We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!! Gorgeous B&B!!”
Review of Brockham B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betchworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brockham B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Betchworth B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!! Gorgeous B&B!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Such a beautiful location on the village green of the charming town of Brockham. Joanna and Paul were wonderful hosts, as was their daughter who looked after us on our last day. We also enjoyed the company of some of the locals! Attention to detail in, not only our room, but the whole house was perfect. There was nothing they could have done to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Breakfast was amazing.....best bacon I have ever tasted - cooked to perfection! We hope to be back again some day!!

Room Tip: You couldn't go wrong with any of the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is one of the fabulous little B&B properties that makes you feel like you are staying with friends, albeit friends who just happen to live in a lovely home and are the most gracious hosts and wonderful cooks you are ever likely to meet!
South Lodge is a lovely property that has been decorated, furnished and equipped with impecable taste by gracious hosts Joanna and Paul. This is just what Brockham needed.
We arrivied with a ridiculous amount of luggage after a cruise but this did not phase Paul at all, in fact he helped us take it the two flights up to our top floor double room.
Bed is super-comfortable and the on-suite facilities are very modern with a tastefully appointed bathroom with great shower and lots of natural light.
They provide in-room tea and coffee as well as home-made cookies. As other reviewers have noted, it is worth staying here just for the breakfast which is nothing short of fantastic. Joanna is the Martha Stewart of Surrey and also runs a top-class catering business, called if I am not mistaken, Too Many Cooks. Breakfast is served at a long table in front of a picture window looking out on the lawn and garden with the steeple of the village church in the background.
Fresh orange juice, home-made granola and fruit served with thick natural yogurt followed up with a traditional "full english" which is enough to keep you going for hours! Fresh coffee, toast and home-made marmalades round it off.
Combine all this with the fact that the house overlooks the green in one of the most picturesque villages in southern England and you quickly realise what a gem this is. Hard to believe they have only been open less than a year... congratulations!
We stayed three nights and will definitely be back. .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cavedodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed only one night (shame) at South Lodge... but we will certainly make an effort to return. Proximity to Gatwick makes it ideal for those ex-pats who like some 'real' Britain to visit; and with a beautiful home on the village green with a decent pub and a lovely restaurant nearby, who could ask for more?!

The Blue room was fabulous - nice big comfy bed, windows open to appreciate the bird chatter, view to the church & plenty of space. I was tempted by the pistachio biscuits; delicious! The bathroom was fabulous too with a lovely spacious shower and some nice touches - like Pears soap, which really took me back!

Joanna was kind enough to book dinner for us at the Grumpy Mole. We were offered dinner at South Lodge too; I would have loved to, but it was lamb which I don't eat. Next time maybe!

Breakfast was delicious; the eggs were probably the best I've ever tasted. We didn't try the granola, which was a shame but it looked lovely.

All in all, a fantastic B&B, very welcoming, and I hope we visit again. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Of course we knew that Joanna & Paul would do this beautifully ; so our expectations were high ... but this was just a little blissful stay in so many ways . The rooms are delicious with every little detail and more perfectly executed ... lighting , fresh air , views , ( tasteful ) little TV ... bedside DAB radio , the best ever selection of teas and coffee , gently sparkling water ... lovely glasses and mugs , exquisite biscuits ( we had some pistachio ish ones that were just barely sweet ... perfect ) very comfy ( just the right degree of firmness ) mattresses & pillows , fabulous shower ( there is a bath in the Pink Room) in the bathroom .. big luxurious fluffy towels .... the ( for me ) nostalgic sound of pigeons on waking , sight of Paul tending the chickens ... very relaxing !
Now the breakfast .... we dont want to give away too much here but ... we have travelled and are in our fifties .... have had some fine ones here and there but none more delicious than this ... cooked to perfection by Joanna ... the coffee ( great care was taken with its selection from a small local importer ) ... is nutty and natural tasting and quite unique .
Dont delay ; treat yourselves today and pay a visit to South Lodge for the B & B of your dreams .... lovely .

Room Tip: All are equally lovely ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husand and I chose Brockham B&B from Alastair Sawdays book of Special Places to Stay because we were visiting relatives in Fetcham, nr Cobham in Surrey and Dorking is quite close. We had no idea how beautiful this B&B was! From the moment we drove up to beautiful village green and realised we were staying right there, we were so delighted.

We arrived late but were welcomed with open arms and shown to a very luxurious room with a large bed and en suite shower room with exquisite fixtures and fittings. Everything at Brockham just oozes class and style from the hospitatlity tray loaded with bottles of still or sparkling water, to the little bags of home made biscuits, tied with a bow. A little jug of milk was left on a tray in the morning so we could have tea in our room (so much nicer than noisy fridges!).

In the morning we had breakfast in a beautiful dining room overlooking a large, picturesque garden and Joanna and Paul quietly made sure we had everything we needed, there was fruit compote one morning and fruit yoghurt the next (all lovingly home made) as well as porridge or full english breakfast. There was a little family dog sleeping peacefully at my feet, and we felt such a sense of belonging in this beautiful family home.

Joanna also runs a successful catering company called Two Many Cooks and dinner can be arranged in advance, and they also have a wonderful Tea Room in Dorking where we just had to try out her homemade quiche and take home a pack of speciality tea.

We are really looking forward to returning again when we next visit our relatives. Thankyou Joanna and Paul for giving us a luxurious home from home experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at South Lodge for a wedding weekend and it was so lovely to be somewhere that felt like home from home! Joanna and Paul greet you and couldn't be more welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. The room was large and the most comfortable bed...lovely big bathrooms and my personal favourite...home made cookies in the room!

The breakfast was delicious, probably the best we have ever had away...go for the home made granola and fruit or a full English.

It really was an excellent bed & breakfast and we will definitely return soon. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Try and get the blue room...AMAZING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Katherine123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betchworth
1.0 mi away
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
2.2 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Leatherhead
Travelodge Leatherhead
#2 of 3 in Leatherhead
206 reviews
1.9 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
3.0 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brockham B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockham B&B

Property: Brockham B&B
Address: South Lodge Brockham Green | Brockham Green, Betchworth RH3 7JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Betchworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Betchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming village of Brockham with stunning views of the green, church and Surrey Hills is this newly renovated Brockham B&B at South Lodge with 2 double rooms with en-suite bathrooms and a twin room with a large luxury bathroom. Breakfast is served with local ingredients and eggs from our own free range hens. The area is perfect for walkers and cyclists alike all over the Surrey Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brockham B&B Betchworth, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing