We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KGB DEAL”
Review of Healey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Healey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay with 2 course evening meal included. The hotel was very clean, although a little dated. The carpets for instance were a little worn. We were made to feel very very welcome and our room overlooked the garden. The room was excellent. It was clean, spacious, very quiet with all facilities that one expects nowadays. The only negative note is that we appeared to be the only couple in residence. The town of Batley was very disappointing but a fabulous base to explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a cobbled drive surrounded by private housing so would feel that all rooms would be quie...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LymeRegisfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Healey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We took up a Dealcloud weekend offer -- suspiciously cheap, but the description of the hotel on their website looked OK, and it seemed (and was) a good base for exploring the local countryside, Yorkshire Sculpture Park etc. First the good points: friendly and chatty staff & manager, good breakfast, decent evening meal on the Saturday (no dinners on Sunday -- we weren't told that on registration, and the website says, "Each evening, the restaurant serves a carefully created, mouth-watering menu ...").

It also says, "Set in 2.5 acres of beautiful tree lined gardens" -- LOL! The gardens consist of about half a tennis court's size of lawn and bushes, with a few trees at the edges, plus an overgrown, scrubby, uncared-for wooded wilderness of much the same size. The "2.5 acres" must refer to the whole groundplan owned by the hotel, the great bulk of which is occupied by the hotel itself and its car park.

"Wonderful surroundings": that must be the tract of semi-derelict land (presumably a failed building project) between the hotel and the surrounding down-market edge-of-town housing. The website pictures give the feeling of an elegant small country hotel -- the countryside is quite some distance away, alas.

The shower in our bathroom didn't work -- the fault was such that it clearly had not worked for some time -- so we changed rooms after the first morning. The second room was OK, though with creaky floorboards (a feature of the upper storey), but the wardrobe featured a half-empty bottle of vodka and an unused bottle of sports tonic -- so presumably the room-cleaning leaves a little to be desired. The most puzzling feature, though, was a notice in our bathroom -- and presumably in others -- saying that the water was not drinkable! What on earth have they done to the mains supply??!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Evening meal was okay. Staff were helpful. Hotel was good, if a little tired and out of the way. All was going well until woken by really loud soft rock music at 2:15 in the morning. Phoned reception and they immediatly turned the music down.(but you could still hear it). I can only assume the night porter and his friends were having a party. No consideration at all given to guests in rooms above. Very dissapointing and unprofessional after a promising start. Would advise against staying unless you don't require much sleep...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmartin186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

this WILL be a cosy hotel when the refurbishments are done, the bar and dining room are well decorated and pleasant to eat in. the breakfast and evening meals are good. the young lady serving us was very attentive and we felt could go far in the hotel business. putting in a spa bath with thin walls between rooms did not seem a good idea, especially when guests use it at 01.30am, the noise would wake up the ghosts, its a shame so much money is needed to upgrade the other rooms as it all felt and looked very tired. stair carpet being threadbare in places,stained bedroom carpet but there was free internet in the room which is more than you get in the marriot hotel. pleasant garden or it will be once it is landscaped. although surrounded by houses it felt in the country once inside with no road traffic noise.

Room Tip: not next to the spa room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herinspalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband & I have just spent two night as this Hotel. When we book places we never really know what we will get, but this place was amazing. Sadly our journey was to a family funeral, but staying her was a delight. They are in the throws of redecorating. We stayed in the Nightingale Suite it was lovely. We had a four poster bed a large TV chairs desk and a beautiful en-suite the bath was big enough for two.The thing that stood out the most to me was the cleanliness of the Hotel where ever we went. On our first evening the bar was closed as it was being redecorated but drinks were still on sale. The Chef was not in that evening, but Robert who is usually there during the day offered to cook us a meal. We went for the steak dinner, which was discounted but what a meal, I can honestly say its a long time since I had a steak so well cooked and the whole meal was delicious, as was the morning breakfast. The staff what can you say, the nicest people I have met at hotels in a long time. Nothing was to much trouble, they were always pleasant and helpful really friendly. On our last evening we sat in the bar having drinks, the dining room was busy so we just ordered and sat and enjoyed the newly decorated bar. The waiter Abid came and fetched us when our dinner was ready and showed us to our table another good meal. Abid you were excellent at your job and made us feel very special. I will not hesitate to go again, hopefully under better circumstances.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALDERHOUSEHOTEL, General Manager at Healey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review, it is nice to know when we are doing things right. We look forward to seeing you again where first drinks are on me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel after purchasing the offer through Go Groopie. We were overall very happy and had a nice stay at this hotel. From 'down south' originally, we decided to venture up north and visit the yorkshire dales. We were greeted by a very warm yorkshire accent and instantly felt comfortable in this cute hotel. He politely offered to take our bags to our room and let us know what there was to do around the area. Our room was very traditional, cosy and clean and had a nice view out over the countryside. Our bathroom also looked very new and inviting.

We explored the local area and went out for dinner and had a lovely sleep in a very comfortable bed. In the morning we were served breakfast by very friendly staff and we left feeling very looked after after an enjoyable stay in the Yorkshire countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALDERHOUSEHOTEL, General Manager at Healey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review, it is nice to know when we are doing things right. We look forward to seeing you again where first drinks are on me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My Partner and I stayed here for a night with a discounted voucher.
We payed an extra £10 to stay in the Nightingale Suite which wasn't a suite as such just a large bedroom.
The room was very dated and marks on wall and four poster but bathroom was enormous and had obviously just been revamped.
The Staff make the place and are very friendly and we had a meal in the restaurant which we couldn't fault.
We both had steak which was excellent.
Same applied to breakfast.
Just a shame about location and rooms but just needs updating!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newcastleupontyneval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batley
2.3 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
125 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Healds Hall Hotel
Healds Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Liversedge
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
831 reviews
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds South
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healey Hotel

Address: Towngate Road, Batley WF17 7HR, England (Formerly Alder House Hotel Batley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Batley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Healey Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Hotel is just minutes from the town of Batley, and a short driving distance to local beauty spots, including Bronte Country, Summer Wine Country, Yorkshire’s Skopos Motor Museum, Howley Hall Golf Club, and Bagshaw Museum, to name a few. Guests can also visit surrounding cities including Dewsbury at 1 mile, Brighouse at 2 miles, Cleckheaton at 2 miles, Osset at 2 miles and Leeds, Wakefield, Huddersfield, Halifax, and Bradford that are only 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Healey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel Healey Lane
Healey Hotel Batley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing