We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Olde Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nice rural setting. Very friendly young staff . Its a pub with bedrooms in the building next door. I had a single room which although quite small was modern and very stylish. Shower has a very large shower head and one of those girlie extra shower attachments which Im told is important ! Great nights sleep and a superb breakfast. I would definitely stay again although I wouldnt order the same food I had in the restaurant , cheese soufle, thai noodles and creme brulee as didnt impress at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Liverpool Lakes
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you will return, next time you might want to try something off our main "Old Comforts" menu because there is a lot to choose from.
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    165
    56
    34
    13
See reviews for
85
250
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The inn is situated in a very pretty village with thatched cottages. The rooms were very comfortable and very well appointed with with 4 different varieties of pillows ranging fro firm to soft, Dressing gowns were provided as well as a range of toiletries. As well as tea and coffee there was hot chocolate and kitkats...Beds very comfortable. We had lunch which was very reasonable and the portions were VERY large. A good selection of bread, cereal, fruit and jams available at breakfast.The full English breakfast was very good as was the other cooked items on the menu. The only thing that let them down was the breakfast was served on COLD plates and on the bar was a p-c advertising B and B for £65 whereas we paid £75. I mentioned the cold plates when I paid and was given a feeble excuse but this Inn is well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 431Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will look into why your breakfast was served on cold plates and thank you for raising this issue.
We offer a Dine & Stay rate at the weekend of £65 if booked in advance and our standard rooms start from £65.
I do hope we will see you again.
Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Friendly people, clean room, beautiful village. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Food was great as well. Relaxing and hope to go back some time. Nice place to go to unwind and see England at its best.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SWiedmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will return the next time you are in England.
Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We found our room to be as we expected, which was clean and tidy with all the basics for an inexpensive hotel. The location was in a small, picturesque village with no facilities, however a short 10 minute drive resolved this. We chose this pub because of its location, close to the Crick Boat Show.

The pub was excellent and seemed to be the hub of the community most evenings. The noise in the pub abated early, so was never a problem. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant which was also excellent.

The staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were located upstairs in the main building which had a view across the road to the farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kelvin
Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked a one night "away from the kids" stay. After visiting Calke Abbey we drove down to the hotel. My sat nav couldn't find the hotel but we did eventually get there. We were shown to our room by one of the friendly staff. First impression of the room, don't bring a cat to swing. The room is quite small. However it is finished to a very good standard and equally the bathroom is high spec and we soon forgot about the compactness of the space. We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was a very good meal, too good to have a desert. We had the house white, a very nice Chilean Sauvignon Blanc, as well as drink at the bar. Breakfast was fine, we could have gone for the full English but had a few items off the menu. All the staff were very friendly and this is a good find, especially being so close to the M1 it would be a good stop off point.

Room Tip: Go for the de luxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radar1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your dinner in the evening.
We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudarg
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Booked to stay for one night during the Crick Boat Show. A mix up somewhere in the system resulted in us being given a single room. Resolution promptly reached by duty manager.
Had a very good dinner washed down with a pleasant Pinot Grigio. Very wholesome and substantial breakfast set us up for the arduous day ahead. Would certainly return but would prefer that a bed be provided! :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sudarg
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and sorry about the mix up with the single room we are still not sure why this happened because all bookings are automated but I am looking into this.
So glad my manager resolved the issue quickly and hopefully look forward to seeing you next year.
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Think the title says it all. Staff friendly and accommodating, food was superb and portions generous. Nice pub atmosphere with a good selection of wines and beer. One of the cheapest rates in the area too. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Olde Coach House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Frank
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashby Saint Ledgers
2.1 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
8.9 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
679 reviews
16.1 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
371 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Coach House

Property: The Olde Coach House
Address: Main Street, Ashby Saint Ledgers CV23 8UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Ashby Saint Ledgers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashby Saint Ledgers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good News in January 2014 we have been awarded AA 4 stars for our accommodation standard and a AA Dining award for the quality of our food. The Olde Coach House is set in the beautiful village of Ashby St Ledgers which was mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086.In addition to our existing 4 bedrooms we are also home to 11 individually designed boutique bedrooms all with the facilities you expect from a top hotel, but located in the converted stables of this country inn.The rooms include designer bathrooms with rain showers, heated towel rails,bathrobes,32" flat screen TVs, ipod charger, direct dial telephones, pillow menu,comfy new beds with cosy duvets and FREE WIFI.OCH also boasts a charming rustic Bar with flagstone floors, low beams and open fires, a contemporary Restaurant and fantastic garden and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Olde Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Coach House Hotel Ashby Saint Ledgers
The Olde Coach House Ashby Saint Ledgers, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing