We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Betchworth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub serving traditional British food and using the best seasonal local (where possible) ingredients. Set in a stunning location in Surrey opposite St Michael's church which had a starring role in hit film, four weddings & a funeral!
Reviewed 13 May 2019

Our experience with Anna and her team at the Dolphin far exceeded our expectations. From pre wedding reception planning to the outstanding meal, service, decor and excellent communication throughout.
All 45 of our guests were very impressed and throughly enjoyed themselves.
Would highly recommend the Dolphin for hassle free events in the most wonderful of settings.
Our gratitude to Anna, Ryan, Alice and team for making our special day so amazing.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cherokeepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabennett87, Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2019

Hi,

It was an absolute pleasure for us to host your wedding reception last summer. You are a fabulous couple and we thoroughly enjoyed helping plan your big day.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Anna and the dolphin gang xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2019 via mobile

A great selection of ales and a cracking scotch egg to go with it. Will be back for some grub the roast looked great

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 754jamessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabennett87, Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Hi,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review.

See you again soon.

Warm wishes
Team Dolphin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2019

Sunday lunch was poor overcooked beef ,potatoes not fresh and tasteless Yorkshire .
Very disappointing

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jabotuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabennett87, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2019

Hi,

Thanks for your review.

I do hope you brought this to the attention of the team during your visit with us? I will share your feedback with the chef.

Thanks
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2019

Excellent food, excellent service, and so dog friendly. We were there with a gathering of six very close old friends. We must have been a pain to serve because we were more intent on chatting than ordering drinks and food. However, the staff were so patient with us. A great wine list, excellent beers and everyone enjoyed the food. We will certainly go back, even though it is a 45 minute drive from where we live.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabennett87, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Hi Daryl,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

You were all a pleasure to serve!

See you again.

Warm wishes
Anna and the Dolphin team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2019

We came here yesterday as a group of 8. The pub itself is beautiful, situated opposite st Micheals church which featured in 4 weddings and a funeral (my favourite film) we was sat in the restaurant (old kitchen I think its called) on a table which was rectangle but not to big so everyone could still chat to each other. For starter we had a few ploughmans sharing dishes, these were great to share amoungst us, just the right amount!
For mains we all had different roasts, chicken, beef, pork and lamb. Great to have such choice as most places have either just one or two options. I had the lamb, this was the best lamb roast I have ever had! The potatoes were small but cooked to perfection and you could certainly tell that all the ingredients on the plate were fresh!we also had cawliflower cheese and pigs in blankets to share between us, again, amazing!
Some of us had desserts but I couldn't manage one as I was full up from the large roast but had a delicious flat white to finish it off.

The service was excellent even though they were rushed off their feet, everyone was welcoming and couldnt be more helpful.
We will be returning very very soon and I cant wait too (saves me doing the washing up and cooking)

Thanks Dolphin team for an amazing experience

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank loopylou_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabennett87, Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2019

Hi,

Thank you so much for wonderful comments!

Customers such as yourself make the job so worthwhile and I am over the moon you had a great lunch with us!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Warm wishes
Team Dolphin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.