We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Betchworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub serving traditional British food and using the best seasonal local (where possible) ingredients. Set in a stunning location in Surrey opposite St Michael's church which had a starring role in hit film, four weddings & a funeral!
Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

We visited Friday for my birthday evening and tried their All Things Rosé workshop. Delicious wines, tasty food and a lovely atmosphere. This is a true country pub with such friendly staff. Service is always fantastic and we’ll be back very soon. Only wish we lived closer!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank lburrows23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Hi Lorna,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Alice organised a great evening and I will share your feedback with her and the rest of the team.

Thanks again so much.

See you again soon
Anna and the dolphin team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2019

My first visit to this pub was in the spring and we had a great meal, but after today's experience, we won't be returning. Half an hour after ordering food, we were told that they had run out of fish for the battered cod sandwiches, and could we please choose different mains. An hour after that, our food arrived. Everything was lukewarm, chewy and tasted horrible. The waitress promised to bring me a fresh, hot bowl of chips which never arrived. I explained that we weren't going to pay for the food which was accepted straight away by the waitress. But sadly it was too little too late. Such a shame as it's such a pretty pub in a gorgeous location.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Laurie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Hi Laurie,

It was great to speak to you on the phone earlier. Thanks again for your understanding and being so kind.

Look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm wishes
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2019

Lovely area and good looking pub which was recommended to us by friends who live in the area. The food , although reasonbly priced was disappointing. 2 main dishes ( mussels and skippers plate, not available and only 1 Fish pot available!.
There was confusion as to whether the fish in fish pot, was trout or hake (differed 2 menus) we were told it was trout but it turned out to be white fish.
We asked what are "mids' - pieces of roast potato, we were told but when the dish arrived it was fish in thick tomato sauce and no mids! I settled for chicken supreme with chorizo and spinach but it was a disappointing plate of food, not appealling to the eye - no colour. and very little chorizo and spinach.

While we appreciate it may be a 'local pub' we felt that there was not a warm welcome to 'incomers'.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 457graemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Hi thanks for your review.

We didn’t receive our fresh fish order because the transport broke down. Very frustrating but unfortunately that is the risk of doing fresh food with daily deliveries and not batch freezing everything like some of our competitions. This should have been explained to you and I can only apologise that it wasn’t. Luckily an order arrived about an hour ago and we are back on track!

We are a local village pub but we want to welcome everyone regardless of being local or not. We were all “newcomers” at one point!

Hopefully we will see you again as we are blessed to have a beautiful pub in a stunning area, and normally a very realibe fish monger!

Thanks
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2019

I have visited The Dolphin numerous times over the past 30 years and have seen many changes. Last nights experience met all expectations and more. We held a retirement celebration for 17 people and due to the heat we were outside under the marque. The Staff were all very kind and friendly, the food was superb. A special thank you to the chef for cooking us wonderful food in such heat. Thank you to all.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashtead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Thank you so much! You were an absolute pleasure to serve and I am so glad everyone enjoyed the evening.

The team did so well considering the heat! Thank you for lovely review and email we received too.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Katie and the dolphin team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019

Booked a table for an 80th birthday celebration. Have visited lots of times and as always the food was superb, staff and atmosphere fantastic.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2019

Hi Kerry

Thank you very much for your review
We enjoy having you here every time
look forward to seeing you again soon

Team dolphin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.