We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
134
165
89
67
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
165
89
67
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housebride and groombeautiful groundswedding receptionlovely old buildingallocated roomamazing weddingthe red lion pubwedding breakfastwedding venuefollowing morninga lovely stayfull englishafternoon teaflorianreigateluke
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I drove up the drive to a beautiful country house. I could imagine sitting on the lawn, drinking a Pimms and watching the young play croquet on the lawn.
Inside the hotel is just as grand, with a sweeping staircase and wood panelling everywhere.
My room was a little tired, but perfectly sufficient.
There is an air of waiting to be rennovated about the place. Carpets a little stained, paint a little chipped, but old world charm and sophistication.
The gronds are beautiful and deserve to be admired.
All staff are attentive and very helpful. When you get a smile in the morning going down to breakfast, you smile back and it sets you up beautifully.
The price is a little on the high side, but that can be negotiated down. Try it.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms in the eves as headroom is a little restricted, but only on the margins. Try the first floor rather than the second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandM_Sale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent a terrible cold February night here with no gas, no heating and no hot water. After a microwave pizza in the restaurant, we huddled together in a cold bed and washed with the water from the kettle. The Hotel manager offered us a complimentary night so in April we booked a room here for Tuesday. We arrived tired and hot around 6 P.M. on Tuesday, only to be told that despite having booked in April, they were full and there was no room for us. 'Hey, no problem' they said, ' we have booked you a room in another hotel 30 minutes drive away. What a total disaster after the first one. I have stayed in several Deveres, but will never try this one again!.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bougivalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I held our wedding reception here in May, and it was an utterly perfect day. The place was spotless and set up beautifully, the grounds were perfectly maintained and the staff could not have done enough to make our day special. The gorgeous weather helped.

The waiting staff were always on hand during the drinks reception with champagne and canapes, which were all delicious - not that I had much time to eat them! The food was really second to none; we opted for the four course wedding breakfast - the smoked salmon, cream of mushroom and tarragon soup, rump of lamb and apple tarte tatin - all our guests rated the food and said how nice it was to have such quality food at a wedding. In particular, our gluten free guests commented on how lovely the food was and how nice it was to have their own server. The wine and champagne were also excellent, although we had upgraded our wine choice. The bar is reasonably priced too, which is a good job when half the guests were Scottish :)

We didn't personally stay there, but all of our guests were very happy with the rooms and if there were any complaints we didnt hear them.

It really is the perfect wedding venue - thank you so much to everyone there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nothing to complain about. Clean, tidy an spacious room. Evening meal good, stunning grounds and great value (although I did stay on a bank holiday Monday night when prices are very reduced). Hotel has ample parking, great hilltop views and makes for a very relaxing stay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant_cun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews