We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'The Pride of Batley' not exactly”
Review of Healey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Healey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“'The Pride of Batley' not exactly”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Looked ok from outside, plenty of parking available so thought we were onto a good bargain. Walked in and the receptionist blatantly ignored us while he continued a personal phone call for 5 minutes he then stopped to answer the reception phone and rudely shouted at a resident who was already staying, he then continued his personal conversation. Eventually, another 5 minutes later he stopped and asked our names, told us our room number and handed us a key...we were left to find our own room.

We ventured up some very worn, threadbare carpeted stairs and through a door to our room.
The room - my first impression was to hand the keys back and pay to stay somewhere else but we were only due to stay there for 1 night so gritted our teeth and got on with it. One word describes the room - tired.
Bad bits - The wallpaper was ripped, the sink was in the bedroom, there was one small towel provided for a shower, the wardrobe door came off the hinges almost, the shower was grime ridden, the shower didn't sit on it's bracket, the shower door didn't close with you inside it, the water was cold - slowly went Luke warm, the light in the bedroom above the mirror was melted, the TV cable hung down the wall causing a trip, several spiders were running along the carpet (never seen this in another hotel) I could continue but I think my point has been made.

Good bits - The bed was clean and comfortable

I wouldn't stay here again if they were giving it away, for what I paid I can understand why it hasn't been renovated since what I can only guess as the 60s but as someone who stays in 3 - 4 separate hotels each week. I'd rather spend a little bit extra and stay elsewhere.

The night porter was very polite and nice, we got up and exited at 5:30am and was asked about our stay but were running late so couldn't get into conversation and just said 'ok'

All in all - never, ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank littlepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    92
    49
    26
    53
See reviews for
57
94
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefiled
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

If you like a decor from the 70's, with pealing wall paper with mould on it, mould in the shower, a left over fag on the bathroom floor and a toilet seat which detaches itself this is the place for you! Did I mention the bed which squeaks every time you move a muscle.... Perfection!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Racinglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batley hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were a bit surprised when we arrived as it is now called the "Alder House Hotel" as we had booked the "Healey Hotel" on a special deal. After reading the reviews for the Healey House, we wondered if this was why it had been renamed? We decided to be open minded and see for ourselves (2 couples).
We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh. We had a 3 course evening meal that could have been served in a 4 star restaurant...delicious. The hotel was fairly empty when we visited and our room was not the nicest as it was a bit tired and need a bit of TLC. On chatting to the manager "MARK" at breakfast, he said he was not aware why we were given those rooms and immediately offered to move us. The new room (room 18 in the York Suite) was lovely, spacious with a Jacuzzi bath. Well done for customer service. With a bit more TLC in the bedrooms, this will be a lovely hotel as the bar/lounge was lovely. Little things will improve the appearance, like ironing the tablecloths and bedlinen..not a big deal but details matter with first impressions. Will return again. Great staff and food.

Room Tip: 40 minute drive into Hebden Bridge. Fantastic bohemian village. Ask for the York suite as the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N H, Manager at Healey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Thank you for your valued feedback, it is good to know when staff are getting it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stay well clear of this place. Several maintenance issues in the room including the shower door off and left in the shower! The sink was blocked, the bathroom light kept strobing, the room was dirty, the curtains and furniture were stained, the walls needed painting, need I go on! We were offered another room but it was no better. Luckily we were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 234simon_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First of all for £35 a night I certainly wasn't expecting much but this place is a disgrace. First of all when we got there the receptionist was arguing on the phone to someone who had been mislead information with her booking going from what he was saying when shouting down the phone. Then after 15 minutes of waiting to check-in we were told our room was room 11 the 1st on the left at the top of the stairs, but the 1st on the left was number 9. So once we found our room we notice that the door was being held wide open by the bin which I've never seen in any hotel before but I though this was maybe just how this place done it. Then when we entered the room I realised there was an awful smell so we put our bags down and had a look around only to find in the toilet used sanitary items and urine that hadn't been flushed, to which I then noticed there was an issue with flushing the toilet but eventually it did work. So this had me thinking was the window and door left open to get rid of the smell and hope we wouldn't use the toilet? Also the bedding was fresh and looked new, so the room had definitely had someone come to attend to it after the last people who stayed before us. When I went back to reception there had been another arrival and they were also complaining about something else and continued to do so for the next 20mins or so. So since we were only there for one night and the bed was (looked) clean we left it at that. Just a few other small negatives, Walls are paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the hotel, also if you are taller the 5'10/5'11 you have to duck to get in the room and the WIFI is horrendous. There's other stuff I could mention but I'm going on a bit. Going forward in future I'll stick to some of the better know chain hotels.

Room Tip: I think this place would struggle to provide a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C_BOY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALDERHOUSEHOTEL, Manager at Healey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
many thanks for your comments i have recently took over the hotel and all problems have been rectified please feel free to use our hotel again and i can assure you you will have a nice and enjoyable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the cottage. Was very nice, spacious but hadn't been cleaned before we arrived! Microwave was very dirty! Bathroom floor was very dirty and the floor boards underneath must have been rotten as we nearly went threw floor! Beds were clean but hard and needed new pillows! Had food in hotel and was lovely , Robert and mark couldn't do enough for us , very friendly,chatty and very welcoming .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALDERHOUSEHOTEL, Manager at Healey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback we always take feedback very seriously and i can confirm that maintenance were called straight away and all problems rectified i hope you stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a few days away with my hubby, mom, auntie & uncle in the cottage in the grounds. It looked freshly decorated, clean and had great kitchen with all mod cons. I'm a wheelchair user but can get about for very short distances on crutches, so although I do prefer wheelchair access, I didn't specify a need, however, once inside the property, there's no problem as the kitchen, diner and lounge (with double sofa bed) are all open plan. Access to the cottage can be a little tricky if you take the side path (tree roots) but across the garden is fine (as long as you don't find a car decides to park at the top of the steps to the garden) however, when we did find this caused a problem, the staff got it moved really quickly. As far as the bathroom in the cottage, it has a jacuzzi bath, wonderful shower, and heated towel rail. The lounge has a very comfy leather sofa (sofa bed) and a huge telly. Wifi is accessible from the cottage too. The cottage is neutrally decorated, with a good sized double bedroom plus a okay sized twin room, bathroom is a bit on the small size...but hey!, how long do you normally spend in a bathroom????..........the staff are really helpful, especially Adil and Robert, the food is REALLY good, didn't take breakfast there but eat twice in the evenings....steak cooked to perfection, delicious lamb shanks and lovely hand cut chips, very good prices too. The bar area is small but comfy, the dinning room basic but serves its purpose. All in all a really good stay and better than expected having read some horrendous reviews.......all I'd say to those people is did you bring it to the attention of the staff and give them chance to sort it for you and/or are you expecting 5 star luxury but wanting to pay B&B prices????? I can't comment on the rooms but I'd say give the cottage a go for sure. Oh and it's pet friendly!

Room Tip: Try out the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Not_easy_2_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALDERHOUSEHOTEL, Manager at Healey Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
thanks for a lovely review were glad youenjoyed your stay and hope you stay again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batley
2.3 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
816 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Healds Hall Hotel
Healds Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Liversedge
305 reviews
2.9 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds South
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healey Hotel

Property: Healey Hotel
Address: Towngate Road, Batley WF17 7HR, England (Formerly Alder House Hotel Batley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Batley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Healey Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Hotel is just minutes from the town of Batley, and a short driving distance to local beauty spots, including Bronte Country, Summer Wine Country, Yorkshire’s Skopos Motor Museum, Howley Hall Golf Club, and Bagshaw Museum, to name a few. Guests can also visit surrounding cities including Dewsbury at 1 mile, Brighouse at 2 miles, Cleckheaton at 2 miles, Osset at 2 miles and Leeds, Wakefield, Huddersfield, Halifax, and Bradford that are only 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Healey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel Healey Lane
Healey Hotel Batley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing