We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Betchworth
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I dont understand why people leave negatives for De Vere hotels as they consistently impress me. This one is similar to New Place in Hampshire and has a great authentic manor house feel, the rooms are ideal and for £49 a great bargain - 4 star level. For a chain hotel business the service is above average and the bar food really good. I'd stay here again and I am looking forward to doing just that! Special Mention - The Bar Man working on Wednesday Evening 27/11 - (and the receptionist was excellent too!).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pretronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel looks lovely, but be aware that you might be put in the annex, which doesn't look as nice and you won't see pics on their website of this part of the hotel, although the rooms are perfectly adequate, but the main house rooms are far superior, so ask for one there, we had booked dinner ( 3 course with wine ) and breakfast, dinner was great, not a huge choice, but all really well cooked and presented,and tasted devine, and plenty of it too. Breakfast was a buffet, again plenty of choice, cereals, porridge, toast and of course the full english, again plenty to help yourself, all very good.
The room we had was # 33, had great views looking out over the south downs and fields, also looked out over the annex and hotel gardens. The bathroom was good, once you worked out how to use the shower, one tap, turn one way for bath and other for shower, room itself was really hot, with rads on,they did have controls though. Tea making equipment was ok, only two of each type of tea bags etc, could have four of each and maybe some biscuits would be nice.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay, the staff were all very attentive and made sure everything was ok.

Room Tip: ask for main house not annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Booked by late romms and even though only £39 for us both which is good for a hotel nr Gatwick doesnt take away the feeling of being hood winked as we were both expecting to be staying in the main house but no out the main doors to a side annexe a 1960s building.
We also experienced another couple arriving on our way to the gym who were also v excited about arriving who were also shunted to this side annexe. The place was empty and quiet on a Monday night.
So if you book this dont be disillusioned you ill not be in the main house and the free shower gel smells of TCP and washing up liquid!! I wouldnt stay again unless we were in the main house and me thinks the free shower gel is probably different to the stuff given out in the annexe as no good hotel manger would give that stuff out if you were paying over £100 pppn.
Its just feeling hood winked didnt start our holiday off to a good start as on Late rooms where we booked or the De Vere on either web site at any point did it clearly state that you would be shunted off to a side annexe, which if we are being frank here would have been more professional and business like....i suppose occupied rooms stats are more important than people and how they feel. Yours feeling shafted....

Room Tip: make sure you are in the mainj house if you have booked this via late rooms or other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a special very cheap deal online. Definitely worth the money we paid - only a few small things that were negative but overall I think I would stay here again.
There was a wedding on, on the night we were staying so we were put in a seperate building. No noise from the wedding in the evening so all was good and the room was ok overall. Looked a little old but the bathroom was huge and modern looking! Felt maybe being in the main hotel building would have been nicer but hey, the wedding was in there so this was the quieter option! In the evening we did ask for a bucket of ice and we were told that there was a problem with the ice machine so they would go and buy some (!!) and then would bring it to our room. About 4 hours later some ice was delivered but by then we had already drunk our bottle of wine! (nice that they eventually brought it at all though). In the morning, we had our breakfast and then we were charged full price for this, even though we had arranged breakfast at check-in the evening before and we were told this would be for a cheaper price... so we had to query our bill in the morning and then all was ok. So as I said, all was ok in the end but there were a few niggles. Apart from all this I'd give the hotel 6 out of 10 and the location was lovely. Just a short drive from the restaurant we were eating in for our evening out! Would stay again if I found a bargain rate again and would recommend to others if they can find a good deal.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to be put in the main building if possible... unless event is on?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Second stay at Hartsfield and oddly we were allocated the same room in the Annexe. I suspect the annexe rooms are the ones that are offered when they do deals. We stayed two nights on a bed and breakfast basis for £ 99 which we thought was very good. The room and bathroom are very good, nicely appointed and quite a good size although the bed was a standard double rather than 'king' or 'queen' size.
We ate in the restaurant the first night and my wife had a lovely steak but unfortunately my lamb was a bit 'seamy'. The restaurant is very smart and has a nice ambiance although it seems underused in the evenings. This may change when people realise the menu has been improved from its previous, pretty basic offer. Breakfast was as good as you could wish for.
Unfortunately, in the early hours of Friday morning I was taken I'll with a severe neck strain that was massively painful and kept putting the right hand side of my neck into spasms. My wife phoned for an ambulance but they refused to send one (thanks NHS). The 999 call had been flagged up at the switchboard and within a minute thug Duty Manager was at the door with a colleague to check on the problem. Having seen the state I was in, he dialled 999 and wasn't taking 'no' for an answer. He succeeded in getting the ambulance service out and stayed all through the trauma and my screaming until I was dispatched to hospital.
My wife and I returned eight hours later with me full of morpheme etc. The duty Manager was still there and met us with the Restaurant Manager in case we needed a hand into the hotel. He explained they had moved us into the main building because there weren't as many stairs up to the bedroom and it would be more convenient for us to get to the restaurant. The room which overlooked the entrance to the main Manor house was huge, the bed was huge and it was a terrific surprise to which we returned.
They brought us tea, water, served us a couple of excellent, home made burgers in the room and couldn't do enough for us. Absolutely lovely care, thoughtfulness and service. Well done Michael and your colleagues for bothering to go that extra mile without anyone requesting anything of you. We're now hooked on Hartsfield when we stay down in Surrey.
Outstanding people.

Room Tip: Not suggesting you fein illness....but if you can afford a little bit more the rooms in the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raegladwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Looking forward to our third stay next week. Good sized rooms, attentive staff and great value breakfasts. Nice lounges but couches need replacing as some very worn. Dining room cold and lacking in atmosphere. Extensive grounds for walking.

Room Tip: Pay supplement for room in main housse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just arrived ! Booked a double room for £20 and upgraded to a manor room for extra £10. Room is fab,huge and modern. Checked in with manager,great guy,friendly and chatty.yet to check out food/ bar area but stayed many times at devere all been great ...except high Wycombe which was shocking....still traumatised by that experience !!!! ....only here for one night as flying out from gatwick in the morning.....would defo stay again if in this area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betchworth
6.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
207 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
7.3 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Reigate Manor Hotel
5.3 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth

Address: Hartsfield Manor Sandy Lane | Betchworth, Betchworth RH3 7AA, England (Formerly De Vere Hartsfield Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Betchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Betchworth
Price Range: £64 - £884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth Surrey
Hartsfield Manor Hotel Betchworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing