We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Party for 60 people in the garden”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Betchworth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub serving traditional British food and using the best seasonal local (where possible) ingredients. Set in a stunning location in Surrey opposite St Michael's church which had a starring role in hit film, four weddings & a funeral!
Reviewed 5 August 2019

What a fabulous place with amazing, attentive staff. We held a private birthday party for around 60 adults and children and had sole use of the pub's front garden. It was the perfect venue for what we wanted and the staff were very accommodating. We had space for a bouncy castle, live music and they cooked all the food for the guests on the grill outside when we were ready to eat. It was the perfect party. Alice was particularly helpful with assisting us to make sure everything was as we wanted it before the party and was there to make sure everything went smoothly on the night. Actually, all the staff deserve a mention as they were wonderful.
If you need a venue for a party it is certainly worth contacting The Dolphin to see if they can accommodate you.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2019

Hi Abbie.

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. You and your party were an absolute pleasure to serve. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Warm wishes
Team Dolphin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2019

Fantastic local pub for us. Always friendly and welcoming. 14 of us visited for lunch for husband’s birthday. The Dolphin is always happy to take us as a big group and look after us well. The food was lovely as always and freshly cooked and prepared.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Tagsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2019

Hi,

Thanks so much for your review.

It was a joy to have you join us and I will share your feedback with the team.

Warm wishes
Team Dolphin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

We visited Friday for my birthday evening and tried their All Things Rosé workshop. Delicious wines, tasty food and a lovely atmosphere. This is a true country pub with such friendly staff. Service is always fantastic and we’ll be back very soon. Only wish we lived closer!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank lburrows23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Hi Lorna,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Alice organised a great evening and I will share your feedback with her and the rest of the team.

Thanks again so much.

See you again soon
Anna and the dolphin team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019

My first visit to this pub was in the spring and we had a great meal, but after today's experience, we won't be returning. Half an hour after ordering food, we were told that they had run out of fish for the battered cod sandwiches, and could we please choose different mains. An hour after that, our food arrived. Everything was lukewarm, chewy and tasted horrible. The waitress promised to bring me a fresh, hot bowl of chips which never arrived. I explained that we weren't going to pay for the food which was accepted straight away by the waitress. But sadly it was too little too late. Such a shame as it's such a pretty pub in a gorgeous location.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Laurie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Hi Laurie,

It was great to speak to you on the phone earlier. Thanks again for your understanding and being so kind.

Look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm wishes
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2019

Lovely area and good looking pub which was recommended to us by friends who live in the area. The food , although reasonbly priced was disappointing. 2 main dishes ( mussels and skippers plate, not available and only 1 Fish pot available!.
There was confusion as to whether the fish in fish pot, was trout or hake (differed 2 menus) we were told it was trout but it turned out to be white fish.
We asked what are "mids' - pieces of roast potato, we were told but when the dish arrived it was fish in thick tomato sauce and no mids! I settled for chicken supreme with chorizo and spinach but it was a disappointing plate of food, not appealling to the eye - no colour. and very little chorizo and spinach.

While we appreciate it may be a 'local pub' we felt that there was not a warm welcome to 'incomers'.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 457graemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Inn B, General Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Hi thanks for your review.

We didn’t receive our fresh fish order because the transport broke down. Very frustrating but unfortunately that is the risk of doing fresh food with daily deliveries and not batch freezing everything like some of our competitions. This should have been explained to you and I can only apologise that it wasn’t. Luckily an order arrived about an hour ago and we are back on track!

We are a local village pub but we want to welcome everyone regardless of being local or not. We were all “newcomers” at one point!

Hopefully we will see you again as we are blessed to have a beautiful pub in a stunning area, and normally a very realibe fish monger!

Thanks
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.