We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dripping in mediocrity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bramhope
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dripping in mediocrity”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed for two nights, 12th and 13th April while attending a nearby wedding.

I quote from the website:

"Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport Hotel offers luxury modern accommodation in the heart of Leeds"
"Dining at the Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport Hotel is a tasty experience offering mouth-watering cuisine made from the freshest ingredients prepared by the professional team of chefs."
"All rooms have a stunning modern décor and offer great amenities to ensure a welcoming atmosphere."

We were only offered one room key despite being a family of 3.

Things got off to a bad start when it became clear that the wi-fi was unuseable in the room. These days good wifi is a basic necessity, not a luxury.

The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever come across, I measured the door to the sink (3") and to the loo (4"). Basically the footprint of the door swing covered most of the floorspace, so you had to manoeuvre into the corner of the bathroom to enter (see photo), a feat that I would imagine most oversize guests would find challenging. Quite an extraordinary design for a purpose built hotel.

There was a warning in the bathroom about the hot towel rail, but guess what? No towel rail (see photo). Water pressure for the shower was poor and the shower itself inadequate. The pillows were as Mr Creosote's waiter would say 'only wa-fer thin"

There appeared to be only one waiter on breakfast duty and it took me some time to attract his attention to secure a pot of tea. I avoided the congealed cooked breakfast offering and the tinned grapefruit in the fruit section and settled for a couple of slices of toast.

When it came to checking out, no one enquired as to the satisfaction of our stay. She seemed just as disinterested when I volunteered some comments anyway.

The damaged and unrepaired hotel sign above the entrance (presumably hit by a bus) and the view from the room of a dilapidated fence, (why would I want to look out on that?), (see photo) seemed to sum up the whole experience. If I might paraphrase the Millwall chant 'No one likes us, we don't care'. 'We are the Britannia and we don't care'.

You couldn't compare it to Fawlty Towers because it wasn't even funny.

This will be my first and last visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barfly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    339
    227
    154
    111
See reviews for
178
429
57
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south devon
Level Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Exterier a bit plain, but this Hotel is well run, clean , has pleasant staff, spotless rooms , and the food very good...remembering this is only a 3 star !

It has a pool , and hot tub, but we didnt use it.

The bedrooms were spotless , and very efficient Air conditioning.

No I could nt fault it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezziedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here recently whilst on a National holiday. The room was fine, bedding and towels were spotless, the carpet was a bit marked but nothing to complain about. The evening meals and breakfasts were some of the best we've experienced in similar hotels. The bar prices were reasonable but there seemed to be a lack of staff around. We had friends come to visit us after our evening meal and we had to clear crockery and glasses from the tables to make room for them.
Our room overlooked a field and it was lovely to see the rabbits grazing around- unfortunately in the snow! take some carrots for them!
A small point but I was impressed that a lovely gentle cat who had a poorly eye was allowed to
get warm in the bar area. I think the staff must feed him as there was a bowl outside the main door. A lovely touch.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and if I were to fly from the local airport it would be my 1st choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia-LBAH, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Marion B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay,

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

With Kind Regards,

James Whitaker
Front of House Manager (On behalf of Britannia Hotels Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-On-Tees Teesside England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I had an park and stay booking with this hotel in February. On arrival I presented my vouchers to the receptionist along with a voucher from hotel extras for a three course meal in the restaurant. Unfortunately the restaurant booking had not gone through although the money had been taken from my bank account. This was not a problem at all and we were immediately boked in for our evening meal and given our room key. The room was well equipped and lovely and clean with plenty of hot water and courtesy toiletries on hand. When we went down to the bar for a drink before dinner we found that it was happy hour! excellent value for money so no complaints there, a pint and a brandy and coke was £4. The restaurant was a carvery and for the price I had paid (£9.99 for three courses) was good value. The beds were comfortable and the taxi transfer arrived on time. Overall a nice cheap hotel offering good value and good service. I will definitely use this hotel next time I fly from Leeds Bradford airport

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charming-inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia-LBAH, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Charming-Inn

Thank you for your positive feedback of your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We try to offer value for money across all our services, whether it be our bedroom rates, food and drink prices, or parking packages.

Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

James Whitaker
Front of House Manager (On behalf of Britannia Hotels Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable room, excellent value with parking for our car while we were in Rome, hotel staff arranged taxi transfer, will definetly use this hotel again, when we fly from leeds bradford.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia-LBAH, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Anne-Marie F,

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and found our park and fly scheme benificial for the start of your holiday,

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

With Kind Regards,

James Whitaker
Front of House Manager (On behalf of Britannia Hotels Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

About what you can expect for a cheap hotel. Tired, outdated and well overdue updating. Bedroom carpet covered in who knows what. Plenty of hot water and bedding clean. Avoided the restaurant. We found the plates of smelly cat food in the reception vestibule particularly unpleasant.
Handy for LBA airport - 5 mins away.
Oh yes, and if you decide to pay by credit card, they have a little surprise waiting for you at checkout... Its their policy apparently - Not mentioned on the booking.com website.

Room Tip: Go to a Travelodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia-LBAH, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear JohnL,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are in the process of revamping our public areas with new furniture and in the past two weeks have had new carpets put down.

I understand your comments with regards to cat food, this is not encouraged by the hotel in any way, however some guests put the food out, pehaps not realising other residents do not appreciate this.

Thank you again for your feedback.

With Kind Regards,

James Whitaker
Front of House Manager (On behalf of Britannia Hotels Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bramhope hotels

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed at hotel as a part of coach / package short break holiday (National) and had a good time at the hotel. Rooms were good (clean / tidy and quite modern) and the food was good. Have stayed in better hotels but overall the value for money and the friendliness of the staff made it a good hotel to stay with. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Entrance on 3rd floor so you go down if staying on floor 1. However, lifts work very well and rarely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia-LBAH, General Manager at Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Roger K,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your feedback to our hard working team here.

Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

With Kind Regards,

James Whitaker
Front of House Manager (On behalf of Britannia Hotels Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramhope
2.4 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
920 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Leeds Bradford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Britannia Leeds Hotel
#70 of 87 in Leeds
780 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#32 of 87 in Leeds
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport

Property: Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
Address: Leeds Road, Bramhope LS16 9JJ, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Leeds - Bradford Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bramhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bramhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport Hotel is a modern hotel, set in 3 acres of beautiful landscaped grounds, offering panoramic views of the surrounding area, including the stunning Yorkshire Dales. The hotel is situated just 2 miles from Leeds Bradford Airport, 8 miles from Leeds city centre and 10 miles from Bradford city centre, making it one of the most conveniently located Leeds Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport Hotel Leeds
Britannia Hotel Leeds
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport Bramhope, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing