We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highgate House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highgate House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I am not one to leave reviews, but my partner and I were so impressed by the place, I had to. The staff were absolutely fantastic, they couldn't have been any more helpful or friendly. The room was spotless and decorated beautifully with everything you could ever need. We used the pool and tennis courts which we had to ourselves and a lovely way to spend a sunny afternoon, before having a few drinks in the garden and enjoying a very reasonably priced 3 course meal. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the complimentary coffee on tap was well received.

All in all this hotel is perfect and we had a truly amazing time, would recommend to everyone and will definitely be going back.

Thank you Highgate House!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    176
    70
    31
    14
See reviews for
91
251
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have two Wheaten Terriers and couldn't have selected a better place to stay for a short break in the beautiful Northamptonshire countryside. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble; it was a delight to be attended to by such genuinely nice people. The location is ideal with plenty of walks within the grounds of the hotel, as well as into the local village of Creaton. They are positively dog friendly here and totally relaxed about pets enjoying their holiday too! The breakfasts are marvellous - the restaurant and bar food too. The bar is well stocked and the terrace area is beautiful to enjoy on warm summer evening. There is a small but very nice swimming pool, everything is spotlessly clean and the room very comfortable - even in the extreme heat. We simply can't fault this place and were delighted to have found it... almost by accident! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you do have a dog, we would suggest the Willow Suite of rooms, which is adjacent to open grassy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of June. It was a birthday gift from friends. We were a little concerned on arrival first impressions can be confusing. There are bits and pieces of the Hotel all over the place, as well as the Grand Old House. We had a room in a block in the main car-park, it was fairly basic by todays standards however it was comfortable and the bed was really large and well sprung. Bit near the main A Road so there is some noise through the night. The bathroom clean and modern but the shower was poor. After some explorations we soon picked up the layout The Bar and Restaurant were modern and well appointed. Guests appear to be encouraged to wander about the Hotel and Grounds which is very interesting. We found lots of nooks and crannies and a superb tennis court. We went for a couple of walks through the grounds, and noted it appeared to be set up for Corporate Team Events which is no doubt the mid-week trade. The old part looked ready made for Weddings. The swimming pool is some way from the main building but in a really nice location. We were not able to swim on the day we wished as the CCTV was out of order and that left a safety issue. As there were two of us I am not sure what the issue was.
The staff were very friendly and efficient. The Food although coming from a smallish menu was superb. In fact we planned to go out on the second night but saw the menu and stayed in instead. The breakfast buffet was good with fresh cooked eggs by the chef and a selection of bacons.
We were impressed by the area as its missed out normally by people flying past on the M1. The rural area is very nice and we had a couple of good pints in some nice thatched pubs, in the beer gardens too thanks to the weather. In all a nice place and area to relax in on a short break.

Room Tip: Try and get in the main complex as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramsdenschippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've been here on several occasions. The hotel's problematic layout is not ideal, but more than made-up by the lovely staff, excellent food and thoughtful touches such as free coffee/tea/water and wi-fi. I confess the rooms are a bit dated/small/uncomfortable (this time I was in a shoebox in the main house - my towel rail was in the main room due to lack of space), but for a conference or business travel, I've never been to a better place. The staff happily set up croquet for us, which mitigated the closure of the pool, and remember people from previous visits. I just wouldn't recommend the hotel for leisure or indeed share the room with another person as there's no room!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CS-Newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights in June with friends. The staff are lovely and service was great. However the rooms are a bit hit and miss. Some have been updated others are very old and dated. Overall would return but only out of necessity.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1985waterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here for F1 weekend due to relative proximity to Silverstone. The pictures of the main house initially drew my attention as I wanted to avoid a chain hotel with no character although I was aware from comments on here that the majority of the accommodation was in modern extensions. On arrival we were initially wary as the main entrance and reception is to the rear and first impressions weren't great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and when we got to our room we were both pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, modern and spacious with a lovely en suite. Whilst we didn't spend much time on site we had quick trips to the sauna and swimming pool - we were the only patrons at each. The swimming pool is a lovely addition although is looking a little tired and would benefit from a refurb. The breakfast was available even earlier than usual due to the F1 which I thought was very accommodating and the quality of the breakfast couldn't be faulted. My only suggestions would be to have a toothbrush holder in the bathroom and a fridge, even if it's just a mini fridge in the room.

Room Tip: My partner is very tall so we requested a room in the modern extension so he could fit in the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfsmith89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Willow building. (pet friendly) Lots of walking trails nearby for our small dog. The staff were all very accommodating. The food was wonderful. We ate at the bar one evening and in the main dining room from the set menu another night. The hotel is geared toward conferences but it didn't impact our stay. The only downside was the bed was pretty uncomfortable. Also, there isn't air conditioning so the rooms can get a bit hot as well. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Highgate House and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creaton
24.9 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House Hotel

Property: Highgate House Hotel
Address: Highgate House Grooms Lane, Creaton NN6 8NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Creaton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in and around a 17th century mansion, Highgate House is a beautiful country house hotel set amongst rolling countryside,just 7 miles from Northampton. Accommodation consists of 97 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some of the bedrooms are located in the original building whilst the majority are housed in areas across the estate. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. You stay also includes includes free WiFi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Guests can look forward to a delicious seasonal menu prepared by the award-winning team of chefs, headed up by Lee Gaskins, who has won Northamptonshire's Chef of the Year twice. Food is served in the brasserie-style Terrace Restaurant and lighter meals can be enjoyed in the main bar area. Traditional afternoon tea is available between 3-6pm daily, with a selection of sandwiches,homemade cakes and scones with cream and jam. Leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and tennis courts. The hotel's 26 acres of grounds also offer an idyllic setting for walking, with easy access to the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highgate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate House, a Sundial Venue Hotel Northampton
Highgate Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing