We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Betchworth
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this place!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a standard room through the Expedia website. Booking was made day before yesterday for checking in yesterday for one night. It was clearly promoted on the website as a good quality room normally priced at £129, but being offered at £69. Booked the room as it was the nearest available hotel to Pfizer. I was in for a shock when checked in as the receptionist advised me that my room was not in the main building, but half a mile down the road in an out building 'lodge'. Asked her how did I get there. Was told I could drive there and drive back to the main building every time I needed a meal / check out etc. Insisted on being given a room in the main building as it was clearly mentioned on the website that I was paying for a standard room (if anything, a superior room as the original price was quoted as £129). This was just too inconvenient. I would have settled for it if it was because the main hotel was full. But felt offended even further when I learnt they had many vacant rooms in the main building, but I had to pay an extra £30 be be allocated one of them. Checked into the room. It was literally half a mile (at least) away. Very isolated place with no amenities. Called Expedia and the advisor on the phone was surprised as well that Hartsfield Manor could deceive a customer like this. He agreed they had marketed it as a standard room in the main building and should never have asked me to go to that remote out house. He got the hotel to apologise to me and provide me with a proper room in the hotel. Good job by Nishant in Expedia!
I was the only occupant of that out lying building while I was there. Can't imagine how would it be for a lone female traveller or an elderly couple if they were to be put up in that isolated building in the middle of nowhere. Definitely not a hotel for them to feel safe in. Best avoided. A case of shady, misleading marketing by De Vere.
On complaining, the hotel said they'll be upfront on Expedia from now on - by clearly stating that guests could be put up away from the main building.
I have checked Expedia again today to see if that made any changes. Not at all. Instead, today they are marketing a room for similar price (but stating the original price to be over £150). A few more innocent customers waiting to be trapped!
Also, have to say main hotel itself is hardly worth the money you are paying for. Agree it is located in a good location, But worn out, stained carpets, dated interiors and a most reprehensible level of service shouldn't cost that much.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Anoop K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    144
    80
    60
    46
See reviews for
61
180
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I attended a 2-day conference here and stayed overnight. I stayed in room 15 in the main house. The room was clean and spacious with a big wardrobe. Although everything was very comfortable in the room, the heating was a bit odd. The room was quite cold and the radiator came on sporadically (in the early hours of the morning) so I woke up in the middle of the night absolutely roasting! The bed was quite small, no bigger than a double. The bathroom was okay but the towel rail didn't heat up at all and the lighting was a bit dark.

At dinner and breakfast it seemed as if there was a shortage of staff, and the breakfast tended to run out! Overall the food was good though, the evening meals were tasty.

A lovely-looking venue from the outside but I wouldn't stay here again unless it was for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house to ensure you don't have to trek down the drive to find your be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster on Sea
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked this weekend for a bit of 'r and r' and also because this was a De Vere venue that we had not yet visited. During the course of our weekend many things occurred.....

Room 1(annexe) - stained and blocked shower, a continuous low shushing noise like a tap running and a bathroom door that when closed would not open for anyone.
Room 2(annexe) - moved into this one at 1.30am after the night staff couldn't open said bathroom door. Not happy to be redressing and packing and trailing upstairs without any toiletries which were still in the bathroom! Still the shushing noise despite being assured that this room was quiet. Poor night's sleep as you might imagine.
Room 3 (main house) - put here after complaining. On 2nd floor and reached by some extremely narrow stairs. Quiet (hurray!) and bigger bed (hurray!) but tiny and gloomy bathroom with a door that wouldn't close and a stone cold towel rail and no way of turning it on.

We did complain to a very helpful duty manager who was full of apologies. He did do something about the stone cold plates at breakfast but even he couldn't magic up butter for our toast on either day - we were told there was no butter anywhere in the hotel kitchen....really?
We are bemused and not in the least rested and we are still waiting for our bill to be explained to us as even the lady on reception did not understand it.....

This is a lovely looking hotel, as indeed are all the De Vere venues but beware when booking this one - there appear to be many issues to be resolved . Come on De Vere, you can do better than this!

Room Tip: Check your room carefully to ensure there are no problems! Annexe rooms have big bathrooms but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkateMinsteronSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We've been going to this place for a few years now and have generally had very good service and support. The conference rooms are rather basic (no flashy smart boards or electronic gizmos) but they provide decent size rooms to accommodate different sizes of groups. The rooms are pretty much in same vein - rather basic but very functional and always clean. The restaurant provides a decent variety of dishes to cater for most states and the wine list also has a good range of bottles to choose from.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms that overlook the garden at the back of the hotel. That's where everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Arriving at Hartsfield Manor is very impressive with a great setting, beautiful building and amazing reception hall.
But, our bedroom was on the second floor and there are no lifts! The bedroom was large but the bed a small (a double... just). The decor was clean and tidy but the only drawers were in the small bedside tables. The wardrobe was just big enough.... once we had emptied the ironing board, iron, tea tray, kettle and hair dryer out.
The bathroom was clean and big enough but the towel rail did not work (it was the only form of heating), it was reported but nothing happened in 4 days! The shower screen had the plastic strip missing off the bottom so every shower meant a puddle on the bathroom floor, it was reported and nothing happened in 4 days!
First night we booked the restaurant only to find there was only a bar menu available but the food was good. There as no atmosphere as there was only 1 other couple in this large restaurant.
Perhaps we went at the wrong time but we will not be rushing back. Pity as the initial impression was so positive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We paid extra to stay in the main manor house which is definitely worth it. We did have to change the first room they gave us because it was cold and the radiator in the bathroom was not working. But the staff were very friendly and helpful and the second room was lovely and spacious. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

It isn't that there is anything really wrong with this place but they need to try harder.
The room (in the main building) was really pretty basic and it was cold. We did ask for and get a very small electric heater which made a little bit of a difference. There was an electric towel rail in the bathroom but no way of turning it on could be found and the room was cold. The lighting in the bathroom was poor, with no light over the mirror.
However the food (dinner and breakfast) was excellent as was the service.
But why oh why charge for the use of a credit card? I can't remember if it was £2.50 or 2.5% but this is just a mean spirited thing and really the cost should be built in.

Room Tip: We were in the main building and from what other people said we were glad we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p47rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betchworth
6.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
5.3 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reigate Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Cranleigh Hotel
The Cranleigh Hotel
#2 of 3 in Reigate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
6.4 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartsfield Manor Betchworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartsfield Manor Betchworth

Property: Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
Address: Hartsfield Manor Sandy Lane | Betchworth, Betchworth RH3 7AA, England (Formerly De Vere Hartsfield Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Betchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Betchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hartsfield Manor Betchworth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hartsfield Manor Betchworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartsfield Manor Hotel Betchworth
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing