hotel Plympton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing